We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not Amish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carlisle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walnut Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlisle Inn
Save
You added Carlisle Inn to your Saves list
4949 Walnut Street (SR 515), Walnut Creek, OH 44687   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Dinner is on Us!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Carlisle, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ok, but not Amish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nice room. A little pricey. When I went to checkout, the figure they presented on the credit card slip was too high. I pointed that out and they disagreed with me, quoting what I had purchased but not what the amount was for each. After signing the credit card slip, they printed out a receipt that showed the incorrect charges and where they had overcharged me. I pointed their error out and they agreed that I was correct. I felt the staff should have shown a better attitude before I had to find their error. It is in Amish country, but definitely not Amish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSHaun, General Manager at Carlisle Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

We want to thank you for taking the time to review our fine Inn. We also appreciate the
feedback. It is our goal and genuine desire to exceed our Guest's expectations.
We will work to improve our communications and billing process.
Thank you for visiting the Carlisle Inn and we hope that you'll give us another opportunity
to provide you with a stay that is characterized by excellence and 'peace and comfort'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    25
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
66
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were a bit apprehensive about our reservation, as the only room available was a 1 queen smaller room. It was perfect! Very cozy with a large bathroom and a private balcony. The balcony overlooked the Amish countryside, and occasionally, a horse and buggy would drive by. The room was spotless and the breakfast was delicious in a pretty breakfast room. There were also snacks (awesome cookies, popcorn and ice tea) in the evening. Next door to Amish restaurant and across the street from shops. They even offered buggy rides. It was a great place to stay in the area--and the price was right!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel along with his family for a total of 4 rooms. Each room was different in their decor and each had so much character. We stayed for 2 nights We were on the second floor where they have the breakfast room. They actually have 2 rooms to sit in. So there was plenty of room for everyone at breakfast. The breakfast was the basic continental breakfast but it was good and fresh. We had lunch and dinner at their restaurant that is within walking distance. The food was incrediably great. So easy to over eat. I would definitely come back here to stay. Oh, and the staff was excellent, very polite and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Carlisle Inn in Walnut Creek Amish Country, OH and loved it. We upgraded to what I think they called a business suite. Great room, very large, clean with a small balcony overlooking the rolling farm hills. It was close to all we wanted to see and do in the area. Certainly will come back if we're looking to stay in a hotel facility versus a B&B or cabin.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a large suite with a view of the countryside (rear).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Carlisle Inn is truly a wonderful and luxurious hotel set in the amazing Amish community.
Quality is excellent.Service is tops.Clean and comfortable. Nice rooms with balconies facing the beautiful rolling hills and farmlands. Swimming pool clean. Well landscaped with beautiful flowers.
Close to all the local dutch gift shops,markets,cheese factories,animalparks and collectible shops.
Rooms are beautiful and well decorated. Huge lobby with chandelieres and winding staircase leading to a 2nd floor breakfast area. The comlimentary breakfast is huge and tastes great. Large den withj fireplace and comfortable couches with library full of books to read. At 129.00 per night for 2 nights....we couldn't have asdked for better.
Great escape for the whole family.
We will be going back often.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Va
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed there. Nothing bad to report ALL GOOD. In fact it was better than the "GRAND HOTEL" on Macinac Island , MI.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Overnight stay in Amish country. Near popular restaurant. Quiet with porch overlooking farm lands. You can book a buggy ride at the hotel. Tea and cookies for snack. Morning breakfast included fresh baked cinnamon rolls from the bakery next door

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlisle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Inn

Address: 4949 Walnut Street (SR 515), Walnut Creek, OH 44687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally called Carlisle Village Inn, our hotel at Walnut Creek affords our fine Guests an exceptional view of local, Amish farmsteads in the Genza Bottom Valley to the north and Mudd Valley to the south. We've recently added beautiful quilts in every room, including hand-stitched Amish made quilts in our king suites. Our newest addition is a fitness room with a view of the valley. We are happy to provide in-room Starbucks coffee and spa-quality amenities by Gilchrist & Soames. Carlisle Inn Walnut Creek is conveniently located in the charming town of Walnut Creek, Ohio. Delicious Amish kitchen cooking and unique shopping experiences are within walking distance. Walnut Creek is central to the finest attractions in Ohio's Amish Country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlisle Hotel Walnut Creek
Carlisle Inn Walnut Creek, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlisle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.