We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be Cleaner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5570 Interstate Blvd., Youngstown, OH 44515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Youngstown
Downingtown, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Should be Cleaner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

WE stayed there 3 nights this past month. The first room had a broken deadbolt and a candy wrapper and dog hair in the bed linens. The second room was better, but the bathroom toilet was dirty (around the base) and the shower stall had clearly not been well cleaned in a number of weeks. Also, the carpet was minimally vacuumed with numerous stains, and the tables and such were not dust free. The room did not smell at all, which is a good sign, and the size of the room and the comfort of the beds wereboth a big plus. Also, the hotel was quiet even though it was relatively busy. Management needs to spot inspect cleaned rooms on a daily basis to make sure the housekeeping staff is doing their jobs. The breakfast buffet was not bad. The omelets (premade) were quite good one day. As reported earlier, there was a lot of debris in the fork/knife bins that had obviously been accumulating for some time. We were not treated rudely by any staff and did not have any major problems with our visit. The Fairfield Inn across the street (stayed there many times) is quiet a bit cleaner and well run, but the beds are not as comfortable. Kind of a tough choice there in Youngstown. Also, while we were there, my wife observed a family checking in with a credit card confirmed reservation. They were told there were no rooms. We got our room on priceline at a good price. Overall, 3 stars is about it but it could be a lot better with improved management and employees who had an incentive to keep the place clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    16
    11
    14
See reviews for
43
17
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotels near here were all surprisingly higher priced than we expected. While this particular property may not be "on par" with the other facilities in the Country Inn chain (the building seems a bit aged, or perhaps less well-maintained), the price to stay here was very competitive with the other brands in the immediate vicinity, while providing good value for the money when compared with the immediate competition.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Heading back to MD from MI. Got a bit tired in Ohio. Stopped here for the night. Pet friendly hotel. Rooms could have been cleaner. Over all not bad. The staff is friendly. The hotel also offers free hot breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for letting us know about your stay with us!
We look forward to continually improving our product and services and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

You do not want to stay at his hotel. We have stayed at many Country Inn and Suites but this is not your typical by any means. Staff is rude... When we arrived after traveling 7 hours with our grandaughter, she had so looked forward to enjoying the pool. THe man at the desk muttered the pool was closed and said we could go somewhere else if we wanted.He then informed me it was posted on their website; however he could not seem to find it on the website when i asked him to show it to me. After traveling that long and being tired, plus the fact we had spent time getting an online rate, we didn't want to spend more time driving around finding another hotel. In the morning i spoke with a woman named Rebecca at the desk, as again there was no manager on duty to see about getting a minimal discount of some sort on our bill and she rudely informed me that the rates were already discounted because the pool was closed and should have even printed on my confirmation. Well not only is that absurd, but it was no where on my confirmation and she kind of chuckled when i showed it to her. To make a long story short, stay somewhere where you are at least respected as a valuable customer to the hotel and bypass this place. There are some other nice hotels in the Youngstown area, which is probably why there were very few cars in the parking lot at this hotel. Most of the time it isn't the room that is dissapointing, (although this hotel's drapes do not close so you have light coming in all night through sheers), but it is the customer service that is extremely dissapointing for a chain such as this!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
It is with all of our regrets that during such times that amenities, such as our swimming pool, become unavailable for needed maintenance. While there are some avenues that hoteliers can use to communicate with potential guests, there is not one method that covers the many different ways that rooms can be booked.

I apologize to everyone that was affected by this inconvenience and I am happy to discuss this or any topic openly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Youngstown hotels

Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

very nice ,great staff gave us milk for babies,put us on top floor so kids could run around without distubing any one,hand little problem with one thing but ,staff made it rite gave us back half of our money!breakfast was very good would stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stay at this hotel often and am part of their Concierge level with Club Carlson. I never have any complaints until now. I think I will look into one of the other multiple hotels available at this exit from this point on. Maybe I will consider leaving this chain all together. The staff is always friendly and always grateful. It has undergone new management recently and you can tell the decline in staff that has taken place. The previous general manager was very friendly and outgoing and was a true ambassador within this company. The new one, though I have not had many opportunities at this time to speak with him seems extremely brash and not very hospitable. I have seen him in passing at the desk over seeing the the staff but he lacks a smile and a warm genuine interest in people. I have also seen him on multiple occasions outside smoking. I feel that is an extreme lack in professionalism for the guests to see a general manager smoking at a smoke free hotel, that is an issue that needs addressed. The rooms at this hotel need updated, they are looking and smelling old. I have always loved this chain for their rewards program. I have experienced problems prior but that staff always resolved them quickly. Where are all the decorations I am used to seeing, they make the holiday seasons better when it is decorated and inviting. There are none this year so far :(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Good feedback is always appreciated both positive and negative.
The front line staff is 100% in tact and doing the wonderful job that they have done including the previous General Manager who continues to foster wonderful relationships in the best spirit of hospitality.
Guest Rooms at the property are in the process of being updated to the best the area has to offer and will continue to be improved long after.
The spirit of the season showed up, perhaps a day or two late apparently, but the fireplace in the lobby is lit and the seasonal decorations have been placed and are very welcoming.

Personally, being new to any position for anyone can be demanding but the points are appreciated and well taken and thanks.

I welcome anyone to experience the Country Inn and Suites Youngstown and offer a commitment to one hundred percent satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I spent a night at this hotel, the location was easy to find had no issues with my room, i had a billing issue the next day, when i asked to speak to a manager the girl at the front desk was very rude and i could hear a female voice in the back room who was clearly the manager saying she had no time to deal with me. The only issue i have with this place seems to be the management
and there lack of caring to deal with customers and a few simple questions. Aside from the the hotel was fine , clean room, kind staff for the most part. But i'd get rid of management or send them to courtesy school.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for the input on your recent stay with us. I personally apologize and feel badly for the poor feeling of service you were left with. Our goals will always be far above and beyond that which you felt and we will continue to work torwards that goal of providing excellent guest care. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss this further.

On a good note, I am somewhat new to this hotel, but not the business, and will be attending courtesy school within a short time as part of my training.

Hope to see you in the future of your travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites

Address: 5570 Interstate Blvd., Youngstown, OH 44515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Youngstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Youngstown
Country Inn And Suites
Youngstown Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites Youngstown, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.