We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value on the block” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Meander Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Meander Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Meander Inn
870 N Canfield Niles Rd, Youngstown, OH 44515-1105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Youngstown
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best value on the block”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

What was great about here is they allow pets. There was also a couch in the room. The room was very clean and comfortable. I think I paid $80 a night, which is the same for the econo lodge across the street and it is much better than that place. It's convenient, right off the highway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    25
    15
    14
See reviews for
53
16
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

When travelling with my cat, I'm a bit less concerned with where I stay, but more concerned for her comfort and that she is welcome.

I was given a room near the side door which gave easy access. The staff who happened to encounter her on the way in/out were quite welcoming.

I will admit the room itself is nothing special, but it was large, clean and provided a good night's sleep. My cat really liked the large window sill where she could sit and watch the world outside.

There's a restaurant onsite where I stopped on their very nice patio and had a beer, only to discover after the fact that the best before date was four months previous.

Check in and out was easy and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eynon, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here in August of 2012. Worst experience in my life regarding customer service and cleanliness. The place wreaked of filth. I was given a first floor room when I booked on the internet. I notified the manager regarding my complaints, hotel owner, and Best Western Corp in Arizona separately by correspondence. it took me months to hear from Arizona...I never heard from the manager or owner. The resolution from Corporate was a $25.00 gift certificate for a future visit at any Best Western. While I probably should not judge all others by Meander, I will, I never stayed at a Best Western before this trip, and never will again. Not enough room here for all details but suffice it to say that it is healthier to stay away from this one. My white socks will never be the same color.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I`ve stayed in many best westerns before, this location is not up to par.

Location: Near the interstate. Sketchy location, not a good place to go out after the sun goes down.

Lobby, dated and needs to be updated.

Rooms, motel quality. Rusty bathtub, dirty floor, didnt want to take my shoes off. Rooms smelled like smoke. Old tv and heating unit.

Parking Free

Continental breakfast is basic but that is expected.

Staff: Friendly and helpful

Overpriced for what we received.

Best Western needs to do an internal review on this location and either bring it up to par or shut it down. This is by no means close to the standard I would expect from Best Western.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had an exeptional visit. When my parking spot was next to a snow covered sidewalk Mark who works at the front desk volunteered to shovel it clean for me. In my room both the shower curtain and washclothe were artfully folded. The bartender/waitress in the restaurant gave me perfectly timed service. Seeing three departments excel suggests that management encourages the staff to provide good service. I will use again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Meander Inn many times as it is the halfway point of our journey back East from our home in the Midwest and have been very satisfied to the point that we have referred the Inn to our friends. The room has always been clean and the rates very reasonable. The main attraction has always been the restaurant located on the premises. This time however, the restaurant was roudy, very cold and our food not prepared to our liking. (we were served lobster that was not cooked properly). we waited over one hour for our meals after ordering and we were told that they were out of sour cream after our baked potatoes were served,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock, ct
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was my first time traveling with a pet. I was bringing my daughters dog back to my her home in Wisconsin. I stopped at Best Western Meander Inn because it was a pet friendly hotel. I needed the sofa bed pulled out for my grandson to sleep on, and was given sheets and was told I had do this myself. That in inself should have sent up red flags, but I just drove 10 hours and was pretty tired. After pulling out the coffee table, I noticed there was damage to the corner of the table. If I had been an experienced pet traveler, I would have know to show the hotel clerk, but being niave, I didn't. I thought to myself, that is a really dingy table to have in a hotel room.
The next thing I know, I was charged $100.00!!! for damage to that same table!!! I have tried calling the Meander Inn, but the manager said there is nothing she can do it's up to the owner. Now I hear the owner is out of the country until October. Mind you, I was at this hotel on 8-18-12.!! I called BW customer service and all they got was a picture of the table. I KNOW THE TABLE WAS DAMAGED, BUT IT WAS NOT MY DOG!!!! SHE DOES NOT CHEW ON FURNITURE!! If the table had been moved for any type of cleaning, someone would have noticed it.
I don't think this owner cares at all about good customer service and or guests satisfaction. PLEASE BEWARE OF THIS PRACTICE!! MAYBE THE NEXT PERSON TO STAY AT A DOG FRIENDLY HOTEL, WILL CHECK EVERYTHING IN ADVANCE AND NOTIFY HOTEL MANAGEMENT!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Meander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Meander Inn

Address: 870 N Canfield Niles Rd, Youngstown, OH 44515-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Youngstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Meander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Meander Hotel Youngstown
Best Western Youngstown
Youngstown Best Western
BEST WESTERN Meander Inn Youngstown, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Meander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.