We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Willoughby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Homestead House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
38111 West Spaulding, Willoughby, OH 44094   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Willoughby B&B and Inns
Queens, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently started staying at B&B's about 3 years ago and thought that we had found the perfect place. However, we were wrong. Homestead House B&B has become our favorite place to stay. Deanna created an environment that made us feel at home.

We stayed in the Victorian Rose, which was very simple but has a very comfortable bed. The food served during breakfast was different daily and very tasty. Deanna carries out my one belief about eating; there should be dessert after every meal including breakfast.

Deanna sits with you during breakfast and is very personable. She knows a great deal about history and has a lot of information to share. She also knows the location very well and can guide you to where you want to go.

It was a great experience and we are anticipating our trip out there again. We love you Deanna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
52
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent our last night of a recent trip visiting family nearby. The other reviews that said it is like a home away from home were 100% correct. We WILL be staying here again for our next visit. We stayed in the Fine Arts room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bubbler tub was fabulous for my aching back and joints from all the walking we did that day. Diana was amazingly accommodating and welcomed us like an old friend despite it being our first stay. And breakfast....what can I say....AWESOME!

highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is roughly the fifth time I have stayed here - as always - everything - the room, the breakfast, the ambience, the area, is wonderful. Many historical sights and nature trails are within easy driving distance.

Room Tip: If you like a whirlpool tub choose either the Victorian Rose or Fine Arts room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonawanda, ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Lucky to have found this Bed and Breakfast traveling to the Cleveland area for a girl's weekend! Deanna was very sweet and friendly! The bed and breakfast is an amazing value! The rooms are charming, as is the entire bed and breakfast. Cleanliness is top notch. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom in the Railroad room had plenty of space to put toiletries… there were tin containers on the walls which were a helpful and cute touch! The breakfast was super! Presentation was perfect, the food delicious and just the right amount of food! Light and fluffy homemade cinnamon rolls, fruit, an egg entree and dessert to boot…. panna cotta.. the most delicious treat! The town of Willoughby is delightful with a plethora of restaurants within walking distance…. from cupcakes to crepes, coffee and sweets and fish to burgers and pasta to sandwiches.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Homestead House in May while we were visiting our daughter at the Cleveland Institute of Music for her Masters Recital. The Inn is only a short 15 minute ride from the Case, CIM area. We still cannot believe the attention to detail that Deanna, the innkeeper, showed. Our room was magnificent -- quiet and elegant. The Jacuzzi tub was an added benefit. The entire house was beautiful inside and out. The breakfasts were gourmet treats -- made to order delights! My wife is a strict vegan and all her breakfasts were specially prepared, delicious and unique. You won't find anything better, anywhere. We've stayed at the Glidden House near CIM and near downtown Cleveland at well-respected, highly regarded B&B's in Iron City area. Nothing comes close to the Homestead Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Homestead house and would recommend it to anyone.
The house is huge, immaculate, and beautifully decorated
The hostess was very informative about the local attractions. She had a delicious gourmet breakfast served the next day and accommodated our departure time and made our breakfast early.
We stayed in the Speakeasy room and it was awesome- huge bathroom, with shower and bubble clawfoot tub- very nice!!
It is in a great location because you are within walking distance of many restaurants. We recommend the Stuffed burgers at the "Burgers and Beer" restaurant and the gelato at the coffee shop next door!
This B&B made us want to visit the Cleveland area--just to stay at the Homestead House. Loved it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeastern Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

To celebrate our recent anniversary, my husband and I chose the Homestead House B&B and experienced a lovely weekend. Beautifully restored, sparkling clean, and incredibly quiet, each room in this house was comfortable and visitor-friendly. We stayed in the Fine Arts room and thoroughly enjoyed the antique king-sized bed--it was like sleeping on a cloud. This wonderful room also features a bubbler tub--a step-up from a traditional jacuzzi tub. The Fine Arts also included a fireplace, comfortable Queen Anne chair and love-seat. Deanna, the innkeeper, is incredibly focused on details and anticipating the needs of each of her guests. The bathroom was equipped with a variety of personal amenities, and the bedroom included a Homedics white-noise machine to mask any outside noise. Likewise, the second-floor common area was stocked with coffee, tea, water and a microwave, mini-refrigerator, and iron and ironing board. Also available for guest use was a wide range of recent novels and DVDs. Not surprisingly, all of the guestrooms were occupied during our stay and we enjoyed pleasant conversation over the wonderfully prepared breakfast. One of the couples has stayed at the Homestead House numerous times and they mentioned that Deanna notes her menus and attempts to serve a wide variety so that her returning guests enjoy something new each time they visit! The inn is less than a block from the center of historic section of Willoughby where there are numerous restaurants and small shops and boutiques. From May until early October there is a farmer's market on Saturday morning, nearly within sight of the B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and have been checking our calendar to see when we can return for another memorable weekend!

Room Tip: Willoughby is such a quiet little town that even the rooms that border the street are quiet and rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestead House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 38111 West Spaulding, Willoughby, OH 44094
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Willoughby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Willoughby
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Homestead House Bed & Breakfast Willoughby, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.