We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Price Tower

Save Saved
You added Inn at Price Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Price Tower
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Dewey Avenue, Bartlesville, OK 74003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Bartlesville
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent one night at the Inn and loved it. I'm a fan of Frank Lloyd Wright and thoroughly enjoyed the chance to take a tour of his tower and spend a night in one of his buildings. The room was comfortable and was a great design with wrap-around windows that provided a great view of the surrounding countryside. Would absolutely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
44
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Its a beautiful venue but not much on hospitality so if you stay dont expect a multi-star experience. Booked a room for Christmas arriving on Christams Eve. Checked into the room only to find the same issue that another reviewer had - 'soiled sheets' Ours weren't badly soiled as much as they were stained however on further inspection, they were embarassingly torn, ripped and full of holes. It was late and not wishing to cause a fuss we called down to the night manager (and I use the term manager loosely as he was more like a receptionist) and asked him to make a note that the sheets needed to be changed in the am.

The next morning was Christmas Day so we left early (by 10am) reminding the day manager (again loosely titled) about the sheets. When we returned that evening around 10pm, not only had the sheets not been changed but there had been no housekeeping. The night manager on this night explained that housekeeping left early because it was Christmas.

now i fully support giving people time off on holidays but then somone should have said at the time of reservation that housekeeping leaves by 10am. Either that or they should be discounting the rates. I'll spare everyone the details of what happened after but suffice it say that the $16 discount off the room rate was no BFD I will compliment the night manager Lisa, who took the initiative and came to our room and remade the bed with new sheets that night.

the complimentary breakfast is basically vending machine danish and egg mcmuffins that look as if they were made overseas and shipped in during WWII. Most everything else is liveable however the hotel was built before the advent of HVAC systems and the renovation didnt take into account the OKLAHOMA summers and winters. The room was cold and required the use of hotel-provided space heaters (obviously the fans in summer from what others have said). most of the closet space is taken up by the portable fan and heater

it is however the only game in town and that's the rub. You have to take what you get as there isnt anything else except chain motels from the lower end of hotel portfolios (i,e, Hilton Garden Inn, Super 8, etc.) The novelty wears thin after a night or two so if you want to stay, its best to google "Inn Price Tower discount code" and get yourself a cheaper rate. Ive heard that they also have Groupon rates so dont pay more than $99 p/nt and less if you can find it

Its too bad as they have a unique product but are miserable on the execution. Bottom line is that they just dont care enough.
ive heard that the current owner is ill and has not had much ability to keep his eye on the game. Come to think of it if this were an OK football game none of this would fly.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took a side trip from our Route 66 vacation just to stay here. Our arrival was too late for the tour, but the room had a book full of information. We decided to soak up as much of the environment as we could, and had drinks, dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The bartender was friendly, the drinks good and the pub style food adequate. Breakfast was very light, so we dropped into Weezes Cafe for eggs after check out.

Our room was very comfortable in spite of the quirks. The tiny elevators, fabulous sunset views, everything with multiple angles and materials all make a stay here memorable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

First off, I love Frank Lloyd Wright architecture and have visited many of the homes that he designed. So I have always wanted to stay here. Impressive endeavor and interesting building that you can tour for free as part of your room stay (just make sure to arrange ahead of time as the tours end early in the afternoon). The concept of turning this into a ‘boutique hotel’ is a great one and the bed and room itself are unique enough to make up for just about anything. Just about anything except for the room temperature. It’s never a good sign to walk into your hotel room and see that there is a standing fan that is already running. The thermostat in the small bathroom said it was 79 degrees at 2:00 in the afternoon. That is pretty warm but not intolerable, so we went on the building tour. An hour later we went to the room and it was 83 degrees. Checked the thermostat and it was turned down as low as it could go. We dared not open the curtains as we didn’t want it to get any hotter in the room so no taking advantage of the view. Left to go someplace cooler, dinner and the likes and returned to our room at 8:00 PM. Now it was 84 degrees. That is just too hot to enjoy your stay. Restless night with fan blowing on us and it wasn’t any better until the next morning when it showed 80 degrees. I think the AC and extreme heat in Oklahoma are no match for this building. Others have mentioned the problems with the Bar/Restaurant either not being open or closed for private events. The Continental breakfast was fine but it did seem odd to just have it laid out for you to get with no one there. Overall the building is interesting and perhaps if you went at a time when it was not so hot it might be enjoyable. The bed itself was comfortable. So I would have to say that this place is 'Nice and Hot"...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife & I stayed one night in July. The "goods"....comfortable bed, great view of the surrounding area, interesting boutique hotel. The "bads"....air-conditioning couldn't cool the room satisfactorily, so there was a stand-up fan provided; bed clock did not have lighted display; water fountain in the hall didn't work; there was no attendant in the breakfast area, and some items needed to be replenished; signage to registration inadequate. You pay a premium rate for "unique," but we wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is an architectural jewel. If you like Frank Lloyd Wright's design it is a must see and must stay.
I had been to the Tulsa area once before and decided then to stay at this hotel if I ever came back. I did and booked a room and was full of expectations. Unfortunately when I arrived in the afternoon there was no more tour of the building. The last one was at 2pm (I arrived at 3:30pm). The next one was scheduled for 11am the next morning - I had to leave at 7am to catch a flight. Bummer! I wanted to have dinner at the restaurant on the top floor. That evening it was closed due to a private function! Bummer again!! Make sure to check these details before you go!!
The AC cannot be turned off!! It is centrally controlled! It felt very cold and the fan was somewhat noisy during the night! Outside 95F - inside it felt like 65F. Wish I had had a thermometer to verify my claim! If this may be an issue for you or your family I strongly recommend that you just visit the art center and stay somewhere else. At least bring a sweater to wear in the room and warm pajamas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

First, the disclosure: It's been forty years since I lived there, but I grew up in Bartlesville -- my eye doctor had his office on the fifth floor of the Price Tower -- so the Inn had a special attraction for me, independent of how good/comfortable/well-run the hotel is. I'd been curious since I first heard that they'd converted the original apartments into hotel rooms. Recently my family and I returned to the old home town for a visit, and we stayed at the Tower. I was really, really happy we did.

It was, as others have noted, "quirky" -- the FLW bathrooms, for instance, were no doubt avant garde back in the 50s (in B'ville they were, for sure), and they're still interesting from the standpoint of Wright's design and vision, but they are also kind of cramped and, er, old. The beds in our suite were very comfortable, but the chairs . . . not so much: they looked good and were tolerable for short periods, but form got the better of function in their case. Which is probably true in general for "the tree that escaped the forest." You will definitely enjoy your stay more if you get into the eccentricities of the design.

To that end, we definitely recommend the tour of the building. (They run them two or three times a day, most days.) Our docent was pretty quirky herself, but she was enthusiastic and very into her subject.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Price Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Price Tower

Address: 510 Dewey Avenue, Bartlesville, OK 74003
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Bartlesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bartlesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Price Tower 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Inn at Price Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Price Tower Hotel Bartlesville
Hotel At Price

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Price Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.