We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Youngstown Crab Company

Youngstown Crab Company
3917 Belmont Ave, Youngstown, Ohio 44505, Youngstown, OH 44505-1409
330-759-5480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 240 Restaurants in Youngstown
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hubbard, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Three of us went to dinner at the crab company. We had reservations and were seated quickly. We didn't like our booth (something was wrong with the bench seat) and they moved us to a table with no problems. Alina was our waitress. She made some reccomendations - the Valentina martini was very good. The salads were fresh but nothing really special. The warm rolls were crusty and delicious. The entrees we got- all seafood-shrimp, crab, haddock, and whitefish were very fresh and perfectly prepared. The potato side dishes were interesting and very good. Alina is a nice girl and she did a wonderful job. Really the only "bad" remark I could make is the the dishes are so large that it makes the table feel crowded. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hubbard, OH
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great seafood - stay clear of the beef”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Take a fat wallet! Meals start at around $25 and go up from there. There were three of us for dinner and our bill was $125. The seafood was as good as a fresh- catch ocean-side restaurant. My husband and I both had a "land and sea" meal which included a lobster tail, grilled shrimp and scallops paired with filet of beef tips. The beef had a strong taste of game meat, like bad venison or something. The waitress was nice and helpful but claimed it was a seasoning they use and had new tips prepared with no seasoning. The second time the filet tips came out they were worse than the first! The manager never came to our table, despite the fact we asked to see one, and the waitress was only aloud to take $3 off each $35 dinner. I made sure I spoke to the manager before leaving. She didn't seem very concerned about the repulsive beef and could only take off the small amount because "considering everything on the plate, the beef was the least expensive item". We will not be returning to the Youngstown Crab Company, as they are not concerned about the safety of the customers, only the bottom line.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you are near Youngstown and like seafood- this is the place to go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I should start by saying that over a year ago there was a giant billboard near our house in Northeast Ohio for the Youngstown Crab Company. We couldn't figure out why the billboard was there, 50 miles away and not on a very busy road BUT we saw it and figured that if we were ever near Youngstown, we would stop in. So, last week we were passing within 5 miles of Youngstown and decided to try the Crab company. Our service was very friendly and we had good food. My husband had a fried shrimp appetizer that had shrimp dipped in cocktail sauce and then battered and fried and laid on a bed of onion straws, yummy. He also had the lobster mac and cheese. I had the Snow crab entrée with Sichuan green beans. Everything was very good and we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a first visit. The service was excellent, our waitress was friendly, helpful and attentive. The food was well prepared and delicious. It is pricey so go prepared. We were there early and it quickly began to fill up. I imagine there is quit the wait on weekend evenings. It is closed on Sundays. Nice bar separate from the dining area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, OH
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nowhere near the sea-but you wouldn't know it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

When you have been to the ocean for vacation and find a great place for seafood you are left thinking that you can't get a good seafood meal until your next vacation. Well, Youngstown Crab Company is your connection to fresh fish and seafood appetizers and entrees close to home. Chef prepared, the restaurant gives you traditional menu items mixed in with popular regional sides. Crab Bisque soup is delicious as an appetizer. The zucchini boat side dish is fresh and innovative. I have tried to make the zucchini at home... almost there...but not quite. Plenty of warm rolls accompany your meal. Specialty drinks from the bar are great. The Banana Monkey is really good but more like a dessert. Speaking of desserts- you won't be disappointed. We've noticed on our visits that it's a popular place for groups of 8 to 12 family/friends gathering for a special occasion. Not cheap-but appropriately priced for quality and portion size. Not fancy and conveniently located -- close to the freeway exit and just 15 or less minutes from the Warren area. People are dressed casually-to business professional. You don't have to go to the ocean for a great seafood dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Youngstown Crab Company also viewed

 

Been to Youngstown Crab Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Youngstown Crab Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.