We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience This Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Francois Restaurant

Chez Francois Restaurant
555 Main St, Vermilion, OH 44089-4001
440-967-0630
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Francois Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Vermilion
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ferry St.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Experience This Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal here, from enjoying the ambiance, the service, and especially the food. We had salmon and snapper, both prepared in ways unfamiliarity to us, both scrumptious. Visits by the owner were an extra bene. Anyone who loves good food and a good dining experience should find their way to Vermilon Ohio and Chez Francois!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    19
    9
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The food and service was excellent. Server was very helpful with recommendations. The atmosphere is great for a special occasion. We dined inside but you could still see the activity on the lake. The owner even stopped over to chat with us make sure everything was satisfactory.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We entertained some friends for a wonderful dinner at Chez's outside patio. The service, menu , wine list and food were fantastic. Great restaurant for a special occasion... We will be back..

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“About as good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We came to Vermilion on our sailboat and tied up along the Vermilion River. On the second evening we (my wife and me and our 17yo grandson) walked the half mile to Chez Francois just down the river. We had made reservations for their less formal Riverfront Cafe on a deck overlooking the Vermilion River - comfortable in shorts and shirtsleeves. The drinks, food, and service was great and when a 17 yo sits through a several hour meal, enjoys himself, does not inhale his food, does not touch his cell phone and talks to friends and family for days afterward about his wonderful gastronomic experience, you know the restaurant is a winner. We had a fun conversation about the cost of the dinner and how we could buy one of the great houses across the river. After dinner there was a light rain falling and with the restaurant’s help we caught a water taxi back to our boat. This is our 4th visit to Chez Francois in the past 13 years (all by boat) with similar results. Expensive, yes; worth it, yes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Chez Francios has been my "special occasion" restaurant for a few years, mostly for my birthday. I am glad to say that, to keep me coming back, it has been pretty exceptional; this time it was not. We sat outside this time; a much less formal atmosphere than inside. We liked it, though; a beautiful setting. The service was OK, the counterpart to our main watress was robotic and seemed affected. My father and I both had the soft shelled crab appetizer; the crabs were tiny and soggy. The little micro-green garnish was withered to an indistinguishable blob. We were not asked how the appetizers were; I told the waiter when he came to clear that they were not good. The main courses were OK; my rack of lamb was of exceptional quality and cooked to the perfect temperature. My criticism is that the dish was bland.
My companions both had veal dishes of different preparations; they said their dishes were not refined and were OK. Certainly not of the standard we have come to expect. All in all, a very disappointing experience and probably will stay on the east side of cleveland from now on.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Francois Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chez Francois Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Francois Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.