We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good but pricey. Patio is where you want to eat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Muddy Misers Cool River Cafe

Muddy Misers Cool River Cafe
112 Muskingum Ave, Zanesville, OH 43701
(740) 588-9210
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 98 Restaurants in Zanesville
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food is good but pricey. Patio is where you want to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a very small local eatery. Try to go when you can sit on the patio that overlooks the river. The inside of the restaurant is very small. I love, love, love the wedge salad with the egg mustard dressing. The rest of the menu has good food but it is just priced too high for what you get. Expect to pay extra for every thing you want. It's a nice place to go if you are looking for something a little different.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    41
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, NH
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant stop for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by accident. We walked from downtown to have lunch at the brew pub next door only to find that it was closed until 4pm. Hungry we stumbled into Muddy Misers. Not very busy but it was 2:30. Outside on the patio was pretty with a river view but it was hot and humid so we sat inside. Limited but good variety on menu. I had soup and salad and my wife had the Asian salad. Lettuce was fresh, crisp, and a good variety of greens. Tomato basil soup was very good. My wife liked her salad and said the chicken in it was excellent. Credit machine was down so had to pay cash. $20 for the meal with only water to drink.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Find plus Right Next Door to Brewery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stumbled upon this place while looking for a local craft brewery, which happens to be next door. My family and I had a very enjoyable dinner on a Friday night. We dined on their back deck overlooking the river. I had the crab & shrimp cake blt. Was quite good although it needed more remoulade sauce. Also tried the Carolina Clam Chowder which I enjoyed. My wife really liked her pasta dish with scallops. My kids all had chicken fingers which were much better than average. We saw some steaks brought out for other tables that looked great! Prices were reasonable for the quality of food and ambiance. Zanesville is halfway in between where I live (Pittsburgh) and where I grew up (Cincy). We travel between the two a decent bit. We will definitely be making this a regular dining stop on our trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Travelers: Skip the chain restaurants and come here instead.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you're hungry and traveling along I-70 and passing Zanesville, skip the temptation to run into a chain restaurant. Because just a tiny bit off the highway (under 5 minute drive) you'll find this neat local gem of a restaurant.

We had excellent sandwiches (a unique turkey club and a pulled pork po' boy) and great service. We also chose to eat outside on a deck overlooking the Muskingham River. It was a lovely view and a perfect break from the long hours spent in the car.

If this was our hometown, I know it would be one of our favorite restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unique find, delicious meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our daughter attends Muskingum University in nearby New Concord. We were doing a day-long "tour" of Zanesville & came across this dining gem. We were glad it was open early for dinner -- my steak with the gorgonzola cream sauce and mushrooms was done perfectly. My husband had the walleye with the lobster tail add-on -- we ended up sharing all of our dishes. Our server was attentive and talkative & very informative about the menu. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muddy Misers Cool River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Muddy Misers Cool River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muddy Misers Cool River Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.