We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra Modern in Amish Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wallhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Wallhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Wallhouse Hotel
2870 Cove Lane, Walnut Creek, OH 44687   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fan Special
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Oregon, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ultra Modern in Amish Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is centrally located and very easy to access. I was surprised at how modern the hotel was and had not stayed in one similar. The colors are very bold but attractive.The furniture is not my taste and would be a problem for people who have trouble getting up from a low position. My four knee surgeries put me in this category. The bed is very comfortable and the pillows too. The view is beautiful. You will not find a better breakfast! Most of the rooms do not have a bathtub, but the shower is very nice. There are no table lamps and only overhead lights. We went for a morning walk in the farm land behind the hotel. It is quite hilly but a beautiful view. We also met a lovely Amish woman on our walk who told us a lot about the area. I didn't get a chance to look at the pool area but my friend used the fitness room and she indicated it served it's purpose. One of my friends lost a valuable necklace while there and was quite upset. An hour after we checked out, the hotel called and said they had located it which saved the day.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back of the hotel for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
46
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel was nothing like you'd expect in Walnut Creek. It's beautiful, modern and all of the website pictures are exactly what it looks like; no surprises. Lots of room and very clean. The breakfast was great! There were only two things that I wish had been different, but wouldn't stop me from staying there again. One, all of the lighting in our room was from the ceiling; no small lamp anywhere. That was kind of weird when laying in the evening and trying to watch tv because the lights would glare into the tv and were too bright. The other was there is only one nightstand that had a phone, alarm clock and pen and paper on it. I had a place to sit a drink, but my husband didn't. We did see that there were stacked side tables, so we assumed we could just used one of those and it was fine. All in all, it was really nice and a beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T, Director of Operations at The Wallhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for taking your time and giving us a wonderful review. We're glad you enjoyed the Wallhouse Hotel and greatly appreciate the comments/ideas on what we can do to make your stay 100% perfect. Our desire is for you to be comfortable and enjoy our amenities while you experience Amish Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed everything about this hotel. Very clean, very beautiful, in a great location and very pretty views. Staff was great. The hotel was very different from the rest, very modern and refreshing. The pool area was great and the fire pit was neat.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

On our way to Berlin Ohio we saw this hotel and stopped to see if rooms were available. Got one on the 5 th floor with a balcony. It turned out to be a wonderful place to stay - friendly staff, great free breakfast, large rooms and a wonderful manager that stopped by the pool and visited with us - making sure everything was ok. To us this is a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T, Director of Operations at The Wallhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for taking your time in giving us such a splendid review. Knowing our guests have a wonderful experience with us puts a spring in our step. Love the 5 star rating! Have a great summer and thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getzville, Ny
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

What a wonderful experience! We were awed the moment we drove into the parking lot, only to be amazed when we entered the lobby. It's spectacular! The staff acted like they were waiting for us and welcomed us with open arms. Our jaws dropped when we entered our room. It surpassed anything we could hope for. The beds were like clouds. The AC unit was in the wall and was quiet and kept the room comfortable. This location is perfect because it's near the attractions of Berlin but far enough away from the traffic that can back up from time to time. The staff was so friendly, that they loaned us an umbrella when we went out for dinner during a rainstorm. We loved everything and didn't want to leave. We'll just have to return.

Room Tip: The beds are on a platform rather than a box spring. If you are klutzy like me, be careful because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Wallhouse while on our way back from our Family reunion in Florid a. My husband and I visit the Walnut Creek/Sugarcreek area 3-5 times a year; usually staying at one of the areas Bed and Breakfasts. But since we had our 3 year old we decided a hotel was a better choice. We were amazed at the quality of every surface. The juxtaposition of modern décor against the perfectly situated hills creates a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Our daughter loved swimming in the pool which was literally the cleanest hotel pool we have ever been in. We were very impressed with the complimentary washer and dryer available to guests. Our room was wonderful. Our toddler had space to spread out; we enjoyed having a table to eat our pizza from Park Street Pizza. The bathroom was amazing!!! The shower was huge!! The beds were extremely comfortable. We also enjoyed the Wallhouse Coffee (It's our favorite coffee shop...go visit them in Sugarcreek!) and my daughter was thrilled by the milk bar. Breakfast was excellent and very comparable to the hot breakfast at any bed and breakfast. The staff, from the person checking you in to the person cleaning your room is always smiling and always willing to help. We have found our new place to stay!

Room Tip: Corner Rooms offer the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

One of the cleanest places that my husband and I have ever stayed. The décor was modern and the room was very spacious, with microwave, fridge, coffee pot, and dining table. They offer exercise room, pool, fire pit in the evening and a continental breakfast in the morning. It was close to shops, theaters, restaurants, etc. The staff was excellent. Truly a "GREAT PLACE TO STAY'.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T, Director of Operations at The Wallhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your time in giving us a wonderful review. We're glad you enjoyed everything from the clean-spacious room, room amenities, fitness room, fire pits, breakfast, and location to our courteous staff. Thank you for staying with us at the Wallhouse Hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wallhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallhouse Hotel

Address: 2870 Cove Lane, Walnut Creek, OH 44687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque backdrop of Walnut Creek, Ohio, The Wallhouse Hotel is an upscale, modern-style hotel with a crisp, refreshing decor. Our commitment is to offer a hotel that you’ll want to return to again and again by providing immaculate rooms, engaging spaces, and unmatched personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Wallhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallhouse Hotel Walnut Creek, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wallhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.