We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood Linguine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Market Bistro

South Market Bistro
151 South Market Street, Wooster, OH
330-264-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 86 restaurants in Wooster
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Linguine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Tried this restaurant tonight. I was the first one in the restaurant, so I cannot comment on the loudness. It is a small place with a bunch of tables. I would assume that it would be loud when it was full.

I enjoyed the house salad with the mustard dressing. The salad was excellent and had olives in it. The pasta was excellent as well. The cream sauce blended with the mussels, shrimp and scallops nicely, and really enhanced the flavor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at South Market Bistro, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for visiting the Bistro. We are glad you enjoyed your meal, and please think of us on your next trip to Wooster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    61
    18
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint but a little loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Food was very good along with the service. Small quaint space but a little loud when filled with patrons.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at South Market Bistro, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, Leslie. We're glad you enjoyed your meal! We are aware of the issue that our restuarant can become loud at times. We are working to create a solution which will decrease the volume while preserving the historic building. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Creative menu and fresh food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We returned to South Market Bistro a couple of nights during our stay in Wooster. The scallop and trout dishes were excellent, as was the house salad, but the star of the evening was tasting the Fig Cognac served either neat or as in a Fig Sidecar.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at South Market Bistro, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Bistro and writing your review! We are glad you enjoyed the seafood dishes (Chef Erik is exceptional when it comes to seafood!), and we hope to see you back again when you visit Wooster next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Wooster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

They offer a daily fish special and soup. Their menu fits the seasonal foods available, the food is prepared beautifully and they offer incredible service. I eat there everytime I go to Wooster and would recommend it to anyone.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at South Market Bistro, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
David, thank you for visiting the Bistro and your review. We are very proud of the seasonality of our menu and glad that you appreciate it too! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delectable seasonal dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The menu selection is broad, follows the seasons, and worth exploring. The duck trio and the pork chop dinners were both accompanied by braised cabbage, kale, and mashed sweet potatoes and were excellent. Among the drink choices is a Fig Sidecar, which is a house specialty and delightfully flavored. This is a fabulous restaurant with attentive service and extraordinary food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at South Market Bistro, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for your review! We're glad that you found a good variety on the menu and dishes in tune with the season (that's our goal!). We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Market Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Market Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.