We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Market House Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old Market House Inn
424 Market St, Zanesville, OH 43701-3502
740-454-2555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 98 Restaurants in Zanesville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Unique Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was a unique restaurant off the beaten path. It was recommended by the locals, so you knew it was worth trying. The ambiance was romantic, service was amazing, and food was delicious. I had the filet with sauteed mushrooms and green beans. They serve a stack of different breads when you are first seated. I didn't try those, but they looked yummy. I would stop here again and dine if ever in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    17
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Party of 10 dined on a Saturday night at 7PM. No wait for a table, but the entire experience took a total of 2.5 hours! Food arrived 1.5 hours after ordering and most was cold and tasteless. Salad was straight out of the bag. Bread was very stale. Steaks and seafood were all over cooked and tough. Ran out of vegetable of the day. Prices are very high for the portions. Shrimp as an appetizer is $4.50 per shrimp!! A single crab cake is $10.95. Would not recommend to anyone. Passed a Subway on the way to the restaurant. Would be a much better choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All Visitors to Zanesville Should Try It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The atmosphere is as much of an attraction as the food. Our family has been dropping in for several years and we know many of the regular wait staff. Always great service - if there are any hiccups it's not for lack of effort. Very tasty food- have never had a bad meal. Recently they've gone to a more 'a la carte' approach with the menu which doesn't necessarily sit well with everyone, but that does nothing to diminish the quality of the food. The decor is always interesting, whether at the bar or in one of the two levels of dining. This may well be the best place for dinner in town, especially after the Italian place closed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Could be better. Really just a step above ho hum.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Title says it all. Nothing to write home about. Steaks were cooked to specification ... but the glaze was non descript. Twice baked potato was skinny and the salad was OK. Service was a bit lightly. Wine by the glass was a total offering of two options - a single Cabernet and a single merlot. No beer on tap, only bottles. Will not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had dinner here last Friday. The bar area was packed so it was surprising that when we chose to eat in the main dining room we sat for 20 minutes without anyone even bringing us water. We could see the staff walk by and notice us, but no one took the initiative to see if we needed anything. That said when we finally did get a server she was good. The steaks are great and so is the crab cake. The wine list has a nice variety. Based on this experience I would rate the restaurant as average, but we have had much better experiences here in the past so I chose very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Market House Inn also viewed

 

Been to Old Market House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Market House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.