We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Don't Get It.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Meson

El Meson
903 East Dixie Drive, West Carrollton, OH 45449-1928
(937)859-8229
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dayton, OH
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“I Don't Get It.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I just don't get it. Friends and acquaintances have raved about this place for the past several years. This was our first visit. Maybe it was the build-up we'd been given. Average food, average service. Just because a menu is "unsual", does not make the food all that great. Don't get me wrong - it wasn't bad food, just average. Not exactly rich flavors. The atmosphere was C+ at best. This is NOT an elegant restaurant. Jeans are just fine. If I hadn't known better, I'da' sworn I was in some mid-level Mexican restaurant without the TV's. This is NOT an inexpensive restaurant. A stingy serving of bland "gourmet" fajitas for $23?? Some type of mystery "steak" hidden under chimichurri sauce for $25 with a side of a 1/3 cup mound of yellow rice with some black beans spread around the plate??? Give me a break. From now on, if we're in the mood for Spanish, Latin, Peruvian...or whatevertheheck ethnicity El Meson is trying to pass itself off as, we'll find an El Toro Mexican restaurant and get similar atmosphere, more flavorful food, and more generous servings at a third of the price. We did have very good, fast, attentive/friendly-without-being-overly-familiar service - no problems in that area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    10
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Carrollton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dayton gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is excellent all-around, very unique. The menu has a great variety for vegetarians also

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrific Spanish Flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stopped for lunch on our way home on the I-75 and were truly delighted with El Meson. The food was delicious and the service perfect. My husband had the shrimp and corn soup for starters and I had the black bean soup - both great. Then we opted for the Cuban sandwich that was yummy but we had to take 'doggie bags' as we were sated. I tried the Sangria and just loved it - have only had Sangria once in New Mexico, but this was the best yet.

Charming fun place to visit - would love to stop there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A good kitchen spoiled by bad atmosphere and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I've just returned from a dinner at El Meson. As much as I want to enjoy El Meson, I come away thinking the menu looks better than the meal turns out. Part, maybe most, of the problem is that El Meson can't seem to decide if it's a nice, classy place or a noisy casual place. I ordered the ceviche as a starter and one Peruvian specials (Locro de Pescado) and both were fine. However, the service was quirky and poorly timed -- why have one person take your order and someone completely different deliver it? Simple requests like: "I'll have my glass of wine with my main" or "please bring our dinners together" aren't followed. My wife and I ate almost completely separately. Then, why would any good restaurant seat a couple with reservations next to a noisy table with two sets of parents with two noisy babies? One of the children banged on the table repeatedly and nothing was said. Not by the parents (who were oblivious) nor by the restaurant. Part of the problem is the "back" room. It has always been noisy, even without children. Next time, if there is a next time, I will ask not to be seated there. The food was ok, but I was in no mood to enjoy it. A good kitchen spoiled by bad atmosphere and service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Overall Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have had the pleasure of dining in many places in the world, and can safely say that El Meson, south of Dayton is a wonderful example of world class food and service. I truely feel like the staff are family, and they treat every customer in a similar manner. My family truely enjoys the whole experience and we have brought many friends over the years. Can't wait to go for Easter Sunday Brunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson also viewed

 

Been to El Meson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Meson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.