We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just an overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Inn and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Inn and Resort to your Saves list
Avalon Inn and Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9519 E. Market St., Warren, OH 44484 (Formerly Magnuson Grand Hotel Warren)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Warren
Austinburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“just an overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

we recently stayed just for one night, last minute trip as we decided we were going to head to Pittsburgh's Riverview casino the next da, and this area is kinda like a mid-way point for us, and we left for Warren pretty late that evening and I think we checked in around 10:30pm. Nice hotel, was quiet, very friendly staff. Despite the fact that there was a reunion going on in one of the ballrooms downstairs, we didn't hear any of it, it seems the rooms are mostly set away from all of the activity which was great.

Room was comfortable, relatively clean, however the toilet looked like it could have used a good cleaning there seemed to be black mold forming in the bowl at the water line, and one of our bath towels had what appeared to be dirt on it as if someone had stepped on it with their shoe or boot. Weird. Bathroom sink had NO water pressure just a trickle of water, but the shower was fine. Didn't complain to front desk about it since we were only staying one night.

Check out is blissfully at noon so no rushing around if you feel like sleeping in a bit. Breakfast was good, but the bacon seemed more like thinly-sliced strips of "paper bacon" and only resembled bacon in that it kinda *looked* like bacon but certainly didn't taste like it.

No serious complaints, I would stay there again if we decided to do another last-minute get-out-of-town trip.

Golfers will love this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Avalon Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Since your stay, we have fixed the water pressure so thank you for bringing it to our attention. You are right when you say that golfers will love our hotel, not only because of our great value and excellent accommodations, but also because of the proximity to so many top notch golf courses including the one in our backyard, Avalon Lakes. We look forward to your next stay with us and I personally would like to hear your feedback when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    5
    5
    15
See reviews for
25
23
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Struthers, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The service was fantastic. The bathroom layout was a bit strange. We had the Westminster Suite, and the bathroom TV is above one of the two sinks, so we both hit our heads on it. The shower was little more than a standup coffin...shower space was sacrificed for the the Jacuzzi in the bathroom. But outside of those few problems the room was nice and the staff was attentive. I've stayed in worse places.

The Chop House restaurant, on property...just a few yards from the hotel, has wonderful steaks and alcoholic beverages.

Room Tip: The suite was large and had all the amenities...couch, table, fridge, coffee maker, microwave, jacuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Avalon Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
So glad you found our service to be fantastic! It is great to have an upscale restaurant ( The Chophouse) with affordable prices right on the same property so you do not need a car, you can just walk and have a nice dinner. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed three nights at this hotel and wish we could have stayed longer. Warren, OH is such a nice town and this hotel is definitely the place to stay. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained and the property is absolutely gorgeous, with a golf course on the property. The entire staff was extremely cordial and attentive to our needs and we must thank Cindy the General Manager, Faye and Steven for making our stay so wonderful. During the three days we stayed there we felt like we had known the staff for years--that's how friendly they are! The rates are very reasonable and a delicious breakfast is included. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is only an hour away and there are many nice restaurants in the area. I plan on going back to Warren, OH and staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Avalon Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be extremely friendly. Our property is uniquely gorgeous because it is located on a golf course with serene surroundings in a country setting. You can walk next door to the Chophouse Restaurant for a relaxing dinner or visit the Rig Sports Bar on the other side of the hotel with both being just a short stroll across our parking lot. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The staff was excellant and the accomadations very nice.
The hotel was very clean and the beds comfortable. The staff went out of their way to meet our needs. We are gong to stay here on our return trip and would recomment this hotel to others.
The hotel is on a gold course and the view is very nice. We ate breakfast, which was delicious on the patio overlooking the golf course.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Avalon Inn and Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
On behalf of our staff, thank you for the kind words. We are glad to hear you will recommend our Hotel to your friends. The view from our patio is spectacular and I am glad you enjoyed eating your breakfast there. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Quite by happy accident a business trip tossed me to Warren, Ohio and into the warm "Old World" arms of the Magnuson Grand Hotel Warren. There I was treated like a VIP from the first to the last of my 20 days there.The hotel invoked a kind of 1950's nostalgia complete with a massive 24/7 -always lit- fireplace in the lobby. Great food too, tailored to our specific business.
There was never NOT a smile on the faces of the 30 plus staff. They bent over backwards despite the fact that I was an around the clock pest with endless demands for faxes, copies, extra copies...etc. But the staff never blinked. Never missed a beat. To top it off the hotel offers their own inexpensive limousine service to nearby airports to include Cleveland and Pittsburg. Behind the scenes there was the ever present, ever caring, General Manager Cindy Boren.
Can't say enough. Of course I'll return but next time, with my wife, for a pleasure trip.
Joe/Columbus... Portland, OR

