We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Vermillion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Vermillion to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2417 State Rt. 60, Vermilion, OH 44089   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here one night in October. We were in town from east side of Cleveland and needed a place to crash after eating at a restaurant in town. Staff was friendly and room was clean and bathroom seemed recently updated. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
22
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, AZ
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my son overnight after a day of fishing on Lake Erie. Very convenient location near town and marina. The room was clean, good size, comfortable, and staff was very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again if staying in Vermilion.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Usually, I find Holiday Inn Express locations to be adequate, clean places...but this place is super! The staff is quite friendly, and the location is convenient...with a large field behind it that just screams Ohio! The pool and hottub have lifts for the folks that need such, and the breakfast has hot and cold components.
Great stop.
Thanks, Y'all!

Room Tip: Get a room with the view of the field. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were nice and everything was updated! The hotel was surprisingly quiet! The rooms were very clean! Breakfast was good. Pancake machine was cool. The mattress was the hardest most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Four of us stayed for the best part of a week. I am not big on the morning continental breakfast deal but my kids liked it. The room was okay and the people friendly. Access was easy as was parking. I will likely stay there again however, I think the price was certainly high for what you got. I'd call it a fairly low dollar to value ratio. I think they are likely skinning Cedar Point travelers (which we weren't). If traveling through again, I'd check price first then make a decision based on that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Texaque,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know we were able to meet your expectations during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, NJ
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My sister and I stayed at several Holiday Inn Express hotels during our trip around Ohio this August. This was the best location. When we arrived to check in with our preferred member status, we received 3 grab bag options for snacks and 2 bottles of water - along with fresh cookies at the front counter. Each day we received the USA Today paper at our door when we left the room. The breakfast was excellent (as usual for a Holiday Inn Express) but what made this one great was that the staff member was wearing gloves when working around the food and she really did well with keeping everything stocked. For example, I made a comment about grabbing the last butter and asked my sister if she wanted to share it - the woman servicing the area came right over and said "I have plenty of butter!" and handed us more and restocked the area quickly. That was service above and beyond what I expected. The trash cans were emptied often (another small gripe I usually have at hotel breakfast areas) and the counter tops were clean and well maintained. Overall, above the standard. This was a Holiday Inn that was really worth the value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am usually pleased with my stays at Holiday Inns ---- not this time. The carpet in my room was dark and deeply stained; the single chair was uncomfortable and its cloth seat was also stained; the bed sheets did not have the usual bright-white-look of most Holiday Inns; and the wi-fi did not work in my room. Yes, the staff was friendly (as other reviewers have mentioned), but my first priorities are comfort and cleanliness. Here, the Holiday Inn chain simply failed. My stay was for one night, in mid-August, on my way to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The other Holiday Inns that I stayed at on this trip were far better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Joyce S,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Vermillion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Vermillion

Address: 2417 State Rt. 60, Vermilion, OH 44089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Vermilion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Vermillion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is centrally located between Greater Cleveland & Cedar Point Amusement Park, Sandusky, OH. Our Vermilion, Ohio location provides a great starting point for attractions in either direction! We are just 20 miles from Cedar Point but worlds away from congestion & traffic. Experience the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion featuring friendly, personalized service along with the benefits of: free Express Start breakfast bar; free local telephone calls; free high speed Internet access; and IHG Rewards Club Points. Vermilion is A Small Town On A Great Lake; a quaint & historic small town located on Lake Erie. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is near Vermilion's many charms: public beaches, unique shopping (antiques, galleries, collectibles, handcrafted candies and candles), many dining options, river cruises, fishing & numerous festivals & special events year-round! SPECIAL EVENTS: Festival of the Fish, Father's Day Wknd; Woollybear Festival, Fall; Christmas Holidays RESTAURANTS: Chez Francois, that french restaurant on the river; Quaker Steak & Lube on the River LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: Lake Erie; Schoepfle Garden; The Holiday Inn Express Vermilion features a number of room types to fit your business or leisure travel needs as well as an indoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Vermillion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Hotel Vermilion
Holiday Inn Express Vermilion
Holiday Inn Vermilion
Vermilion Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Ohio/Vermilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.