We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique getaway in a world of sameness.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At Versailles

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Versailles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn At Versailles
Save
You added The Inn At Versailles to your Saves list
21 W. Main Street, Versailles, OH 45380   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Versailles B&B and Inns
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A unique getaway in a world of sameness.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The Inn at Versailles is more than a pleasant surprise, it's an antidote to all of the cookie cutter hotels. Situated on a corner of "Rue de Main" (Main Street) this inn is part bed and breakfast and part chateau away from home. Each room has unique decor and some even have whirlpool tubs and fireplaces (though the fireplaces are not heat producing, the "rolling, faux flame" is a nice touch in the evening.)

Chandeliers, four poster beds, marble topped chess tables and faux finished walls make for an enjoyable space that is more expected in Europe than the middle of Ohio. All of the staff was delightful and friendly; try to be there on a Monday, when Judy works her only day; she is a gem!

There is a very good restaurant at the Inn and there is a light breakfast available in the back kitchen (behind the family room) in the mornings.

In the morning, make sure to inhale the "country air" of the surrounding farms, take a walk down the block to the Sweet Shop and Bakery and immerse yourself in true America, with the Inn adding a touch of Europe.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different so check the website first to select one that suits your design sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
29
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Went to this Inn for our honeymoon. Arrived on time, checked in was told checkout was 11am. We told them that our parents reserved this room for us and we were to have an extended stay until 5pm. They told us an extended stay was only until noon. ??? We said no it had been arranged for us to stay later. They said we leave by noon. We are awaken the next morning at 11am by the housekeeper banging on our door wanting to know when we are getting out.??? We get up and get our things together and go down to the desk at 12:01 to find no one around. I ring bell, we look around for someone, I end up calling the hotel number and a message says that the hotel desk is unattended after 11am on Sundays??? Finally I call back and press one for the manager and get someone who says just leave the key lay. THIS IS A MOTEL with an unattended desk for their customers, Staff that tells you what ever you want to hear but doesn't follow through with it. Housekeeping that practically throws you out of the place. Service sucked!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The hotel markets itself as a "weekend getaway,romantic romp"type property.
It's nice enough in that respect. It's got a boutique feel to it...not a chain feel.

Check in was fine. Although secure your plans....they don't want you to cancel your reservation and have a strict cancellation policy due to the nature of their business.

I was traveling alone thru town not romping by any means but opted to stay here rather than in Greenville because I wanted to try the restaurant adjoining the hotel but I ate way too much at the County fair earlier in the day and only had a salad (which was among the worst salads if ever had..) and was heading north the next morning from Greenville and logistically this seemed like a fair bet..

The staircases from the parking lot and from the street to the east are steep little buggers, so if you've got difficulty with stairs or heart conditions pack some "nitro" along with that little blue pill you might be carrying. A tank of O2 wouldn't be a bad idea either. Most of you aren't bringing alot of luggage for a two night stay, if you are I suggest employing a sherpa.

There is no elevator and all rooms are second floor.

The rooms are very well appointed for the price.
I stayed in surprisingly windowless, wireless less room 120 which isn't really a problem because for "many" patrons the view out the window isn't what they're here for,and for the most part you're on a get away so Wi-Fi in the room isn't a big deal either. (since you should be paying attention to your significant other , not your communication device).

If you're righting a book or studying for a bar exam this room would be ideal.

The hotel does provide an ethernet cable for devices equipped with that plug if you need to go online in your room , and Wi FI is available in the common areas and maybe even in some rooms near the gateway devices. But by looking at the way that cord was all tangled up in one of the drawers of the desk....my suspicion is that it may have been used for other purposes. I 75's a long way away so someone may have improvised..

Another drawer contained two pair of packaged earplugs....Since I couldn't really hear the trains and truck traffic (this room is buried in the bowls of the building) it might be to shield oneself from the possible "noises" coming from the adjoining rooms. The vibrations from the trains are slight but you might feel the truck traffic vibrations if you're taking a break and the room is quiet enough....although I wasn't able to hear any external noises to any annoying extent..

The hotel upper area as a whole was quiet , but I wasn't there on the weekend so it wasn't too busy and your experience may vary.

120 is set up sort of on the contemporary side, it has an adjoining door with some other room, but because there are no windows...it gives the impression of being locked in a cell, (den like , I think it's described) so it's not for the folks out there who suffer from claustraphobia (get a different room). And it's very very very very very very dark....with the lights out...very dark.....you'll see the green led light from the smoke detector casting a circle on the floor near the door, you will see the bose radio clock, and the microwave clock...and that's it...so if you have to find your way to the bathroom in the middle of the night...IT's really really dark (darkroom dark, can't see your hand infront of your face dark) so...maybe leave a light on in the bathroom and close the door.,or shuffle to the bathroom.