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Avalon Inn and Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are looking forward to your return and treating you like a VIP again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a pleasant surprise when we arrived at this hotel. The hotel is old but very well maintained. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and large. The bathroom was spotless and lacked nothing. The breakfast was much more than a continental breakfast. Actually HOT items. It was very good. There is a kind of a cozy comfortable feel overall. There is a sweet, large fireplace in the lobby that is very inviting. So much so that the first thing i did after arriving was to pour myself a glass of wine and sit and relax next to it. . Just perfect after our 9 hr ride to OHIO. I plan to return absolutely next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor viewing front. windows open (i like that) . But no ice machines on tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Avalon Inn and Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are glad to hear that you felt cozy and comfortable during your stay. It is your "home away from home" and we look forward to your return. Please know we have ice machines on each floor. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomdale, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My exerience at the Magnuson Grand Hotel is excellent. The hotel reminds me something from the early 50's. The staff was very friendly and charming. They actually called my room after I checked in to make sure my accomandations where acceptable and asked if I needed anything. The room was nice and very clean. Bathroom was older, however; it had newer fixtures. The shower water was hot. The breakfast was very good. Several hot items to choose from. The eating area is an old bar, which really brings in the old time feel. I looked around the hotel and discovered several meeting rooms and Grand Ballroom. This place is like stepping back in time, however; with modern ammenties. Located right next door is a wonderful restaurant. I spoke with the owner, who was just a gem. The location is perfect with a view of the golf course. Sevice was very good and the food was excellent. Prices were within reason.
Overall, I cannot say enough goods things about the Magnuson Hotel. While it surely isn't brand new and have all the latest bells and whistles, this Hotel is one you have visit when staying in the area. I'm making plans to return so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThomson53, Manager at Avalon Inn and Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Rick L.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive, detailed reveiw of our property. I think you really captured the personality and charm of our property and it's very gratifying to read such thoughtful comments.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your return!

Warm regards,
Cindy Boren
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Inn and Resort

Address: 9519 E. Market St., Warren, OH 44484 (Formerly Magnuson Grand Hotel Warren)
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Inn and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Resort and Spa is under renovation through October 2015 as they prepare to add their Spa. They are central to six local golf courses, this 100 percent smoke Avalon Resort and Spa is minutes from both the old and the new Avalon Lakes Golf Course. Be sure to check out our special packages that are available. Also nearby the Butler Institute of Art, Price Field, Mosquito Lake State Park and the National Packard Museum. Guests will enjoy a quiet stay including a hot breakfast, complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel, fitness facility, meeting space accommodating up to 400 people, business center, and PETS ARE ACCEPTED BUT YOU MUST CONTACT THE HOTEL FIRST. This hotel does not accept CASH. Valid Credit Card is required at the time of check in or the reservation will be cancelled. Don't forget to try the local cuisine at the Chophouse Restaurant, located within walking distance to the hotel. THIS HOTEL DOES NOT HAVE ELEVATORS. Elegant, spacious, unique rooms feature complimentary wireless internet access, expanded cable TV, in-room coffee, alarm clock / radio, free local calls, hairdryer, mini-fridge, and iron - board. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Avalon Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Inn And Resort Warren, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.