We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“after several visits....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abruzzi's Cafe 422

Abruzzi's Cafe 422
4422 Youngstown Rd SE, Warren, OH 44484-3396
330-369-2422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 105 Restaurants in Warren
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newton Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“after several visits....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited the Cafe several times. The first visits were great, but we noticed things began to go downhill. The temperature of the food served was just warmed and the service began to slip too. Too bad, it was a nice place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    10
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mostly very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Prices are reasonable. Best rack of lamb anywhere I've had it from Pittsburgh to Cleveland. Service is usually great. The couple things that really rub me the wrong way are sometimes when I'm there, the owner is on his phone talking very loudly and when our plates and silverware don't match. Like I said, overall very good but I hope they fix those couple things. Get the rack of lamb and hot peppers in oil!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Italian meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We met at Abruzzi's for a family Easter dinner. Abruzzi's has a cool facade that makes the building look like a villa in Tuscany that helps make the setting seem authentic. A large portion of the interior of the restaurant is taken up by a bar, with tables for diners set up around it.

The menu has a nice selection. Prices are noticeably reasonable. The portion sizes are also manageable, which is unusual in Italian restaurants. The food was all very good; from a Calamari appetizer to a chicken parmesan entree and a chocolate brownie dessert, it was all quite good. The presentation is rather straightforward and unembellished, and there is nothing about the taste of the food that really "wowed" me, but considering the prices, you should be expecting quality food, not anything spectacular, and that's what you get.

Multiple reviewers have mentioned the poor service and, indeed, the service was extremely slow. The restaurant seemed badly understaffed, and it took over 2 hours from our meal's start to finish. We did have a large party and were not in a hurry, but the restaurant was half-empty and I expected more attentive service under those conditions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What would Ohio be without the good old charm, one of my favorite Places , excellent service and atmosphere

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better off at fast food nearby”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Service was terrible, orders completely wrong, food wait time ridiculous. Owner happy counting his money right in front of you , doesn't care that everything is messed up around him. Go elsewhere

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abruzzi's Cafe 422 also viewed

 

Been to Abruzzi's Cafe 422? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abruzzi's Cafe 422, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.