We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Phenomenal Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphin Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Union
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Murphin Ridge Inn
750 Murphin Ridge Road, West Union, OH 45693   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 West Union B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Phenomenal Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Murphin Ridge Inn is the perfect place for a weekend getaway. The country setting immediately puts you at ease, the food is worth writing home about, and the place is clean from top to bottom. I have only stayed in the inn, but I have heard that cabins are just as inviting as the rooms in the inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks so much for the "phenomenal " review. We appreciate the time and kind words. Come back when you need to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
83
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently made our too-many-to-count trip to Murphin Ridge. This is a wonderfully relaxing place--great way to recharge. The rooms and cabins are all comfortable. The restaurant is in the original farmhouse, built in the 1800s. Our meals were delicious, the bed was comfortable, and the time passed all too quickly. We love the fire pit--a warm fire with a gazillion stars for a lovely evening's entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
The stars and the firepit have proven to be high points of the Ridge. Thanks for enjoying your many trips here and Come Back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just spent two nights at the Murphin Ridge Inn. Absolutely fabulous. Quiet nights by the outdoor fire. Bottles of wine. Warm and comfortable bedrooms. Clean, Clean, Clean. Took a walk through the woods. Beautiful wild flowers. Open vistas of green farm land views. Deer. And absolutely the best food I have had in a long time. The chef knows what he his doing with creative, out of the ordinary soups, salads and main dishes. Worth every penny and as good or better that some of Cincinnati's finest restaurants. Service was awesome. Relaxing dinners and great breakfasts. Grounds are immaculate and tranquil. Had common room with TV and fresh cookies. Board games available. Didn't use.

Room Tip: Rooms are all beautifully decorated in Shaker style. No TV or internet. Didn't need it or miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are so happy that you are happy at Murphin. We hope you have a gazillion stays. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just came back from our second stay at Murphin Ridge (for my husband's birthday) - first time was nine years ago. The place is still amazing, very peacefull and tranquill, the best breakfast we've ever had! If you are looking for a peace of mind, then this is the place to go. Service is excellent, very clean and owners are the nicest people.

Room Tip: Get a cabin - it's the best way to soak in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Many thanks, reviews are always welcome. We will pass your kind words on to the staff. Thank you and come back to the Ridge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a B&B in a lovely part of Ohio. The grounds are nice and they have an outdoor pool. The rooms are rather expensive and all you get for your money is breakfast. They serve dinner and you almost have to eat there as there are no other options. After having an expensive dinner that wasn't that great, we bought sandwiches and ate them in our room the next night. We felt that you didn't get much for the money. The soaps and shampoos were small and ordinary and there were no extras i.e places like this usually have an afternoon wine and cheese or tea, or some treat like fresh cookies and iced tea. Anything you wanted you paid for. It wouldn't take much to make this a much better experience for the guests. We went out of our way to get there and wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphininnkeeper, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We take your comments seriously and are sorry that you did not find value in your stay. We might have neglected to point out the One Cup Coffee Maker where there is ice tea, cider etc. and Cookies either in your room or in the Gathering Room. For that we are sorry. Hope you will reconsider and come back to the Ridge. Sherry and Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent one night at the Inn, and after only a few hours exploring the trails we were already talking about making a return trip for the fall! It's a peaceful oasis with incredibly well-maintained grounds, warm hospitality from the owners and staff, delicious food, and it's an easy trip from Dayton. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks so much. Dayton isn't that far away. We know because it was home. Come soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at Murphin Ridge. We stayed in one of the cabins and had a wonderful time. They are very spacious and we loved the whirlpool tub. The grounds are so quiet and tranquil. The perfect place to get away and just relax and enjoy each other. We also enjoyed the pool and hiking trails. The meals for breakfast and dinner were delicious as well! The staff were just amazing - helpful, polite, funny - just a joy to be around! We can not wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Murphin Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphin Ridge Inn

Address: 750 Murphin Ridge Road, West Union, OH 45693
Location: United States > Ohio > West Union
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Union
Also Known As:
Murphin Ridge Hotel West Union
Murphin Ridge Inn West Union, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphin Ridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Murphin Ridge Inn to your Saves list