We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect road trip stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
1201 N. 44th St., Blackwell, OK 74631-9505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Blackwell
Roaming Endlessly
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Perfect road trip stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

With not much else in the area I imagine a lot of their business is from people needing a break from driving. It's very easy to find just off the interstate, yet set back far enough where you don't hear road noise.

You have a number of restaurants to choose from within walking distance - Subway, McDonald's, a mexican restaurant, etc.

Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and carpet smelled new.

Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Blackwell Comfort Inn. We promote superior guest service from our staff and appreciate hearing that they are doing a good job. We continue to invest in the hotel to benefit our guests, such as the new carpet. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in Blackwell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I booked a room here for 2 nights via the national reservation site which indicated that failure to cancel before 6pm would result in being charged 1 nights stay. I cancelled at 4pm and was charged for 2 night stay by this location. Tried to resolve but the hotel would not call me back. AVOID AVOID. Go to stay in Ponca City.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Please contact out General Manager, Candi Matthews, at your earliest convenience. We are unable to locate a record of your reservation for the month of March, and would appreciate additional information. We replaced our General Manager in April, and will do our best to investigate the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackwell hotels

Topeka, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a horrible experience here! Pet Friendly...ok but our room smelled like a kennel, had to open window and turn on fan! Stayed here because of thier inside pool...but it was being redone. This is just dishonest! Should of stated they were doing reno's and the pool was closed. Told we could use the one at Best Western. Really; we paid close to $100 for this room!
AC was very noisy, which they did fix, but we couldnt use our room during this time. Bathtub was clogged, so standing in a foot of water taking a shower. Holes in the ceiling, burn hole in bed cover (non smoking hotel?), toilet seat would not stay up. We were given a 10% discount from the front desk clerk. She couldnt reach the manager the morning we checked out! I told her I wasnt happy with this and would be contacting her and Choice Hotels. She felt that the 10% was sufficeint, REALLY are you kidding me! Never again! The staff did the best they could to help us, to bad the management couldnt do the same.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We are sorry to hear your stay with the Comfort Inn was not a good experience. We have reviewed your complaints and appreciate the feedback. As new owners of this property, we are working to improve multiple areas of the hotel. New ownership often means updates and renovations to a property. We do our best to notify guests of improvements with signs posted at the property. We apologize for the inconvenience, however due to the extent of the renovations taking place we had to temporarily close the pool during the time period around your stay. While the pool was closed, the best option was to offer our guests the option to swim next door at the Best Western. The renovations to the pool area are now complete and the pool at the Comfort Inn is open.
We would like to know what other amenities we have listed that are not being provided. We take this very seriously, and appreciate this being brought to our attention. Our GM would be happy to take your call.
We would also like to address the noise from the air conditioning unit in your room. First of all, thank you for immediately bringing it to our attention, as our front desk team is glad to know when things are not working properly, so we can provide a solution. A maintenance technician was called to the property to replace the unit in your room with a different air conditioner (we could not move you to another room as we were sold out). The best fix to the solution was to switch the unit out. We understand your frustration when you thought management was not reachable, but it was actually management’s decision to get maintenance in to fix the air conditioner right away.
Last, we agree that our front desk team does work hard to ensure that our guests have a pleasurable stay. They performed in line with instructions from management when they discounted your room. Management has empowered the front desk team to make these types of spot decisions if the GM is unavailable.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stopped here because it was right off the freeway. The hotel is dated, but they are in the process of remodeling. Our room was clean, but the bed was as hard as a board. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was OK. There is a little Mexican restaurant right next door, but don't expect to find a margarita there. It's beer only.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience. As you noted we are in the process of improvements, including new breakfast items, new mattresses, exterior painting and landscaping. We hope that this work will increase the value for our guests.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were trying to reach Wichita, but my husband felt ill and said he needed to stop as soon as possible. We travel with our dog, so the Comfort Inn was the closest pet-friendly hotel with decent reviews. Wow, what a lousy experience. It's great that the hotel is non-smoking, but it doesn't really matter when all the smokers light up just outside the main hotel doors. One has to walk through a fog of cigarette smoke to enter the hotel.

The room was pathetic. The bedspreads were like cardboard and the furnishings were low-quality. We could hear guests in the adjacent rooms. I looked at the bathroom and opted to pass on taking a shower, not sure I would emerge cleaner.

The next morning, while standing in front of the bathroom mirror, I noticed three bugs climbing the walls of our room. We decided to avoid the breakfast. When we checked out, I quietly informed the desk clerk that there were bugs in our room, to which she casually responded, "Oh, yeah, the exterminator doesn't come until next week." Really? The real kicker is our room was $100. We had just stayed at the Comfort Suites in Buda, Tx where the accommodations were very nice and very clean and very spacious - and paid only $90. What a ripoff in Blackwell.

Don't stay here if you can possibly avoid it. Keep driving.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we have discussed your feedback to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. In addition, we are in the beginning stages of a series of improvements to the property, including upgraded furnishings and bedding.

If you happen to be in the area again, I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodland, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We arrived at 11 pm with no reservation after a very long day on the road. The desk clerk originally told us they had no rooms, but the manager overruled her, much to our relief. Room was comfortable and quiet and looked new or at least newly renovated. Breakfast was hot and good. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for submitting this review. I am glad we were able to find you a room, and that the room and breakfast met your expectations. I hope you do find the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This was a conveniently located hotel on our way back to Mississippi from Keystone. Room was clean, price was okay. Wifi would not work. We were only there for 8 hours to sleep. McDonalds and gas station right next door for an easy start to the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we greatly appreciate all input from our guests. We have recently taken ownership of this property and we are evaluating many areas of the hotel. Internet access is one of those issues that is high on our list to provide a better experience for our guests.
Thank you again, and hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1201 N. 44th St., Blackwell, OK 74631-9505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Blackwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Blackwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Blackwell
Blackwell Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.