The room has a Bose wave radio, a 37 inch LG flat panel tv and a pod style coffee maker, the bathroom is shower only but certainly spacious enough for two and yes the soaps are worth taking back home. The rooms have a mini fridge and micro and lots of information on Darke County's own Annie Oakley to read while someone's primping for dinner or to keep yourself otherwise occupied while sitting down someplace. But NO information on the hotel itself or the restaurant downstairs and no info typical to a hotel, places of worship or town information etc. The phone book does contain the restaurant menu. Find your fire exits now and 120 only has one way out, but it does have two sprinkler heads (and that town's got an impressive fire department for it's size).

The staff is friendly enough (the morning staff was quite nice), breakfast was mostly pastry,bagel,em,cereal, coffee, juice, no waffler and a few apples kicking about, the area where breakfast is presented downstairs has a microwave, toaster and even an electric stove. Juice and milk butter and cream cheese are in the fridge along with a large amount of styrophome carry out containers all nicely labeled. (So don't eat anyone's lunch). Cups and plates are in the cabinets. The room leading to that breakfasting room (left of the lobby) smells like a cat's been doing some business in there.. but I didn't see any cat wandering about., nor did I see any mouses..so maybe they do have a cat and a fine job it's doing only marking in one spot while keeping vermin at bay..

Versailles itself is a very small town.....so don't expect a huge amount of entertainment options ; be prepared to bring your own and come equipped for that purpose, especially if you arrive after 5 when the town and it's drug store rolls up it's sidewalks... Greenville is 20 minutes out.

They've got a small bakery closed at 2? (but popular with the locals) and a coffee shop that had almost no business,closed very early and a bar that serves breakfast had about 10 people in it at 6:30 A.M. the ice cream joint down the street a bit serves soft serve , not hard packed. Most businesses were closed on the monday I stayed either as a part of their normal course of doing business or because" The Great Darke County fair" was on in Greenville and they were presenting their wares at the fairgrounds and couldn't be in two places at once. It is a nice fair and the cattlemen sell ribeye sandwiches next to the arena showing prized steer, so you can see a before and after picture of agribusiness, one still walking ,one sizzling away in peices on a very large grill and quite tasty as a ribeye should be..

All in all this boutique hotel would certainly work for it's marketed purpose and for a business traveler just wishing to sleep it works for that too, prices are about the same as in Greenville for a similar sized room.(without hot items on the breakfast table)..but get pricier the more stylish and romantically appointed the room becomes. $89-200 givertake.

IF you have trouble with stairs? Go to Greenville and the HIexpress or the comfort inn and just keep the noise down, neither one of those present themselves as a romantic getaway and it shows.

Room Tip: No windows in 120, no wifi neither.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huber heights oh
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We were most pleased with every aspect of the Inn! Accomodations, service, decor, cleanliness and our entire experience was exceptional! We had a most enjoyable visit in every respect. We'll most definitely return!

Room Tip: Our room (#105) was incredible! Accouterments were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Inn at Versailles was a great place to get away from the city for a night and relax. The hotel is decorated beautifully and the rooms were very clean and had plenty of amenities. The staff was great as well and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Take advantage of the sweetheart package and eat at Michael Anthony's at The Inn. The food and atmosphere were both great. I would recommend The Inn at Versailles to anyone looking for small town charm and a nice weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I found The Inn at Versailles to be a luxurious get away in a beautiful small town. I enjoyed a beautiful bright room with a fabulous bathroom that included a jacuzzi tub. I was traveling with a travel group, Weekend ReTweat. Our rooms were uniquely decorated with wonderful bathrooms. We also enjoyed hanging out in a meeting room that felt like a living room with a wet bar.

The staff is friendly and welcoming. The Inn is immaculately kept. The room comes with a a continental breakfast. There are packages you can purchase that includes dinner at Michael Anthony's.

No stay at the Inn at Versailles is complete without a dinner at Michael Anthony's. The food is world class, made with fresh ingredients from Sycamore Bridge Farms. Each course was a culinary treat! Eric Loy, a guitar harpist performed the night we dined. We all had such a great time!

I can imagine returning with my husband for a romantic get away. The Inn at Versailles is perfect for corporate retreats and wedding parties. I highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

A wonderful getaway with my husband. Rooms that are charming and romantic with a fireplace and whirlpool tub. The town that this hotel is in is a charming small midwestern town. The downtown (unlike many small towns due to the recession) was beautiful. They had white lights on all of the trees down the streets of downtown. Wonderful dinner with many choices and a fine wine list.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn At Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Versailles

Address: 21 W. Main Street, Versailles, OH 45380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Versailles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Versailles is located in the west central Ohio, Darke County village of Versailles. We have twenty recently remodeled rooms on the second floor of several downtown buildings. All accommodations have private baths, Cable TV, local phones, and wireless internet connections as well as complimentary continental breakfast. Some rooms have fireplaces and Jacuzzi’s; all rooms have either a King or Queen size bed. No two rooms are alike. You'll never believe the hidden treasure of a get-a-way that you've discovered! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Versailles Hotel Versailles
The Inn At Versailles Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn At Versailles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.