We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Van Wert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Van Wert to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Van Wert
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   840 N Washington, Van Wert, OH 45891 (Formerly Sunset Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Van Wert
Petersburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“VERY NICE!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My Husband & I stayed in Van Wert on business. The Comfort Inn was wonderful...clean and the staff was a joy. A little expensive as we were not offered a weekly rate and stayed 18 days. The pool & hot tub was very nice and we were allowed to stay past 10pm because my husband was working til 9pm every night. Beautiful country town and the people were very friendly...Thanks Comfort Inn for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
6
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster,OH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We were unexpectedly needed a group of rooms in Van Wert for my Uncles funeral. after checking the prices at holiday Inn express, and comfort inn. I booked the comfort inn! The holiday inn wouldn't give us any price breaks, and the person I spoke to was quite snippy. I am leary about comort inns, as I know they are independently owned. After reading the reviews here, I was quite happy to try it. A lot on my shoulders, when booking so many family members. Everyone was very happy with the rooms. One smelled a bit of smoke, but other then that, everyone seemed very pleased. The rooms were clean, updated, and had a fridge/microwave, which came in very hand for the wake leftovers. The best part of our stay though, was the staff. The lady who made our reservations was very nice and compassionate, she was very helpful with recommendations for the area, and directions for all of us out of towners. At the end of viewing hours, we all came back to the hotel, and they allowed us to use their breakfast room for a family gathering. Much needed and comforting to us all. Because of the wonderful staff at this comfort inn, we were able to honor and remember our beloved uncle in a way he would have loved! Thank you comfort inn!

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

This is one of the two choices for this area (Holiday Inn is next door). It is clean, quiet and up-to-date with flatscreen tvs, loads of cable choices, wireless, continential breakfast, hot tub and small indoor poor. This was more than we expected for a small town 2 star motel. For meals, we also recommend the Balyeat diner downtown on the square and the Main Street Ice Cream Parlor for a 'mini-cone' for desert. This is americana at its best.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

This Comfort Inn and the Holiday Inn Express are right next to each other. As I understand it, the same person owns both hotels. I booked the Holiday Inn Express because of the good reviews here, and also because the Holiday Inn's staff said that the windows could be opened for fresh air.

Unfortunately, upon arriving, I realized the windows were sealed shut, so I inquired at the Comfort Inn. The Comfort Inn had windows that opened, and was just fine. I moved over and was very happy with my stay. I think most people would be happy at either hotel. The two chains are very similar.

The cost of the Comfort Inn was about $20-$25 cheaper than the Holiday, and you can kind of see the reasons: the Holiday Inn is very new and very spiffy. The Comfort Inn is a pretty standard Comfort Inn, which means it's great in my book. The Comfort Inn does not have an elevator.

If I ever have reason to be back in this town again, I will book the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Our room is decent, its updated, new furniture, bedding, softest hotel towels ever! Fridge, microwave and flat screen tv with video input! Pretty standard place. There is a brand new Holiday Inn Express next door though, but this place is certainly comparable!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Van Wert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Van Wert

Address: 840 N Washington, Van Wert, OH 45891 (Formerly Sunset Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Van Wert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Van Wert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Van Wert 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Van Wert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Van Wert Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Van Wert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.