We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mumbai The Restaurant

Mumbai The Restaurant
12-16 Station Road, Stainforth, Doncaster DN7 5QA, England
01302 352100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stainforth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another amazing visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We have visited here many times but I feel compelled to write another review as the meal we had this evening was outstanding.

We had the fish masala to start the sahr jahan ( mixed meat special) and gobi gosht (cauliflower). All were fantastic.

Can not recommended here enough and the staff will do anything to make the meal enjoyable.

Thank you for another fantastic evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    37
    5
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Children's menu available!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Upon first walking in with my wife and 2yr old child, we thought this restaurant may have not been suited for our little one, we went in and sat down anyways!
Within the first 3 minutes the waiter proved us wrong! He brought us complimentary poppadoms and gave us our menu ensuring we spotted the "Children's Section". By this time i told my wife that i could see myself eating here again, then the food came out! WOW!

You'll see from my profile on here I love Indians, this is by far the best Indian Restaurant i've been in by far! I will definitely be dining here again with my family & friends for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been going to Mumbai since it first opened, and its fair to say that in the early days it was a bit quite, but from the first visit until the most recent visit they have consistantly turned out great food. We have been with friends who have taken us to very good restaurants in Bradford but as some one else made the comment no need to to travel, we have a first class Indian restaurant on our door step. In fact it is so popular now it's a good idea to book especially on a weekend. Our latest meal for four people with starters main coarse and drinks came to £64, If you like Indian and want to try somewhere new give it a go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Was Only Considering a Take-Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A long time since we've had an Indian meal and only called for a take-away menu, however they were open at 5pm and it looked inviting so we had a meal in-side, can't recommend the restaurant highly enough and I/we take some pleasing.
We ate off the Indian menu choice all the way through, meals were superb, the staff on hand to describe the various dishes and very courteous, also giving you the option of a break between courses.
You won't need a second mortgage to pay the bill even after three courses and drinks, all making for a very pleasant enjoyable meal out, as we are fairly close it will form a regular eating place.
Dare say you may have to book at what may be the usual busy periods, but you'll not be disappointed.
J & M.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster england
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“still first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

called on a early saturday night already busy was able to find a table and quickly served, once again a lovely meal pleasant service , food looked freshly cooked and appealling to the eye another great meal .
only comment they have downsized on magners cider was 568 ml now 330 ml .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumbai The Restaurant also viewed

Woodlands, Doncaster
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Mumbai The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mumbai The Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.