We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crappy overpriced food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spoon Market

Spoon Market
147 S Market St, Wooster, OH 44691
330-262-0880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 87 Restaurants in Wooster
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen, Vegetarian, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Spoon Market is located in a historic building in downtown Wooster, OH formally known as The Gold Star Store where locals would shop for their seeds, feed and farm supplies.Spoon Market & Deli opened its doors in June 2011. The idea of creating a neighborhood resource for the finest locally grown products and a wide range of ethnic ingredients became a reality behind the vision of Jordan and Patrice Smith. In the process they met Adam Nussbaum, a local butcher, who had a desire to offer his craft of handcut meats and homemade sausages to people in the community. Together, sharing their visions, Spoon Market & Deli was built.Our vision is to share our passion for excellence in food and service. We want to bring you the finest food and service Wooster and the surrounding area has to offer. Our food choices are staggering. Locally grown produced prime beef dry-aged on premise, freshly baked artisan bread and pastries, a collection of the finest cheeses, a list of unique wines and craft beers.Our passion reaches beyond the market. The deli serves breakfast, lunch, and specialty created meals to finish for you and your family.
Mansfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“crappy overpriced food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Sanwiched was nasty. I did like the homemade kale chips. Way overpriced. Service was way too slow. Go to Coccia House for a good priced tasty meal.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WOOSTER
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent soups, salads, and sandwiches based on local ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Spoon is a deli, market, butcher and fun, informal sandwich place. It houses not only the best butcher in town and great local ingredients, but the best sandwiches in Wooster, along with very friendly service. I try to go there at least every other week for lunch.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“perfect scones, great for college grad party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Spoon catered a college party we had with other parents. It was perfect, easy to do via email and reasonably priced. They delivered to the dorm.
Great place for coffee and sandwiches. Wonderful addition to the town.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

A very enjoyable salad/sandwich shop. Very surprising and great selection of beer as well.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw, SC
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is an interesting eatery/deli/bakery/butcher shop in a neat old high-ceilinged building. Not many tables, and they all seemed to be the high bar tables with the uncomfortable stools, and no place to hang your coat.

Service was friendly and fast, food was ok. They serve "kale chips" - bits of kale that have been - fried? - not sure... my daughter assured me they are good and very popular. I will have to admit that crisp burnt kale didn't do anything for me.... Their pickle is apparently also "special" - very spicy. I would have preferred a good standard deli dill myself....

This is one of my daughter's favorite places. Have to say it is not on my "do again" list.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spoon Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spoon Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.