We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - very busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broken Rocks Cafe & Bakery

Broken Rocks Cafe & Bakery
123 E Liberty St, Wooster, OH 44691-4345
330-263-2949
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Wooster
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Café, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good - very busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I arrived around 7pm on a Saturday night - they were very busy, with a waiting list so I sat at the bar. It took awhile for someone to come offer a menu and take my order but I could see they seemed understaffed (and there was a sign on the door advertising for help). It's a relatively small place, lots of character inside, but very noisy. I ordered a veggie burger and glass of wine. The wine came quickly but it took longer than I expected for the veggie burger which was served with a side of quinoa salad which was very good. The burger was also very tasty, well worth the wait. So if you go on a Saturday night, call to make a reservation. Everyone seemed to be having a great time so this must be a good local hand out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    52
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orrville, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Broken Rocks for lunch but not for breakfast. I loved the omelette with prosciutto, asiago, peas, and carmelized onions. The French toast was made with their housemade bread and was perfect served with a banana and maple syrup. Service was attentive and crisp and most importantly the coffee was wonderful.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Overpriced. Paid $40 including tip for a beef brisket sandwich for myself and pasta dish for husband plus two chocolate custard deserts. Food was "okay", service was poor. Won't be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great lunch stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Wonderful bread. The crab cake appetizer was filling and delicious! Nice atmosphere. I wish I could have come back for dinner, but wasn't in town long enough. Will be worth a trip back to Wooster someday.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Who'da thought celery could be so special?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We always go to Broken Rocks in Wooster after the Ohio Light Opera (or before if it's an evening performance) and have never been disappointed. We sit in the front in the window seat, where we can watch the passersby as we sip and sup. This last time we went I had sautéed Walleye beautifully arranged on a tasty bed of celery/potato puree. It was the perfect complement to the citrus-ey-buttery sauce on the fish with a lovely Greek salad to accompany the entrée. Couldn't stop there: Banana's Foster with rum sauce to finish. And the best part - it didn't break the bank!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broken Rocks Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Broken Rocks Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broken Rocks Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.