We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Troy's version of "Cheers"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunaway's Beef & Ale

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dunaway's Beef & Ale
508 W Main St, Troy, OH 45373-2927
(937) 335-8608
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 83 Restaurants in Troy
Cuisines: Irish, Pizza
Restaurant details
Troy, Ohio
1 review
“Troy's version of "Cheers"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you like to be where everybody knows your name....this is the place. The roast beef and the reuben is awesome. The staff is like family and if you are a regular you always feel at home! The motto is "It's an Irish pub....Everybody sings!" CHEERS!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, NC
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Local Irish themed bar and restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It had been 15 years since I was there, having moved away to NC. Sandy and Brenda are the owners and they were there this night. Friendly atmosphere, several craft brews on tap and a relatively good pizza. I wanted to get a beef sandwich, but they had turned off the steamer by the time I got there. The establishment is an old house. Limited parking on the street and a decent sized lot in the back with a rear entrance. If you are in town for business, get off the Rt 41 exit and away from those chain restaurants and head into downtown Troy. I guarantee you will get a friendly reception and hopefully you go early enough and try a their famous beef sandwich.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't bother unless you like rude owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Went for drinks with my wife to meet up with some friends. After 1 round owner has his fingers on my wife's chest if I didn't know he was the owner I would have decked him. Really are you that desperate to touch a women's chest that you need to own a bar?


FOOD and service have declined over the years time to give it up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gentlemen of the Road Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stop by here this past Labor day weekend during our stay for "Gentlemen of the Road" tour by Mumford & Sons. We had a great visit here with great food, drinks and atmosphere. Patio was nice and the waitress was really helpful and offer some advice about getting around the town. We had Rubins and they were perfect. If we ever come back we will stop by again. Cheers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouse Hill, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stopped in for a quick beer after dinner in Troy and had a good time. It was a little quiet considering the time on Thursday night, but the staff were really friendly and I was almost sorry I hadn't come in here for dinner instead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunaway's Beef & Ale also viewed

 

Been to Dunaway's Beef & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunaway's Beef & Ale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.