We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No organization” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Toledo
Belleville, Michigan
1 review
“No organization”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Seems like it was lacking someone in charge, staff was nice but not enough of them understaffed,huge place with nothing in it, you walk around and have to find out things for yourself, go in the aqua lounge and no one around, place has nothing. That's why you see people with coolers,no vending machines even and not that clean,run down. Lightening bad in rooms,toilet ran and air very loud. Needs to update,very disappointed,plus even with discounts high price for nothing! I recommend find someplace else, or throw your money away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Sharon E,

Thank you for your review and comments. It is very clear that we did not provide you with the experience you were hoping for during your visit to the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza. Your comments are appreciated as we are striving to enhance the overall guest experience in downtown Toledo. I hope that you will contact me at dos@bwtoledo.com so that I might be able to share one of our new Toledo packages with you, in hopes that the next time you venture to the Toldedo area, you will choose the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    42
    48
    42
    50
See reviews for
38
39
10
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was extremely displeased with this hotel. The staff,however, was very helpful and friendly. The conditions of this hotel are terrible,though. The shower had mold all around it. The staff did everything they could to resolveit.But, this hotel has not been well maintained and there is nothing the staff can do to resolve this without major investments in renovation in this hotel. The chair in the room had numerous stains. The bed was dirty. Best Western must have very low standards for a Premier hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear David L,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We are proud to be a member of the Best Western Premier family of hotels. We are in the final phases of a complete hotel renovation/upgrade and are sorry that you experienced such poor accommodations. I can promise you that if you choose to stay with us during your next visit to the Toledo area, you will be pleased with your surroundings. Feel free to contact me at dos@bwtoledo.com to make your future reservation and I would be happy to provide you with a complimentary upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Room, location & view all fine. Ordered room service and since they had nachos on the menu I asked if they could do a taco salad instead and you'd have thought I asked for some exotic foreign delicacy. It was weird. I ordered a glass of wine with the request to pay for it separately since I'm traveling for work, and that was a major project too. Wifi was completely non-functioning. When you press the "front desk" button on the phone, you get your room's voice mail and when I finally reached someone (I called the restaurant just to get a person), the response (*sigh* "Did you press zero?") made it clear that this was not a fluke with my room's phone. Nowhere in the guest services book does it indicate how to reach the front desk. When I finally reached the desk and asked if the wifi was out, the response was, "I don't think so...it's fine down here...but then, down here we have a landline. Our wifi is usually pretty slow though." Then he said he'd call their "engineers" about it, but I never heard back and wifi never worked. Coffee maker was disgusting...I'll be visiting Starbucks in the morning, thanks. All in all, nothing really horrifying - well, except the coffee maker - but lots of annoyances and a general lack of professionalism that will make frequent business travelers like me elect to go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear CleveChick,

It goes without saying that we owe you an apology for what you experienced during your stay at the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza last month. Your review is very important to us and has been shared with our Executive Management team to make sure that no other guest encounters the poor services which you encountered. I hope that you will contact me at dos@bwtoledo.com so that I can possibly make this up to you somehow. We want to welcome you back and prove to you that we provide the hospitality you are expecting and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Everyone was so curtious Front desk, valet, resturant, and housekeeping. Had a great room with a wonderful view of the water and bridges. I felt relaxed and safe in this hotel, and would recommend to friends for a nice getaway. Close to attractions too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Pamela B,

Thank you for you kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza. It is so nice to be able to reward our staff with your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding in a block of rooms booked for the event. The staff was very nice but the hotel is in horrible shape. Out of our group of 10 rooms, four had burnt out lights in the bathroom so you could barely see. When this was called into maintenance they ignored the do not disturb sign and walked in on my Grandma changing. Even with the lights working our shower was like a cave, you had to leave the shower curtain open to see, which was fine since it was covered with mildew. The grout in the bathroom had mold growing on it. When we checked in I noticed the previous occupant’s hair on the bathroom floor. The chairs in the room had stained fabric. The TV in my parent’s room had no sound, which maintenance couldn't fix. The hotel restaurants floor was so sticky in front of the breakfast bar it was like being at the movies. When a group of eight of us went for lunch at the restaurant it took 45 minutes to get our food, we were the only ones in the place. My husband’s $14 pizza was a DiGorino Pizza, which was burnt. My brother's $22 steak was basically uneatable. The first night we were there we were kept up to 2:30am by the teenage girls next door. Overall I would say this hotel was a pretty pathetic showing on part of Best Western for being one of their premier hotels.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. I know it is Toldeo, but there have to be better hotels in that city somew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear mregan86,

First, I need to thank you for your comments. Secondly, I need to extend to you and your family an apology for the unfortunate circumstances you encountered during your recent stay at the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel. A wedding is a celebration and it is clear that we did not provide you the atmosphere to enjoy your celebration weekend. Your comments have been shared with our Executive Housekeeper, Chief Engineer and Food & Beverage Director to make sure no other guest shares the same poor service you received. Please feel free to contact me at dos@bwtoledo.com, as I would like to extend an invitation for you to visit us again in Toledo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had to go to Toledo this past weekend for a friend's wedding and stayed at this hotel. What a nice surprise! Be it a Best Western, it was modern, updated, clean, and the place was run by a professional staff. It's in downtown overlooking the river and some of us had some spectacular river views. The folks at the bar even stayed open late for us wedding guests who wanted a night cap....much appreciated! If I ever get back to Toledo, I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear IronGates,

Thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding weekend and hope that when your travels bring you back to Toledo, we will be welcoming you back to the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had phoned to be picked up by their shuttle service and was told that I was at one of their regular stops and they would be there in a few minutes. I ask the girl to make sure they would stop and she assured me they would. They didn't. I called bac k a half hour later and they had to send a special van for me. Lack of communication!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear George P,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry that our transportation services failed for you during your recent stay at the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza. I don't know if your travels will be bringing you back to our area soon, but I would welcome the opportunity to provide you with two tickets to a future Mudhens game as our compliments. I hope that you will contact me at dos@bwtoledo.com and I will be happy to make these arrangements for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)
Location: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza Hotel features 241 tastefully appointed guest rooms. The hotel is situated along the scenic Maumee River in Downtown Toledo, and located near the University of Toledo, Bowling Green State University and Toledo Express Airport (TOL). While visiting Toledo Ohio, hotel guests can enjoy visiting famous sites such as the The Toledo Zoo or the Toledo Museum of Art. Attractions within walking distance include Toledo Mud Hens at Fifth Third Field and performances at the Valentine Theatre. Business-oriented travelers appreciate this Toledo Hotel's location near businesses such as Owens-Corning, HCR ManorCare, S.S.O.E. and Libbey Inc. The Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel offers over 16,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, complete with audio-visual equipment, and free high-speed Internet connectivity. Grand Plaza Hotel is a beautiful facility enhancing your stay with an indoor heated pool, a well-equipped fitness center, a 24-hour business center and complimentary shuttle service within two miles of the hotel and a full-service restaurant, Del Sol and the Aqua Bar. Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel Toledo provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toledo
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Toledo, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.