We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broken Rocks Cafe & Bakery

Broken Rocks Cafe & Bakery
123 E Liberty St, Wooster, OH 44691-4345
330-263-2949
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 86 restaurants in Wooster
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Café, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Elmhurst, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Atmosphere, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have been to Broken Rocks twice on visits to Wooster and enjoy the food and ambiance of this restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    107
    42
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Every time I'm in Wooster, I visit the Broken Rocks. The beer selection is great and food is good. I always sit at the bar with a bunch of my family.Just a fun place..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Classy place. Not too expensive. Nice personable staff. Split check was no problem. Drink refills were fast and furious!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loose Creek Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This week went for family member birthday. Party of nine. Friendly slow service. The cafe was busy. The dining room is always noisy poor sound design. I ordered the tomatoe garlic soup, it needed help, very acidic. Chef should know how to tone that down. It lacked any depth or character, couldn't taste garlic. For my meal I asked for the chicken avacado sandwich on foccacia. There is no true avacado on it, just some mashed in with too much mayo. Chicken was overcooked, rubbery. Again lacking any spice or flavor. I avoid the house bread, too thick crusted and no flavor whatsoever. The cabernet with my meal was the best component. For dessert, pecan pie. Had been in frig a few days and the filing was pulling away from crust, crust was too soft and had absorbed frig moisture. Flavor wise the pie was OK, was probably great they day it was made and even a day or two later, my piece was just past its prime. I tasted someones pumpkin tiaramisu, not even OK, yuk. My husband said his beet salad was OK, and his steak was pretty good. Others at the table were satisfied with spaghetti, steak, seafood pasta dish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice but not awesome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

When you walk in the atmosphere is nice and the restaurant is clean and well presented. The staff is nice but very slow. There was only 3 parties eating when I was there and it took 7 minutes before someone took my drink order and 15 more before my food order was taken. When I got my food it was over done and all I could really taste were the condiments.

There needs to be some changes if they want to be the upscale cafe they are trying to be like the addition of cloth napkins and real silver ware that is not just pressed metal.

I'll probably go again to see if the service and food was just off that day. Worth a trip but don't get too excited.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broken Rocks Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Broken Rocks Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broken Rocks Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.