We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Comfortable and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Vermillion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Vermillion to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2417 State Rt. 60, Vermilion, OH 44089   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Comfortable and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

So pleased with the friendly service, nice clean rooms with thick fluffy towels good quality linens and good water pressure AND a great free breakfast. These are the little things that make me really enjoy my stay and relax, not just sleep somewhere.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
37
22
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Typical Holiday Inn Express, Comfortable room, great location and attentive staff. Desk staff provided excellent dining recommendations, local maps and places of interest. In hotel breakfast made an early departure easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed here for two nights while on a bicycle tour. On the first day, I had driven directly to the hotel since it was raining, arriving at 11AM -- long before the official 3PM check-in time. Not only that, but the hotel had been full the night before and I was certainly not expecting to be able to get a room. So I was pleasantly surprised when the desk clerk managed to get me into one of the first rooms that was ready, which was right about noon. So I was already impressed.

The room was spotlessly clean and neat and had a strong Wifi signal (although some others reported weak signals in their rooms). The breakfasts were very good and featured the first automatic pancake maker that I've seen instead of the common (but messy) flip-over waffle maker.

The staff were all friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

When visiting family, we generally stay here for a week a few times a year and get to see the hotel from many sides. The rooms are simple and do not have a refrigerator or microwave and have only 2 drawers in the dresser. The bedroom, bathroom and grounds are very clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast is hit and miss: one morning the coffee was watery, the next the OJ was all water, next the biscuits are concrete, and then there is no half and half. What really disturbs me is the staff hiding out of site of the front desk complaining about things in the hotel. They also have trouble identifying who is smoking in the rooms in a non-smoking hotel - possibly because all of the housekeepers and the manager or owner smoke themselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear traceyb161,

Thank you for choosing us again and taking the time to review our hotel. I'm delighted that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to our room accommodations and hotel staff. However, it is regrettable that our breakfast offered fell short of your standards. I would like to assure you that your comments, including the incident with our non-smoking rooms, are taken into serious account as we are continuously looking for ways to provide our guests with comfortable and satisfying stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back and have the chance to give you a great hotel experience.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently stayed here to attend a wedding of friends in the area. The reservation experience was confusing. 6 different confirmation numbers for 2 rooms/2 nights. We had to recheck in on the second day. The explanation made no more sense than having to recheck in and get new keys made for the same rooms we our belongings were in. The rooms were worn and the carpet was very dirty. The halls reeked of cigarette smoke. The cost was very high when we later compared prices with other nearby hotels. Will definitely not return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Watsco,

Thank you for your review of your stay. We are sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,
Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel for my seven year olds birthday. The girl who took my reservation was helpful and sweet. When I arrived however I had to deal with a manager who was nothing but rude from the first moment and even took to screaming at me in the lobby. It was honestly the worst experience of my life. If they had management who knew how to be plesant this would be a good hotel. Too bad.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear catrinar01,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express many years ago, we recently returned to the area, and stayed here again. The hotel is okay and for the area probably one of the better hotels. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bed seemed a little worn, and sheets seemed like their getting old (pilled) but again for the area - not bad. We did not eat breakfast there, but we did check it out - seemed just okay. Not a "high" end hotel, but for the area - probably one of the better places to stay, and in a great town!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Renee S,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the bed condition. We will address these concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Vermillion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Vermillion

Address: 2417 State Rt. 60, Vermilion, OH 44089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Vermilion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Vermillion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is centrally located between Greater Cleveland & Cedar Point Amusement Park, Sandusky, OH. Our Vermilion, Ohio location provides a great starting point for attractions in either direction! We are just 20 miles from Cedar Point but worlds away from congestion & traffic. Experience the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion featuring friendly, personalized service along with the benefits of: free Express Start breakfast bar; free local telephone calls; free high speed Internet access; and Priority Club Rewards Points. Vermilion is A Small Town On A Great Lake; a quaint & historic small town located on Lake Erie. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is near Vermilion's many charms: public beaches, unique shopping (antiques, galleries, collectibles, handcrafted candies and candles), many dining options, river cruises, fishing & numerous festivals & special events year-round! SPECIAL EVENTS: Festival of the Fish, Father's Day Wknd; Woollybear Festival, Fall; Christmas Holidays RESTAURANTS: Chez Francois, that french restaurant on the river; Red Clay on the River LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: Inland Seas Maritime Museum; Lake Erie; Schoepfle Garden; The Holiday Inn Express Vermilion features a number of room types to fit your business or leisure travel needs as well as an indoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Vermillion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Hotel Vermilion
Holiday Inn Express Vermilion
Holiday Inn Vermilion
Vermilion Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Ohio/Vermilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.