We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland Willoughby

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland Willoughby to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland Willoughby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35103 Maplegrove Road, Willoughby, OH 44094   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Willoughby
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here one night for business. It was located close to my business meeting the following day. The hotel was clean and comfortable overall. The lobby was nice. It had a small "restaurant" that served Starbucks which was convenient in the morning.

The room was fine. It was an older style room with the sink outside of the bathtub/shower. The bed was ok. I am finding that the Courtyard by Marriott's are not consistent quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
13
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ASHVILLE
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Caters to elite business crowd that apparently likes to impress each other with extra expenses and mediocre service. Whereas the decor was modern, bright, and spiffy, there were several distractions that affected my rating.
Internet service was very slow, especially during peak hours of use (mornings and evenings).
Bedsheets do not fit mattress well, so they shift as you turn and become a loose mess.
Noises from upstairs bathroom are carried through walls and audible in bed.
Requests for mini-fridge were apparently ignored.
No recognition for Marriott Rewards loyalty; everyone is treated with equal dislike.
Stairs located at end of hallways, and elevators are hideously slow.
Bistro prices are Courtyard's way of gouging their clientele to pay more for things that are often dispensed freely and cheerfully at Residence or SpringHill Suites.

Bottom Line: You gotta love the elite air of this place, or have endless expense account to enjoy the luxuries this place tacks onto the bill. But, don't plan on any better rest than you would have received at a budget Travelodge (except the flatscreen telly is upgraded at Courtyard).

Room Tip: Avoid unless you cannot get around it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a long drive home & chose to stop overnight to break up the drive. The room was pleasant and comfortable. The service at check in was very helpful and appreciated. The addition of the bistro was welcome so we didn't have to travel far for a traditional breakfast. Price at the bistro was fairly reasonable. Overall, we were comfortable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlake, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Due to electrical repairs taking place on our house, we checked into the Courtyard on a Friday. Originally we had booked for Friday through Sunday. We ended up staying through the following Friday morning.

When we first checked in, I was very impressed. The lobby has a restaurant with a Starbucks. The front desk staff was very nice. We had a King Suite, which was great because we had two separate rooms for my wife, three children, and myself. The pool was heated, which was nice for this time of year, and my kids enjoyed it.

I don't consider myself a hotel snob, so I could care less about the decor, etc. However, after staying for a few days, I noticed there were stains on the bathroom ceiling. Our toilet paper was only replaced twice, causing us to run out on two separate mornings.

Two major issues that cause me to give such a poor rating. First of all, the hot tub in the pool area was broken when we checked in. I asked the front desk manager and was told that engineering was working on it and it should be fixed by the end of the weekend. It was not. On Wednesday, I asked again when the hot tub would be fixed. I was told again that she would check with engineering. When we checked out. the hot tub still was not fixed.

However, my biggest issue came on Thursday morning. Since we did not know when our house would be fixed, each morning I came to the front desk to extend our stay by one additional day. When I first checked in, I used my debit card, which was authorized for almost $900 for a $700 hotel bill. I understand that hotels always authorize more than the actual bill amount, so this was fine. When we woke up Monday morning, a bill was under our door. When I extended our stay on Monday to Tuesday, Tuesday morning my card was authorized for an additional $200. From Tuesday through Thursday morning, I did not get any type of invoice or bill in the morning. When I extended our stay on Thursday morning through Friday, our room keys were renewed and I came back to our room. Five minutes later, I got a call from the front desk saying there was an issue with my debit card.

I went right to the front desk and spent ALMOST AN HOUR trying to sort through my account with the front desk manager. They attempted to bill my debit card for over $1400 without releasing the previous holds of $900 and $200, which caused my card to decline. Even though I get text alerts on my debit card and could see the exact amount and time of every transaction that was authorized, they claimed that they had only authorized my card for $700 total and that I owed an additional $700 right away. I have never been so embarrassed in my life. The desk manager insisted on calling my bank to verify the amounts that were held. I was forced to go get my checkbook out of my car to have her verify the bank account number that was linked to the card.

