We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Will Rogers Magnuson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Will Rogers Magnuson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Will Rogers Magnuson Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   940 S. Lynn Riggs Blvd., Claremore, OK 74017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Claremore
Metuchen, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What a Disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were on a long (2,400 mile) quick (3 days) road trip. Had stayed in Super 8 and Hotel 6 , but the name Will Rogers led us past these at Claremore.

This tired old motel had paper thin walls (internal and external) so we could hear trucks and cars being started, our neighbors television, etc. I guess this is to be expected of OLD Motel. Calling what was on offer a "Breakfast" was a cheat.

The freight trains at street level went through most of the night.

AND it was 50% more than the Super 8 or Hotel 6!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
7
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We made a quick one night stay while on our Route 66 trip. The room was clean and allowed us to have the dog. The dining in the area is fair. You have to go to Ron's Hamburgers & Chili just up the street! Wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Will Rogers in Claremore and it was nice and clean. The family that runs the motel are nice and you can tell they work hard to keep the facilities up to standards. If I had a complaint it would be that things very noisy in the morning. This was caused by the other inconsiderate guests and no fault of the motel, but still when on vacation you hope to sleep in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawson, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel but not in the last five or six years. When our event came up, we had no worries about staying again as it had always been satisfactory. We were wrong. This hotel has not been updated or maintained since we were last there. The AC worked but was very noisy. The door into the bathroom did not fit the jamb and we had to stuff towels at the floor to hold it shut for privacy. There were always one or two ants in the tub and on the vanity. The beds did not fit the platforms they were set upon. The bedspreads were old and worn. The continental breakfast was horrid, don't drink the coffee. On the plus side, we were there for the dog show and there was plenty of grass to walk the dogs and no pet fee. We were able to park right outside our room. Its easy to find.

Room Tip: Get a room in one of the single story buildings if you have to stay here. Park right outside your d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Air conditioning did not work, room stayed at 77. Could hear people, vehicles and train all night. Was told when I called to make reservation room was 59, after checking in my receipt said 64, when checking out I asked the desk clerk why, she didnt know and guessed it was because there was 2 people instead of 1. I was never asked at any point how many people would be staying. Parking was terrible & the entrance was blocked with other people checking in so we had to go thru the exit & find a place to turn around to go park at our room.

Room Tip: Go to different city, all hotels at claremore had bad reviews, we took our chances & and agree w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The letter "H" as is Hotel should be removed from the name of this place. This is more a No-tel.Wow. What a place. Have you seen the movie "No Country for Old Men"? The motel where he stays when he steals the money and hides it in air shaft? Yeah? If you liked that, you'll LOVE it here! Scary. Where to start...You drive into the parking lot and it's scary looking. You walk up to your door and open it and walk into 1970. Old carpet, old walls, old sinks, old drains, thin towels, ugly furniture, ugly curtains. Need I go on? Sad. My room was freezing cold. I put the heat up on high which is basically an air shaft (where you might find a suitcase of money) that blows a gust of loud air. Cold air. I literally slept in my down coat, with socks and shoes on. The electrical outlets didn't work, well actually the only ones that worked were at my sink. 2 good things: there was a microwave & fridge in my room. Woo hoo! Luxury! The wifi here is more of an idea than something that actually exists or operates. The walls are paper thin. I will say that the heat did finally work and warm up the room. It woke me up every time it went on so that was fun. It took a good while for the water to get warm when I wanted to wash my face. I think I'll stop here.

Room Tip: A tip to help you choose a good room? Um, go to another hotel anywhere else in the USA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We came in town after dark and found this hotel and checked in to a room with a floor above, which was a bad idea to begin with. Noise above us went on until 11 pm. At 1:41 am someone above us was screaming at someone else,"How much did you sell?", "How much money did you make?". In the morning a person staying in a 2nd floor room tried to sell us a Walmart gift card for 10 dollars so he could buy gas. The room was clean but dated and the noise going on above was intolerable. We learned not to stay in a lower room but instead on whatever top floor that was available.

Room Tip: Read reviews before choosing and stay on the top floor or in a unit that has no upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Will Rogers Magnuson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will Rogers Magnuson Hotel

Address: 940 S. Lynn Riggs Blvd., Claremore, OK 74017
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Claremore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Claremore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Will Rogers Magnuson Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Will Rogers Magnuson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Claremore
Claremore Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Will Rogers Magnuson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.