We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Further investigation needed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Juvigny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chateau de Juvigny to your Saves list
Chateau de Juvigny
8 avenue du Chateau, 51150 Juvigny, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Juvigny B&B and Inns
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Further investigation needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived at 5.45 pm on 30 October on our way back to Calais but were clearly not expected despite having had email confirmation from the Chateau that our booking had been accepted. We were eventually met by the sister of the owner who said that her sister's husband had died late summer and that her owner was now seriously ill in hospital. There was no record of our booking in the diary and the heating in the guest wing was turned off. She did agree to try and find us alternative accommodation and eventually this was arranged third hand in a village some 10 miles from Juvigny. Fortunately it turned out to be a clean, warm and comfortable alternative.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were delighted with our decision to stay at this charming Chateau and were greeted by the extremely helpful and thoughtful owner. The rooms are beautifully appointed in true traditional french style and immaculate. My favourite room in the Chateau is the breakfast room which is a grand dining room straight out of a movie. Surrounded by beautiful views of the gardens and courtyard, the torn painting of the an ancestor that probably took a beating while the Dutch Army used the building as a base during WW2 we felt very much part of a period drama eating the Confiture Maison - the best we encountered on our travels - stewed fruit, a delicious array of cheese and bread all off gorgeous crockery. Madame kindly offered for us to use the sitting room and it's fantastic fire place setting to sample our Champagne buys of the day. The location is brilliant if you have a car from reaching Reims, Epernay or as a stop on the way to Troyes. The restaurant recommendation to a near by restaurant was as good as our stay. To top it all off, there is a darling resident Alsatian to greet you on arrival. Make sure you have more than one night - this was my only regret!

Room Tip: We stayed in Nathalie which was very pretty and perfectly sized for a couple. Our friend was in Ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

A girlie weekend driving the Champagne Route. What a magical place. Rustic charm is everywhere in this Chateau. Makes for a great get away as well as a romantic stay with your loved ones. I would thoroughly recommend this charming Chateau with its 16th Century shabby chic demure...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Chateau recently for one night on our way through to Austria. The owner was very welcoming and our room was huge and full of rustic charm with a lovely view over the lake. This is a very old building so don't expect everything to be immaculate, it is a b & b after all. The breakfast was great and was served in a huge elegant drawing room. We very much enjoyed the peaceful location and the owner recommended a fantastic rest. for dinner. We thought it was good value and excellent for a short break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

A disappointing experience. They double booked so when we arrived (family of 5) they put us up in their parents wing of the chateau and the 2 children's rooms were derelict and stripped obviously about to be renovated. We were still charged the same price even with the state of the rooms. Breakfast was served around one big table for all the guests. The coffee was served cold, asked for more hot coffee but still cold. The breakfast was done from a small room with a microwave and the selection of foods were bland and minimal. It is a good 25 minute drive to get to any restaurants for an evening meal. A lovely building with great surroundings with friendly family and dog but the place is tired and run down and inefficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Château de Juvigny is magnificent - a truly wonderful building with great-sized rooms looking out over a beautiful lake. But my wife and i left slightly disappointed, just thinking that things could have been so much better - ie our bathroom was horribly basic (not in keeping with the rest of the house), the breakfast was average, the owner was surprised when we arrived (we'd booked weeks in advance and had quite a bit of email correspondance re restaurants etc). Our impression was the owners rented out a couple of rooms to make a bit of money, without putting in much effort.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We´ve stayed at the Chateau for one night and it was absolutely amazing! The location is extraordinary, absolutely peaceful with a little lake in front and a huge park in the backside. The rooms are not too big, but the charm of the rooms beat it all. The host is so nice and helpful and the breakfast tasty. We can recommend this location, if you want to experience something special.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Juvigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Juvigny

Address: 8 avenue du Chateau, 51150 Juvigny, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Juvigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Juvigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Juvigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Juvigny Hotel Chalons-En-Champagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Juvigny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.