We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Little Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Idle-Hour Ranch

Idle-Hour Ranch
4845 W. Fenner Rd, Troy, OH 45373
937-339-9731
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 things to do in Troy
Attraction details
Troy, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun Little Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Fun little spot right here in Troy. My 2 yr old loved all of the animals especially the pony ride, goats, and giraffe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

At what point did customer service include the words "we don't", "we can't", and Hey Mame, I "need" you to move away from that fence. (please note young lady that we "need" water and we "need" food... You could have asked me to move from the fence by simply saying, Mame, for your safety and/or the safety of our animals, would you please move from that part of the fence.) This exchange was after she came out of the the gift shop and said, Uh... We don't open til 12:00 noon (mind you we were there at 11:50am, we knew they did not open til 12:00 Noon)
My friends and I look for different things to do on Sundays and was excited to find a Mom and Pop type rescue ranch to visit North of Dayton. Our mission is to find these little places that count on donations to run and donate a nice amount of money to help them run. Due to the unwelcoming attitude displayed by the young girl with long dark hair they not only lost a $30.00 admission fee they also lost out on the and the sizable donation we were prepared to give.
If we had little children with us I can understand not wanting us to be near the fences but we are three older women who are very responsible and do not need to be reprimanded.
Our experience was disappointing to say the least. We never did go in, we simply left due to the unwelcoming way we were treated.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, OH
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Idle Hour Ranch is great for kids of all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have a season membership to Idle Hour. It's a short drive from our home, and we can spend an hour there or all afternoon, depending on the mood of the kids! We can purchase a bucket of food to feed most of the animals. Our favorite, of course, is Sam the Giraffe, but we also really enjoy feeding the kangaroos and wallabies, as they take the bread from us so gently. Our last visit three days ago, we got to feed a 3 week old kid(baby goat), and even saw a sweet little piglet with painted toenails named Boots. There is always something new to see there, and the owners are so friendly and informative about all of their animals.
These animals are well taken care of, and the place is clean and comfortable to visit. They work hard to make it family friendly, and usually have a nice Fall Festival on the last weekend of the season. They have pony and camel rides, at an additional cost, but it's well worth the price of admission just to be able to get up close and feed and pet so many animals. Goats, Alpacas, Llamas, Horses and ponies, Scottish Highlanders, New Guinea Singing Dogs, Camels, a Giraffe, a Cougar, Fox, Wolf, Deer, Elk, and so many more I can't name them all. Where else can you go and pet and/or feed so many animals?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lots of animals, not a lot of walking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I just adore this place. Sam the giraffe is a favorite!! The bucket of food is well worth the price and will make your visit much more enjoyable!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“In love with animals... then stop here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

First of all you can pet a giraffe and look him straight in the eyes! His name is sam! You can feed alot of the other animals by hand! It's a great experience! ! My family spent 3 hours here and would have stayed longer if i didnt drag them out!!! I will b going back real soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Idle-Hour Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Idle-Hour Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idle-Hour Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.