We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good, Cheap Hotel Conveniently Located Off the Highway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites North to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4055 Belmont Ave., Youngstown, OH 44505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Youngstown
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Good, Cheap Hotel Conveniently Located Off the Highway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I was unsure about booking here after reading some of the reviews but was embarking on a long road trip (Chicago to Massachusetts) and needed a convenient, cheap place to stay halfway. I didn't have high expectations but was actually very pleased with my visit. My room was clean, comfortable, and adequate for my needs. I forgot the exit off the highway and when I called the front desk person was very friendly and helped me to find my way to the hotel. The hotel is dated and shows some wear, but there wasn't anything unacceptable and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast wasn't huge but it was enough for me (and better than nothing!). I felt comfortable enough to stay here again on my way back to Chicago.

I had no complaints and the service was excellent while I was here, though I really only required service at check-in. I think that if you're looking for an inexpensive, convenient place to stay and are not expecting a 5 star hotel, then you will be satisfied here. I was and I will stay here again on my next trip back east.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    20
    13
    20
See reviews for
34
21
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I was in for a pleasant suprise on my most visit to the Youngstown area. I couldn't believe the improvements to the Quality Inn and Suites North. I've stayed there many times over many years through different names and management because of its convenience and value. I must say that this was the best visit ever. The pool was conveniently open until 11:00 pm allowing my family plenty of time to settle in. We really enjoyed the comfortable lobby with its large screen tv and computer access. Most important, the staff, especially Manager Scott Kifer, was friendly and efficient. Every need was met. I couldn't be more grateful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

More of a motel than hotel in location, decor, and cleanliness, I can handle. What I won't tolerate is poor customer service! Confirmed for a queen room at a specified price, checked in at that confirmed price, I was charged $20 more per night by an extremely rude front clerk who informed me that I had been placed in a king room and there was no way she could reduce my rate to my confirmed price even though i had not asked for a king room, nor been asked if i wanted to upgrade. When I showed her my confirmation, she said there was nothing she could do. Horrible, horrible service with no manager on duty! Will never recommend this hotel..

Room Tip: Go to the Hampton Inn down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Partially updated, partially run-down. Staff was friendly, but if you have 31 vacant rooms why put your guests in a room that shares a door (adjoining rooms) with a bunch of drunkards? We could hear EVERYTHING through that door. Thankfully they quieted down after 2am. I wish we had stayed at the Days Inn across the street instead.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We usually do not stay at this chain but the other hotels in the area were just so expensive...& we were just spending 1 night, getting in late, leaving early.... The hotel was OK, but just OK. When we arrived there were no other guests at the front desk, but it took the hotel employee behind the desk at least 5 minutes, perhaps more, to acknowledge us. She was on the phone, obviously agitated with a customer who was asking for the phone number for a Pizza Hut. She was rolling her eyes & speaking in a somewhat rude manner. All this time, she never acknowledged us with a nod or smile or even made eye contact with us. The room was fine...until I saw the blood stains on the sheets. I was ready to throw up. I covered the area with a towel and stayed away from there; it was so, so late at night, we wre doing a lot of driving the next day, we had children with us, and I did not want to start messing with housekeeping and the rude dront desk lady. The next morning, I was even more disgusted when I saw there were blood stains, on the sheets, near the foot of the bed. It was absolutely disgusting. We went down to the breakfast. Hard to imagine, but the older woman who worked there was even more rude than the front desk woman had been! There were a ood number of people at breakfast, and she was working fast and hard, but seemed to resent every minute of it. She bundled up a large trash bag and was starting to walk down an aisle between tables, but guests were walking down that same aisle, towards her, and even I, a few tables away, could hear her sigh as she moved out of the way, quite disgruntled. I took some OJ and used the last of it. I went to let her know. Her reaction: "Oh, well," with a hand gesture like you are shooing away a fly. (I noticed that she did go to replenish the OJ after I spoke with her.) The price for this hotel was about 1/2 of what the Hampton Inn was across the street (where we would have preferred to stay, but it was a lot of $$ for where it was, etc.). I would try to find a better place for a decent price before staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

On a family emergency trip, we found this motel in the perfect location; freeways, main street Belmont, has numerous fast foods, fine dining shopping outlets and very close to the hospital my mother was staying at. The staff was kind, breakfast available at "normal hours of 6:30 - 9:00 am". Manager Scott used his own equipment to print our boarding passes more like staying at a friends home then a motel...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This hotel was a mess. The elevators were maybe from the early 60's, scary is the best
word to describe them. Our bathroom ceiling leaked, there way of fixing it was a plastic
tub to catch the water. Then when they did fix it they left the mess ceiling tile, shop vac
etc. in the bathroom. We had to move all of it on Sat. morning to shower. Also was broken toilet seat cover, never fixed. When they did clean up some of the mess drywall
dust from ceiling was all over the bathroom. The breakfast bar was not the most
apealing either, cold sausage gravy etc. NEVER STAY THERE

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnYo, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites North, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
This guest room was to be put out of order for repair, and was accidently not. Oncw we realized our mistake, guest was offered a different room, but decided to stay in damaged room. They stayed 2 nights but were only charged 1 night. Since departure room has been restored to above satisfactory condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites North

Address: 4055 Belmont Ave., Youngstown, OH 44505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Youngstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites North 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites North
Quality Inn & Suites North Hotel Youngstown
Quality Inn North
Quality Inn Youngstown
Youngstown Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites North Youngstown, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.