If the $1100 in authorizations were put through, I would have owed a little over $300 on my balance, INCLUDING the night that we hadn't even stayed yet. I had over $500 in cash on me and was more than willing to pay the difference, even in advance. However, because she refused to put through or release the autorizations for the proper amounts, I had to drive almost an hour each way to my credit union, get out more cash, and wait 5-7 business days for the authorizations to expire off of my card. Rather than putting through the over $1100 that was already authorized to my card, I was treated like a common criminal at the front desk for over an hour. Needless to say, we will be spending the night in a different hotel until our house repairs are complete.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Long story short we chose Courtyard because they offered a free shuttle service for our wedding if we booked 15 rooms. I was hesitate due to the managers lack of reply to email/calls at first, but the comp. for shuttle was a good perk. Our wedding is Oct. 5 and they stopped our block of rooms mid September without advising us first. Luckily I called to reserve more rooms for family members and were told there were no rooms in block, they could not block more rooms for us AND there were no rooms available any longer. So any incoming family/friends who would reserve rooms would not be able to. I talked to Carrie and she advised its standard practice to stop a block 4 weeks out, its in our contract. I asked if she thought to AT LEAST contact us first before freeing the rooms so we can advise how many we'll need. She said, sorry no but if the Radisson can help us we can go there. The Radisson has been more than helpful, responsive, quick and professional so now i have to tell my entire wedding party/guests of the new hotel. I"m completely disappointed. They didn't even offer to check other hotels/help additionally.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland Willoughby, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Beth: We have reviewed your comments with our Sales team. Our Sales team confirmed they had been working on the group with your fiancé who was informed of the group cut-off date. Although we try to accommodate whenever possible, once the cut-off date occurs, it’s imperative that any rooms not booked by the group be released to the public so we can book rooms. The cut-off dates are discussed and signed with each group contract so that it’s very clear from the inception of the contract. We feel confident the dates were discussed as part of the original signed contract. We appreciate your business and regret we were unable to book more rooms for your group once the cut-off dates had passed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Avoid this place unless you enjoy a dirty noisy Frat party feel. I'm currently here about to check out after a 3 night stay with my wife and young sons. Last night there were people running in the hallway drunkenly yelling until 4:30 am. The substandard HVAC system in our room sounds like a door slamming every time it cycles on/off. These 2 put together equal no sleep all night. That is simply not acceptable. I am appalled that management would allow drunks to overtake their small lobby and first floor hallways while they have Marriot Rewards members like us staying at their hotel. I would NEVER stay here again and this hotel has made me rethink my Marriott brand allegiance. And also, they claim to have a Starbucks in their lobby yet they don't know how to make the drinks they charge 5.00$ each for. The management of this hotel needs a major training lesson in hotel service. Should rename this place Motel 6.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland Willoughby, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
ALUMKING,

Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review on TripAdvisor. We certainly value our Marriott Rewards members and appreciate your continued business. I’m sorry that your recent stay with us was an unpleasant one with loud guests and an overworked a/c unit. I will discuss your comments with our staff in our next weekly meeting and emphasize a heightened awareness of guest conduct to eliminate rowdy activity. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I hope to earn your business again and have you come back to stay with us for a more positive experience.

Sincerely,
Chris Cornett, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Recently brought a group to swimmers to a meet in the area and had an incredible experience with all staff members at the Courtyard. Such a rare experience to be able to say ALL staff was friendly, responsive and accommodating to our very odd schedule. Whether we were breakfasting in the main area at 5:30 AM or eating late dinners, the staff was gracious and went out of their way to assist our group. As the majority of our group was teen-aged, we also appreciated the friendliness and understanding of the housekeeping staff who graciously worked around our young athletes and their equipment. Obviously a very well managed property!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland Willoughby, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Carol K,

Thank you for taking a moment and writing about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to have you and your young swimmers staying with us. I’m glad to hear that our staff was not only friendly, but also accommodating to your needs. We welcome you to come and stay with us again the next time you’re in Willoughby.

Sincerely,
Chris Cornett, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland Willoughby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland Willoughby

Address: 35103 Maplegrove Road, Willoughby, OH 44094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Willoughby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Willoughby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland Willoughby 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland Willoughby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Cleveland Willoughby Hotel Willoughby
Courtyard Willoughby
Willoughby Marriott
Willoughby Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Cleveland Willoughby Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Cleveland Willoughby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.