We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unpleasant and dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4250 Belmont Avenue, Youngstown, OH 44505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Youngstown
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    12
    23
    37
See reviews for
33
10
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willoughby Hills, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I'm a regular with the Super 8 chain, but this one is pretty unique. Physically, it doesn't resemble any Super 8 I've ever stayed at from the outside, but the warm staff and warm, clean room reminded me where I was staying. My experience with the shower started out... terribly, with broken fixtures and just a drop of water pressure. After quickly toweling off, I called over to the front desk to report the problem. The staff was very apologetic and said they would send someone over. Within minutes we had a sympathetic hotel employee in the bathroom repairing the broken equipment. Although the water pressure didn't improve much, I was able to take a shower without anything falling apart, and for that I was grateful. Other Super 8 benchmarks were hit, with free wifi and standard free continental breakfast (although there was only one long table in the dining area, but the couple at the end was willing to share).

Overall this property looks like a place you'd want to pass up on first sight, but has all of the charm and comforts of any of the other Super 8 properties. Would stay again if in the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stopped for the night with our dogs. The staff was very friendly, but only somewhat helpful. My husband asked where he could get some food and ice. the man at the desk pointed down the road and said that was the closest area. My husband got into the van, and ACROSS the street was a Dairy Queen and a Gas Station!
the room was very spacious and clean. The dog walking area left A LOT to be desired. it was down at the end of our hotel's row- and it was totally pitch black in the 'courtyard' where there was grass, but you couldn't see in front of your face at night. there was a huge divot in the walk way which luckily I saw from the little bit of light that showed in the entry way. The pool was fenced off. I always clean up after my dogs and had to bring a flashlight to do so.
I would stay there again if ever I was in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had just stayed at a great Super 8 in Iowa so expected much more. Although the sign said Super 8 it certainly did not look like one. It was very run down. The room had a bad odor, the carpet was stained and the vinyl bathroom floor was peeling so badly I tripped on it. Definitely would not return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TULSA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We've stayed here each year for the past 10 years during the Canfield Fair. The only thing thats changed is the coffeemaker. The rooms are old, the plumbing is like playing Russian roulette with the shower. The water goes from very hot to very cold in seconds, scalding you if you can't get out of the way! The carpets are some of the most disgusting things about the rooms.Really needs a total redo or it won't last much longer. We've stayed there for the last time. A new motel 6 has just opened across the street with the same rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 4250 Belmont Avenue, Youngstown, OH 44505
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Youngstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Youngstown
Super Eight Youngstown
Youngstown Super 8
Youngstown Super Eight
Rodeway Inn Youngstown, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.