We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Vermillion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Vermillion to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2417 State Rt. 60, Vermilion, OH 44089   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vaudreuil-Dorion
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is the third year in a row staying here. The rooms are clean, hotel staff has always been helpful and inviting. The buffet breakfast is great, hot/cold, an advantage when feeding hungry teenagers. For a single mother travelling with female teenagers, we feel very safe here. It is only 25 mins from Cedar Point.
I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
38
22
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Roads, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

My husband and our 9 yr old lab spent the night at this hotel on a road trip from Virginia. The staff was extremely nice. Told us where to find dinner including directions and restaurant hours. They made us all (including our lab) very welcomed. The hotel had lots of green areas to walk our dog. The room was exceptionally clean. The hotel is ideally located to the quaint town of Vermilion, the Paper Moon Winery, and a really cool garden center, which had a large selection of cement garden statuary.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Always happy staying here - great value and the breakfast is great

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

Arrived without reservation. Asked for availability and was told that there was only one room available. The vast parking lot was almost empty, and this is a fairly large hotel. After we booked the room, we overheard the desk telling someone else that there was only one room available. Also, the price quoted before reservation was different from the price charged afterwards -- the price charged afterwards was higher. These people are clearly telling lies to weary travelers about the room availability, so they can quote whatever price they want and then charge whatever price they want. FTC should investigate.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

When my family travels it is usually road trips. We try to stay in Holiday Inn Express(es) because we have had mostly postive experiences with them. Unfortunately, this is not one of the good ones. I am honestly surprised by all of the positive reviews.

This is a somewhat older hotel building, which means things are kind of worn. That is not usually something that bothers me as long as things are clean. This is not a clean hotel. The linens, carpeting, drapes are due for a change. The bathroom needs a really good cleaning. And the worst of it was the smell. We specifically requested a non-smoking room, but our room smelled HORRIBLY of smoke! I immediately contacted the front desk to ask for another room and was told there were none available. I was offered some industrial strength room deodorizer instead. I sprayed the room myself, and I'm still not sure if that made it better or worse. Although, the woman at the front desk was polite, she was unsympathetic.

My children did use the pool which was decent. It was clean, but like most hotel pools, it was very chlorinated. It burned your eyes just to be in there. Not unusual, just thought I would mention it.

The breakfast was good. Your standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast which we have always been pleased with in the past.

My best tip is to try to find the newest hotel, or most recently rehabbed hotel, you can find in your price range. That way your are guaranteed fresh and clean. It's not always possible, but you should always ask those questions.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I am just giving this hotel an average review, because honestly I didn't use any part of the hotel besides my room. We stayed here after a day at Cedar Point and crashed when we arrived. The next day we visited Vermilion which was a really nice little town. We also went to Nickle Plate beach and spent several hours before heading back to Michigan. All in all a nice hotel, with friendly service. The room was quite muggy, and the beds were not the most comfortable ( I prefer the Marriott bed).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Hotel was okay. Great location for Cedar Point. Rooms small. Only put out two towels. Breakfast was below average. Very small eating area. Felt like you were sitting in the aisle of the main entrance. If I'd paid a bit less, I would have felt better about the stay. Just feel like we've had better value at competing hotel chains.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Vermillion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Vermillion

Address: 2417 State Rt. 60, Vermilion, OH 44089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Vermilion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Vermillion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is centrally located between Greater Cleveland & Cedar Point Amusement Park, Sandusky, OH. Our Vermilion, Ohio location provides a great starting point for attractions in either direction! We are just 20 miles from Cedar Point but worlds away from congestion & traffic. Experience the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion featuring friendly, personalized service along with the benefits of: free Express Start breakfast bar; free local telephone calls; free high speed Internet access; and IHG Rewards Club Points. Vermilion is A Small Town On A Great Lake; a quaint & historic small town located on Lake Erie. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is near Vermilion's many charms: public beaches, unique shopping (antiques, galleries, collectibles, handcrafted candies and candles), many dining options, river cruises, fishing & numerous festivals & special events year-round! SPECIAL EVENTS: Festival of the Fish, Father's Day Wknd; Woollybear Festival, Fall; Christmas Holidays RESTAURANTS: Chez Francois, that french restaurant on the river; Quaker Steak & Lube on the River LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: Lake Erie; Schoepfle Garden; The Holiday Inn Express Vermilion features a number of room types to fit your business or leisure travel needs as well as an indoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Vermillion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Hotel Vermilion
Holiday Inn Express Vermilion
Holiday Inn Vermilion
Vermilion Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Ohio/Vermilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.