We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bates Motel is right” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Zanesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Zanesville to your Saves list
Motel 6 Zanesville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4645 East Pike, I-70 at Exit 160, Zanesville, OH 43701 (Formerly Ramada Zanesville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Versailles, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bates Motel is right”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I first stayed in this motel right after it had changed from a Ramada to Motel 6 a few weeks ago. There were many problems that first time (dirty, no wifi, no light bulbs in room or at front desk, etc), but thought they were working on it and gave them a 2nd chance. So wrong - dirtier than ever, still no wifi, the common areas were not heated (the desk clerk was wearing his wool coat and a scarf), and then a very loud party in the conference room facing the rooms. No housekeeping, had to ask for towels the 2nd night. Weren't sure we were going to get a room at check in, had made the res weeks in advance - so many rooms were unusable, they had to keep moving people around. The sheets were see thru and no matress pad. Will never stay there again. Never.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    9
    7
    28
See reviews for
23
13
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Under no circumstance would I stay at this hotel again. It is filthy!! The room was not cleaned during our stay and not sure it was cleaned prior to our arrival. There was dirt all over the floor. Booked a non-smoking room but was placed in a smoking room. I was advised that all the non-smoking rooms were taken. Someone had tracked mud in the common areas of the hotel and this was not ever vacuumed during our stay. The Wi-Fi did not work either. You would be better off to sleep in your car. I can't even begin to describe how disgusting this place is. Management/owner doesn't seem to care.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

By far the worst motel experience of my life. The Bates Motel looks charming compared to this house of horrors. Was on a road trip with my daughter visiting colleges. If we hadn't ben so exhausted when we arrived we wouldn't have stayed. Rooms are filthy. Most of the lights outside and inside were out. The smell of urine was pervasive. Fortunately we had our sleeping bags so we didn't have to touch the bed clothing. I usually like Motel 6, and if not for a truly wonderful experience the next day at the Motel 6 in Richmond, IN, I would have never set foot in another one do to this experience. Two days after staying here I received a survey from the CEO of the company asking about my stay there, so it's obvious they're aware of the complaints. My advice, if you don't want to start losing valuable customers. Shut the place down, gut it, remodel, clean up, fumagate, and then open under new management (talk to the folks in Richmond, because their doing it right!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great Location Very Nice Rooms Being Rehabbed at this time Friendly workers....Pool is being re-painted and they say it will be open by 9/27. also they have a very nice vending area in the pool area very clean hotel. I will be staying there again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Pulled in very late and just needed a room to sleep in. If I could have seen the outside of the place I may have decided to keep driving. The security doors did not lock and the chain lock was broken inside the room. The toilet seat was broken and I didn't feel comfortable walking around with bare feet. The sign that says Ramada is just a banner they tied to the front of the building. I began to wonder if this place is really tied to the Ramada chain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed for a weekend hunting trip checking-in last saturday and than paid for an extended stay till 6. (which they set up nicely, we were never bothered and they remembered it, very impressed)When we arrived to the hotel it was about 7pm at night and we had worked all week and we're just exhausted wanted to get in the room and go to bed. When we checked in the front desk girl was having a hard time getting us into a room, i guess there was a problem with another room. Finally after 10 minutes she said she would just upgrade us to a suite. (which was not worth the price they were asking)The hotel was very quite..almost creepy quite. I only saw a few others staying at the hotel. I was so excited to find there was a indoor heated pool, which was cloudy and green when we went to swim. Not happy about that, but we just decided to go to Dennys to eat. The hotel is obviously old, there is nothing wrong with the rooms though. I checked the bed FIRST THING checked for mold and all the other gross stuff, no problems there. The sheets were perfectly white,the bed was soooo soft but the carpets were filthy, dont walk barefoot! There is an AMAZING Dennys diner 5 second up the road. (we ate there twice)Its really not a bad place to stay! They do use wayyyy to much bleach though i broke out in hives from it. All in All its a decent place, maybe a little pricey, waited about 30 minutes at the desk to ask a question, and dont go expecting to use the pool, it looks like they don't regulary take care of it.Don't expect the normal ritzy Ramadas this is not one, I'll stay again gun season with all our friends though.

Room Tip: restuarant, pool and spa are closed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were in town for a softball tournament. The hotel might have been wonderful shape at one time (former Holiday Inn by the title of the pool area, Holidome), but it has fallen into disrepair and it appears that no money is being spent for the repairs. The carpet, windows, walls, and pool were filthy. I couldn't wait to get home to take a shower to feel clean. We sat at the front desk lobby for over 40 minutes waiting for someone to come to the desk to get us more towels, blankets and pillow cases for the pull out couch. He finally came back after our request and still did not have all the items. I left the extra blanket and pillow without a pillow case on the pull out couch but they took the blanket and never put a pillow case on the pillow. We stay in hotels with softball teams all year round and many people had numerous complaints about the kids running around and making noise. I blame the parents, but when another guest notified the front desk, they were blown off. There was a bright red mercedes parked in the check in area the whole time and it takes up a ton of room in that area and should be parked elsewhere. They advertise a hot breakfast but it was only a continental, and the 2nd day, although they had bagels available they had no butter or cream cheese. They had like 8 choices of cereal but more than 1/2 were nearly empty. No one was around the breakfast area for assistance.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Zanesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Zanesville

Address: 4645 East Pike, I-70 at Exit 160, Zanesville, OH 43701 (Formerly Ramada Zanesville)
Location: United States > Ohio > Zanesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Zanesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Zanesville is conveniently located near shopping and dining. Visit the antique shops and historic building like the Muskingum Courthouse. Enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms and microfridge in select rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Zanesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Zanesville
Ramada Zanesville
Zanesville Ramada
Motel 6 Zanesville Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Zanesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.