We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yabo's Tacos

Yabo's Tacos
7097 State Route 3, Westerville, OH 43082-8894
614-212-4090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 127 Restaurants in Westerville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Waldo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were truly excited to try out the restaurant but felt it didn't quite live up to its hype. Beers are cheap during happy hour but the food was blah at best. I probably won't be going back cosi seeing the amount of high quality places nearby.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“tastes fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My daughter and I always go here after her gymnastics class next door. I love being able to get ala carte tacos. It all tastes fresh, and they use feta cheese on their tacos which interestingly enough works. Try the pork. Food comes quick. Its a help yourself kind of place, though they will occasionally take away trays and what not if you are finished with them.

There is a kids menu.

The ambiance isn't much. Mexican sports bar vibe I guess. But its a taco joint... what is there really to complain about?

I recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We live near Yabo's and it's always good for a lunch! Yummy Mexican food and small but good atmosphere! A little bit pricey..but not terrible. Def try their salsa!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I Don't Get It!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Yabo's Tacos recently opened a new restaurant location in Upper Arlington. All my friends (classmates from UA High School own the restaurant) have been raving about it. I don't understand what the big deal is. The food was mediocre at best. I tried the chicken quesadilla and was very disappointed. It was a limp (barely grilled) tortilla with plain queso blanco and plain grilled chicken breast. I could not discern ANY seasoning of any type. Also absent were any other ingredients (no onion, no cilantro, nothing). I think there are probably 50 taco trucks in Columbus and I would go to any one of them before I would ever go back to Yabo's Tacos. Either the diners in UA are not very discerning or I am missing something! I hope the investors/owners are keeping their day jobs!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try Something Different Everytime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I love Yabo's! We probably eat there at least twice a month. With all of the options and different combinations-- not sure if you can ever eat the same meal twice. We love that you can order different individual Taco's-- and the Even the Salads are great. I'm on a wrap kick now because I love to put different Yabo hot sauces on levels as I go-- and it's cleaner than a burrito... It's fun to sit at the bar inside and enjoy the $1.00 Retro Beer. We can be very full and have a great buzz for under $30 with tip! Often, we pick-up different things for the family and eat at home. It's right off the Westerville Ohio-Erie Bike trail too for a reward after a ride.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yabo's Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Yabo's Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yabo's Tacos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.