We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxurious, but comfortable and inexpensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby to your Saves list
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35110 Maplegrove Road, Willoughby, OH 44094   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
Alliance, Ohio
1 review
“Not luxurious, but comfortable and inexpensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

One of the 2 beds had some stains on it, which made me slightly eerie. And the carpets didn't look like they'd been vacuumed for about a week. But you do get what you paid for. We chose the bed that seemed cleaner next to the window. Bed was comfortable. Water pressure in the shower was fantastic. Tub was clean. A few cobwebs in upper corners, but nothing that couldn't be lived with. Weird, though, that there was no alarm clock. Had to use my phone for an alarm. Wasn't very quiet, but not the hotel's fault. Other people staying in other rooms were outside yelling like idiots. We were there for a wedding, and if we'd had the money we probably would have stayed somewhere else. But since it was being paid for by a friend, it was a decent stay for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    22
    3
    17
See reviews for
22
17
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Booked for an overnight stay before my sons baseball tournament in Painesville, Ohio. We have stayed at many hotels along the way and this has to be the worst one yet. It is cheap, but its NOT worth the savings in my opinion. The room smelled like a bar, the bed skirts were cheap and torn, the floor is dirty and the arm chair in the room is filthy with visible grease/dirt stains on the arms. Our room was also right next to the door to go outside to the balcony, so of course I hear the door slamming all night as people go in and out. I would NOT stay here again nor recommend it to anyone else. I don't know who is leaving positive reviews but it can't be the same hotel. I am not usually "hard to please" but this place is awful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to the exit doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here for one night before an event in Cleveland. Chose this hotel only because the hotel across the street was booked solid. First impression, walked into the lobby and got hit in the face with the smell of a moldy washer or perhaps sewage. The clerk at the front desk was helpful. The outdoor corridors smelled of urine. The decor was outdated. There were little black hairs ALL over the bathroom. No hair dryer. Get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Simple inexpensive bed for the night. Value price. Room was clean but older. Several restaurant choices around the property. We needed a place to sleep and this was perfect ... motel rooms are for sleeping after a day of hard wildlife photography ... met our needs just fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This property has changed hands many times over the years, most recently having been a Fairfield Inn. So when you check in expecting the typical spartan Motel 6 experience, you will be pleasantly surprised. The rooms are large and nicely decorated, and include a comfy chair and ottoman. Remember, though: It IS a Motel 6, so there is no hairdryer, no coffeemaker, and only the barest minimum of toiletries. There was not even a bedspread, but we were able to go to the office and get a blanket.

The AC worked well, and the bed was good for a Motel 6. The pillows were decent, and you get a fair range of cable TV channels.

I was worried at first because our room was on the top floor right next to the outside door, but it turned out to be very quiet throughout our week-long stay. (The constant hum of the AC/fan helped.)

The price for this facility is always fair and it is conveniently located immediately off of I-90 with easy access to 271 and the Eastern Suburbs. The hotel is nestled among many chain restaurants and gas stations, drug stores and other shopping.

No frills, but a good place to stay if you're in town visiting family and need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed here after a wedding. The place is very average. They don't provide much in amenities, but the price is fantastic if you are looking for a basic and clean room for an affordable price. Manager there was very nice. I'm still not a fan of any establishment using bulletproof glass at any point. I know it is for there safety, but it does not give the feeling of safety or classiness to a customer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at the hotel while visiting for a family wedding--chose this one over the place the wedding party stayed and saved a significant amount of money. But if not for that--and if it had been just a bit less inviting--I'd have opted for the higher priced hotel across the street instead.

Overall this hotel was acceptable--but just barely. It's very old and in need of some serious maintenance. The room was mostly clean--but some things didn't inspire confidence.

When I first walked into the room I considered leaving--it was so clearly bare-bones cheap, and clean enough in the most essential areas, but elsewhere not so much. The carpet was in need of cleaning. I scrutinized the bedding--found a long hair on the sheet, again I almost left. But other than that the sheets were sparkling white, wrinkled but very clean, and the bathroom sink and tub looked clean, so I stayed.

The bed was rather hard, and the blanket the thinnest paper-thiin blanket I've ever seen. I had to turn the heater way up to stay warm enough at night. There was a broken light fixture over the bathroom sink, the TV remote was missing (the desk clerk gave me one when I stopped by to ask), and the chair at the desk was about 12 inches too low (would have been extremely uncomfortable if I'd had to use it for long). The room is very small. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

So...for the money, it's a very basic place to stay. If you're a little fussy, you probably won't be happy. If you do stay, be sure to scrutinize the sleeping and bathing area for cleanliness before you move in.

(I had no interest in using the pool, but it looked awful--not clean at all.)

Room Tip: Might want to avoid rooms adjacent to the highway--could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby

Address: 35110 Maplegrove Road, Willoughby, OH 44094
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Willoughby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby Hotel Willoughby
Motel 6 Willoughby
Fairfield Inn Willoughby
Fairfield Willoughby
Willoughby Motel 6
Willoughby Motel Six
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.