We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Abruzzi's Cafe 422

Abruzzi's Cafe 422
4422 Youngstown Rd SE, Warren, OH 44484-3396
330-369-2422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 105 Restaurants in Warren
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had reservations for 7P New Years Eve & arrived shortly before. The entrance was packed with no waiting areas & they were 1 hr. behind in seating people. We finally were seated @ 8P. The waiter arrived shortly after informing us all homemade bread was gone & he'd bring pita bread. I heard him tell another couple all they had was Schwebel's & he was sure they didn't want that. When our food arrived & I cut into my salmon it was raw & jelly-like. He returned it to be cooked further & I ate my side of pasta. My husband finished his entire meal before my salmon was brought. I asked for a to-go box & said I was very disappointed. I felt there was no sense in saying anything more as the owner was still running around trying to seat people & the entrance was still packed. We had eaten here many times under the previous owner & had always loved the food & enjoyed the atmosphere. What a disaster!! Sue

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    10
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice decor, disappointing meal.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were a party of 6. Four of us arrived at the time of the reservation and were seated using the reservation name. The other two came 5 minutes later but were told their party had not yet arrived. TWENTY MINUTES LATER I phone my friends to ask about their delay only to discover that the maitre de had goofed. NO attempt on their part to compensate for their mistake.

The dishes were bare bones. Cod was OK, Salmon B- and overdone. The chicken piccata and walnut encrusted chicken looked and tasted better. Sides were disappointing, including the penne marinara which I sent back as undercooked...still no attempt to make it right.

Several people came to the table to ask if everything was OK but when the were told 'no' they made no attempt to fix it. In a small market like Warren, this place may be considered upscale. In a major food market, they would be out of business in a month.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“ALWAYS GOOD FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

this place has great food. a little expensive for my taste but never the less it's a beautiful place.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE CORAL, FL
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“We Miss The Abruzzi Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Cafe 422 has been in Niles longer than me. I can remember as a child we would go to the Cafe422 and it was a special treat. It had to be a special occassion or someones birthday. I remember Bob Abtruzzi coming to your table with his trumpet and playing Happy Birthday. He would then talk to you for a little bit and thank you for coming to see him. The new owner is ok and I was suprized that the food was still so good. I am glad the new ownership kept a lot of stuff the same. I think that if 422 went out of business, so would Niles. Hae LOVED the Chicken Parm forever and ever. I think they already know what I want when I go there as that IS my favorite thing on the menu

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Italian pleasant atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was an adequate restaurant in a fairly depressed area Food was good - calamari, orange roughy, ravioli, eggplant parm, all tasty. Red sauce had a different aftertaste but ok. Service was extremely efficient althogh a little rushed I am not sure if waitress intended to slam everything down on the table, but she did. Otherwise pleasant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abruzzi's Cafe 422 also viewed

 

Been to Abruzzi's Cafe 422? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abruzzi's Cafe 422, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.