We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Wilmington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Wilmington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Wilmington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Gano Road, Wilmington, OH 45177   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmington
South Eastern PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here this past weekend. It was our second time visiting Wilmington OH. The first time was in Sept. 2012. We liked it then so we stayed again. We found the same level of cleanliness and quality. Our room was spotless, our beds clean and comfortable. The lobby is gorgeous so we were excited that our room looked down on it. Then front desk staff is not overly friendly but is courtious and efficient. Check out was extremely smooth. The location of the hotel on the interstate made us leery at first BUT you old not hear any outside noise. We also found interior noises to be minimal. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Wilmington. We appreciate you kind comments on our hotel. We receive a lot of great compliments on our cleanliness, lobby and our comfortable beds. I hope you stay with us again the next time you are in town. Thank you Gray Campbell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
9
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn Twp., Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

To start, staff very unfriendly. It seems they do not want you there and are actually annoyed by your presence. Every year, Tops Gymnastics hosts a meet at the Roberts Centre attached to this hotel. The hotel has about 100 little gymnasts staying at the hotel for the weekend. Maybe that is why they seemed annoyed, however, we did take up at least 25 rooms that we PAID for. Our girls were in and out all weekend because of competition times next door and they were ALL very well behaved. They were all too busy to cause any disruptiveness in the hotel. Regardless of who was in the room, we were paying customers. Our gym stays at this hotel because it is conveniently attached to the meet site. All in all, the hotel did a pretty good job accomodating all of us, they just did not like us and did not hide the fact that they could not wait till we left. The group sales department, after much begging and pleading, cooperated with us by allowing us to use a hospitality suite for our gymnasts to eat pizza, ONCE. There is a Max n Ermas also "attached" to the hotel. That is another review in itself. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear sarahsmile7,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff marred your experience, and prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guests satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel was located right off the interstate between Columbus and Cincinnatti, Ohio. It is essentially "in the middle of nowhere" but a welcome surprise when you arrive. There is a huge well appointed lobby with access to the Max & Erma's restaurant. The parking lot is huge since it also serves the Roert's Center next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We like to think we are in the “middle of everywhere”. I am glad you had the chance to enjoy our newly renovated Max & Erma’s and see the Roberts Convention Centre that can hold meetings for 4 to 4,000. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you Gray Campbell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on 10/26/12. We stayed here because we trusted the Holiday Inn name. We were very dissapointed with our stay. The lobby was very nice, as are most hotel lobbies, the room we had was a different story. We had room 208 at first. This room was in need of repairs. First thing we noticed was how scratched up the furniture and walls were. There was a hole ripped in the carpet. The toilet would not flush right and when we finally did get it to flush, it would not stop running. The room felt out dated and dirty. That wasn't the reason we changed rooms though. We changed rooms because when we went to bed, the bed was full of long, black, disgusting looking hair that wasn't ours. I don't mean there was just a couple of hairs in our bed, there were hundreds. That means the sheets weren't even changed from the previous occupants. VERY GROSS! We would have left and gone somewhere else, but we were tired from driving all day. We told the front desk and they gave us another room. We ate at the Max and Ermas resteraunt in the hotel. The food was very pricey and not very good. The resteraunt will only bill your room, which we didn't like. The waitress left the bill at our table and never came back. We had a $5 off coupon that we left with the bill, but it wasn't taken off the bill. We discovered this a few days later when checking our credit card account. Overall, it was a very dissapointing experience. The room definitely wasn't cheap at $120 a night (+ $30 in taxes and fees for a total of $150 a night). The hotel receptionist was very friendly, but that wasn't enough to overlook a poor experience. We wrote a letter to Holiday Inn corporate offices and the only response we received was that they forwarded our letter to the hotel manager. We never heard anything after that. An apology would have been nice at the very least. So, if your in the area and you are considering staying at this hotel, you may want to pass it by. There are plenty of other hotels in the area. I know we will pass on Holiday Inn from now on.

Room Tip: Check the room out before you pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you might have had. This is not typical of a stay with us. We pride ourselves with high standards for our property and guest service. We are currently ranked in the top 12% of all Holiday Inns and I hope you give us the opportunity to server you again. If I can do anything at this time, please contact me at the property. 937-283-3200. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel with easy access to interstate
Lots and lots of free parking,bring your boats and trailers .
Pub style restaurant on site with more across the street.
The food and service at the hotel pub was great and reasonably priced
All in all a good place to park yourself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this location. Used the breakfast and stay deal which worked out well for us. Staff for the hotel and Max & Erma's Restaurant (onsite) were super nice. The lobby and hallways are clean and very nicely decorated. The only thing bad about our room was the carpet had a tear in it and a large (sticky) stain. Which was very out of character for the rest of the room and the facility itself. Bed was extremely comfortable and we didn't hear a sound from any of the other room guests. Felt this price was a little on the high side for such a remote location, but more than likely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EggbertsMom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed overnight and took advantage of their Renaissance Package - free tickets to the faire = a $40 savings. The staff is welcoming and responsive, getting a requested refrigerator up to our room within 15 minutes of check in. The hotel is beautiful and super CLEAN. Booking a room on the 5th floor gave us a private elevator and a very quiet night. The view was amazing from our wall of windows as well. Take advantage of the fabulous pool while there - plenty of pool towels, heated just right and no overpowering chlorine smell upon entering.

The onsite Max & Ermas is handy but the food is so-so and over priced. Kids eat breakfast free, but adults pay.

We will be staying her again each year as it is barely 8 miles to the event.

Room Tip: 5th floor has a private elevator and is VERY quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wilmington

Address: 123 Gano Road, Wilmington, OH 45177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wilmington 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel at Roberts Centre in Wilmington, Ohio is a luxurious, full service hotel and conference center centrally located between Cincinnati, Dayton and Columbus, Ohio, at the intersection of St. Rt. 68 & Interstate 71, just north of Wilmington, Ohio. A simply beautiful hotel! Sparkling chandeliers, gleaming marble floors, lush, rich furnishings, and warm, smiling faces welcome you to this gem of a hotel in the middle of everywhere. Our breathtaking hotel guestrooms are unusually spacious, perfectly appointed and include free high-speed Internet. Ideal for a romantic get away, vacation or entertaining your most important clients.Our conference facility, Roberts Centre, features over 100,000 sq. ft. of flexible, meeting space. Located just minutes from DHL Worldwide, ABX Air, R & L Carriers, Alkermes and Ferno Washington makes the Holiday Inn Hotel at Roberts Centre the ideal location for your next corporate board meeting or executive retreat. After your meeting, world class shopping awaits you at the Prime Outlets-Jeffersonville and Waynesville's limitless antique shops. Max & Erma's at Roberts Centre, always passionate about food, people and place, is located in the lobby of the Holiday Inn Hotel at Roberts Centre and features a variety of all American cuisine. A fun, casual atmosphere ideal for the business traveler or family get away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmington Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.