We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average Hampton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Youngstown North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Youngstown North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Youngstown North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 Belmont Avenue, Youngstown, OH 44505   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Youngstown
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An average Hampton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I stay at Hampton's often and this one is average for the chain. The hotel was clean and tidy with friendly staff. I can't say my stay was great but it wasn't terrible either.

Housekeeping disappointed me when I found they'd taken all the soaps and shampoo from my room on my second night and not left any new.

I had to park in the back of the property one night and was very disappointed to find there was on door from the parking lot. The nearest one was on the side of the hotel. I don't mind walking but it was a little dark and desolated out back so I was glad to have a collegue with me.

It's this lack of attention to detail that makes me say my stay was just "ok".

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    56
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
77
38
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed at this property as a halfway point to Columbus,OH for the Arnold Expo. The location is great, very easy on/off access to I-80. Exterior is your typical Hampton Inn. While it is older, has the red trim, I think the interior was renovated at some point recently. On arrival we were greeted by the gentlemen at the front desk, received keys and got the run down on breakfast/pool/etc. and were in the elevator no more than 2 minutes later. Efficiency is nice, after a long ride. The room was very clean, your typical Hampton setup. The bathroom was clean as well and the tub seemed to be a part of a renovation with newer shower walls. The massaging shower head was nice, but the pressure could have been a bit more for my liking. Overall though, the bathroom was just fine. The Cloud Nine beds were excellent, slept very well. They were up to par with the Borgata in Atlantic City, which I rave about. The WiFi was ok speeds, but at some points it would kick me on and I'd have to restart the connection. Didn't use it very much though, so wasn't an issue. The first morning we left the hotel at 4:30am, to be greeted with a very chipper front desk attendant. Arriving back from Columbus we were again greeted by the front desk and a few housekeepers. Ordered pizza from Pizza Hut, which is right down the road. Very fast delivery, about 20 minutes when ordered online. The last morning we tried the breakfast, which was very good. Eggs with sausage gravy and warm biscuits. The breakfast station attendant was again very friendly offering mints to everyone. We then proceeded to check out and both the front desk and breakfast attendants wishes us a safe drive home. Every person we saw, were overly friendly, and make this hotel. If you are looking for a nice place to stay, at a good rate (we paid $99 on the weekend), easy access to I-80, and friendly employees, I highly recommend the Hampton Inn North!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

I came with a friend and my two boys for the Freestyle Motocross event and chose this hotel based on the tripadvisor and Expedia customer reviews.

The outside is attractive, hotel easy to find.

Lobby is very clean, modern and pleasant and the woman at the front desk was very hospitable.

The room was great, we had a king with a pull out sofa. The bed was very comfortable with a duvet and tonnes of pillows. Only thing missing was a fridge. The kids were very happy and there was lots of room to play.

The breakfast in the morning had breakfast sandwiches, porridge, cereals, fruits, pastries, muffines, juice, good coffee, etc. The attendant was very nice, in fact all the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to say hi and make you feel welcome.

This is well worth it if you need to be in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2008

Check in went smoothly. The elevator up to the room had a very unpleasant odor, but it was hard to identify what that odor was, since it had been heavily doused with some cleaning solution to try to get rid of it or mask it – without success. The room was spacious and clean. There were two queen sized beds and a nice writing desk. It had a television with a modest selection of cable channels. There was supposed to be free wi-fi in the room, but we did not have our laptop along, so we did not get a chance to test it. The bathroom was decent sized and clean. It had a coffee maker and coffee packets. There was an iron and ironing board in the room. They include a free hot breakfast, which included sausage patties, egg patties and a nice selection of Danish and other breakfast pastries. They were all fresh and tasty. They had a nice selection of coffees, juices and cereals. The cut citrus, however, was pretty bad. It had obviously been around awhile and had an unpleasant tang to it – just this side of rancid. We couldn’t eat it. The lady who attended the breakfast area could not have been more friendly, repeatedly greeting people and offering to help. There is a television in the lobby. While I was sitting in the lobby waiting for my wife to come down, the attendant offered to turn it on for me and showed me the remote. There is an internet outlet in the lobby. I could not figure out how to use it, since its mouse and keyboard were hidden. However, I saw another guest find them by pulling out a drawer. He obviously found that outlet useful. Our room tab, including tax, was $117.53. You get what you pay for. This is a nice place. We recommend it.

  • Liked — Size and cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — Stinky elevator, near rancid citrus at breakfast bar
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Hampton Inn is a class act. They are consistent and a nice place to land after a long day of traveling.

When we arrived we went to our room to find out it was a smoking room which was not what we wanted. I went to the desk to find another room. I think you find out about how well a property is managed when problems arise. We were able to find a non-smoking room that met our needs. The staff handled the situation in a professional manner and to our satisfaction.

The rooms were clean, newer carpet, nice bedding and good sized rooms. This met the standard we expected and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Stayed there for two nights due to a wedding nearby. Staff was great! Breakfast and the attendant were perfect. Workout room looks into the pool so I could watch my kids while I ran! A short drive to Macy's and Dillard's for that last minute wedding dress edit. Not many good (read "not chain or theme-style") dining choices nearby. But, there are choices. The beds were amazing! My wife never sleeps well in a Hotel and she loved it! When we go back for the Christening, we'll stay there again.

  • Liked — Close to our event, Very nice staff, great beds
  • Disliked — Low water pressure in shower
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

This is a very nice place to spend a night or two. The entire staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The property is clean and safe. They even baked warm cookies in the evening on my stay. That was a very nice touch. Make sure to say "hello" to Scott, Chuck and Barbara!

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — wish they had a resturant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Youngstown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Youngstown North

Address: 4400 Belmont Avenue, Youngstown, OH 44505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Youngstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Youngstown North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Youngstown North is located just off I80 only 10 minutes from downtown Youngstown and Youngstown State. Our hotel has 66 guestrooms, accessible rooms, pool, business center and fitness center to accommodate all of your traveling needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Youngstown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Youngstown North Hotel Youngstown
Youngstown Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Youngstown North Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Youngstown North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.