We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer and cleaner than many reviews would lead you to believe - despite also being pet friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5570 Interstate Blvd., Youngstown, OH 44515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Youngstown
Cross Junction, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nicer and cleaner than many reviews would lead you to believe - despite also being pet friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We read the mix of good and bad reviews, and had some trepidation due to complaints of cleanliness and poor customer service, but our experience was much more positive. Our room was clean and there was no sign of prior pets in our pet friendly room. The $25 fee (per stay, not per night) is very reasonable compared to much of the competition.

We had a problem with the heat/ac the first night, where the fan ran very high and would never shut off, bringing in cold air. They would have moved us, but it was late and we didn't want to repack and move everything. When we let them know in the am that the problem continued despite some quick fix attempts, they pulled the unit apart, gave us access to the manual controls and fixed the fan speed while we were out of the room - no problem.

I am not sure why, but hotels in the northwest PA, Youngstown OH area are pretty pricey given the lack of a tourist destination. We stayed on our points, but rates were better than the Marriott competition (and I say this as a long time Marriott member) and it was as good a property as the area Residence Inn (where pets are $75 a stay).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
The staff and ownership certainly appreciate the kind words and recognition of our efforts. Our focus will always be to provide the best value while providing a clean and comfortable hotel with a staff that is responsive and easy to work with.

Much Appreciated!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    16
    12
    15
See reviews for
46
17
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

WE stayed there 3 nights this past month. The first room had a broken deadbolt and a candy wrapper and dog hair in the bed linens. The second room was better, but the bathroom toilet was dirty (around the base) and the shower stall had clearly not been well cleaned in a number of weeks. Also, the carpet was minimally vacuumed with numerous stains, and the tables and such were not dust free. The room did not smell at all, which is a good sign, and the size of the room and the comfort of the beds wereboth a big plus. Also, the hotel was quiet even though it was relatively busy. Management needs to spot inspect cleaned rooms on a daily basis to make sure the housekeeping staff is doing their jobs. The breakfast buffet was not bad. The omelets (premade) were quite good one day. As reported earlier, there was a lot of debris in the fork/knife bins that had obviously been accumulating for some time. We were not treated rudely by any staff and did not have any major problems with our visit. The Fairfield Inn across the street (stayed there many times) is quiet a bit cleaner and well run, but the beds are not as comfortable. Kind of a tough choice there in Youngstown. Also, while we were there, my wife observed a family checking in with a credit card confirmed reservation. They were told there were no rooms. We got our room on priceline at a good price. Overall, 3 stars is about it but it could be a lot better with improved management and employees who had an incentive to keep the place clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotels near here were all surprisingly higher priced than we expected. While this particular property may not be "on par" with the other facilities in the Country Inn chain (the building seems a bit aged, or perhaps less well-maintained), the price to stay here was very competitive with the other brands in the immediate vicinity, while providing good value for the money when compared with the immediate competition.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Heading back to MD from MI. Got a bit tired in Ohio. Stopped here for the night. Pet friendly hotel. Rooms could have been cleaner. Over all not bad. The staff is friendly. The hotel also offers free hot breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for letting us know about your stay with us!
We look forward to continually improving our product and services and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

You do not want to stay at his hotel. We have stayed at many Country Inn and Suites but this is not your typical by any means. Staff is rude... When we arrived after traveling 7 hours with our grandaughter, she had so looked forward to enjoying the pool. THe man at the desk muttered the pool was closed and said we could go somewhere else if we wanted.He then informed me it was posted on their website; however he could not seem to find it on the website when i asked him to show it to me. After traveling that long and being tired, plus the fact we had spent time getting an online rate, we didn't want to spend more time driving around finding another hotel. In the morning i spoke with a woman named Rebecca at the desk, as again there was no manager on duty to see about getting a minimal discount of some sort on our bill and she rudely informed me that the rates were already discounted because the pool was closed and should have even printed on my confirmation. Well not only is that absurd, but it was no where on my confirmation and she kind of chuckled when i showed it to her. To make a long story short, stay somewhere where you are at least respected as a valuable customer to the hotel and bypass this place. There are some other nice hotels in the Youngstown area, which is probably why there were very few cars in the parking lot at this hotel. Most of the time it isn't the room that is dissapointing, (although this hotel's drapes do not close so you have light coming in all night through sheers), but it is the customer service that is extremely dissapointing for a chain such as this!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
It is with all of our regrets that during such times that amenities, such as our swimming pool, become unavailable for needed maintenance. While there are some avenues that hoteliers can use to communicate with potential guests, there is not one method that covers the many different ways that rooms can be booked.

I apologize to everyone that was affected by this inconvenience and I am happy to discuss this or any topic openly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

very nice ,great staff gave us milk for babies,put us on top floor so kids could run around without distubing any one,hand little problem with one thing but ,staff made it rite gave us back half of our money!breakfast was very good would stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stay at this hotel often and am part of their Concierge level with Club Carlson. I never have any complaints until now. I think I will look into one of the other multiple hotels available at this exit from this point on. Maybe I will consider leaving this chain all together. The staff is always friendly and always grateful. It has undergone new management recently and you can tell the decline in staff that has taken place. The previous general manager was very friendly and outgoing and was a true ambassador within this company. The new one, though I have not had many opportunities at this time to speak with him seems extremely brash and not very hospitable. I have seen him in passing at the desk over seeing the the staff but he lacks a smile and a warm genuine interest in people. I have also seen him on multiple occasions outside smoking. I feel that is an extreme lack in professionalism for the guests to see a general manager smoking at a smoke free hotel, that is an issue that needs addressed. The rooms at this hotel need updated, they are looking and smelling old. I have always loved this chain for their rewards program. I have experienced problems prior but that staff always resolved them quickly. Where are all the decorations I am used to seeing, they make the holiday seasons better when it is decorated and inviting. There are none this year so far :(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Good feedback is always appreciated both positive and negative.
The front line staff is 100% in tact and doing the wonderful job that they have done including the previous General Manager who continues to foster wonderful relationships in the best spirit of hospitality.
Guest Rooms at the property are in the process of being updated to the best the area has to offer and will continue to be improved long after.
The spirit of the season showed up, perhaps a day or two late apparently, but the fireplace in the lobby is lit and the seasonal decorations have been placed and are very welcoming.

Personally, being new to any position for anyone can be demanding but the points are appreciated and well taken and thanks.

I welcome anyone to experience the Country Inn and Suites Youngstown and offer a commitment to one hundred percent satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites

Address: 5570 Interstate Blvd., Youngstown, OH 44515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Youngstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Youngstown
Country Inn And Suites
Youngstown Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites Youngstown, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.