We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant and relaxing stay Great employees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Toledo
Sterling Heights, Michigan, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Pleasant and relaxing stay Great employees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Everyone was so curtious Front desk, valet, resturant, and housekeeping. Had a great room with a wonderful view of the water and bridges. I felt relaxed and safe in this hotel, and would recommend to friends for a nice getaway. Close to attractions too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Pamela B,

Thank you for you kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza. It is so nice to be able to reward our staff with your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    38
    39
    26
    41
See reviews for
31
28
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding in a block of rooms booked for the event. The staff was very nice but the hotel is in horrible shape. Out of our group of 10 rooms, four had burnt out lights in the bathroom so you could barely see. When this was called into maintenance they ignored the do not disturb sign and walked in on my Grandma changing. Even with the lights working our shower was like a cave, you had to leave the shower curtain open to see, which was fine since it was covered with mildew. The grout in the bathroom had mold growing on it. When we checked in I noticed the previous occupant’s hair on the bathroom floor. The chairs in the room had stained fabric. The TV in my parent’s room had no sound, which maintenance couldn't fix. The hotel restaurants floor was so sticky in front of the breakfast bar it was like being at the movies. When a group of eight of us went for lunch at the restaurant it took 45 minutes to get our food, we were the only ones in the place. My husband’s $14 pizza was a DiGorino Pizza, which was burnt. My brother's $22 steak was basically uneatable. The first night we were there we were kept up to 2:30am by the teenage girls next door. Overall I would say this hotel was a pretty pathetic showing on part of Best Western for being one of their premier hotels.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. I know it is Toldeo, but there have to be better hotels in that city somew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear mregan86,

First, I need to thank you for your comments. Secondly, I need to extend to you and your family an apology for the unfortunate circumstances you encountered during your recent stay at the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel. A wedding is a celebration and it is clear that we did not provide you the atmosphere to enjoy your celebration weekend. Your comments have been shared with our Executive Housekeeper, Chief Engineer and Food & Beverage Director to make sure no other guest shares the same poor service you received. Please feel free to contact me at dos@bwtoledo.com, as I would like to extend an invitation for you to visit us again in Toledo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had to go to Toledo this past weekend for a friend's wedding and stayed at this hotel. What a nice surprise! Be it a Best Western, it was modern, updated, clean, and the place was run by a professional staff. It's in downtown overlooking the river and some of us had some spectacular river views. The folks at the bar even stayed open late for us wedding guests who wanted a night cap....much appreciated! If I ever get back to Toledo, I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear IronGates,

Thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding weekend and hope that when your travels bring you back to Toledo, we will be welcoming you back to the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had phoned to be picked up by their shuttle service and was told that I was at one of their regular stops and they would be there in a few minutes. I ask the girl to make sure they would stop and she assured me they would. They didn't. I called bac k a half hour later and they had to send a special van for me. Lack of communication!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear George P,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry that our transportation services failed for you during your recent stay at the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza. I don't know if your travels will be bringing you back to our area soon, but I would welcome the opportunity to provide you with two tickets to a future Mudhens game as our compliments. I hope that you will contact me at dos@bwtoledo.com and I will be happy to make these arrangements for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Front desk manager and staff were wonderful, great customer service!! Dre, at check-in, upgraded my room to a corner with a view. My room was beautiful, remodeled bathroom (not sure why other reviewers said the bathrooms were scary??) Great location, many bars and restaurants in walking distance.

My only compliant is the food awful and room service isn't great.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large, with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your business and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel. Please come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, mi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Food not great. Rooms old but comfy bed. Tad overpriced. Location great. Dont waste time at bar. Nothing fresh. How can you be a mexican bar restaurant and make margaritas from a mix ? 16 bucks to park. Location good near ballpark and easy drive to casino. Pool is below mediocre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)
Location: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza Hotel features 241 tastefully appointed guest rooms. The hotel is situated along the scenic Maumee River in Downtown Toledo, and located near the University of Toledo, Bowling Green State University and Toledo Express Airport (TOL). While visiting Toledo Ohio, hotel guests can enjoy visiting famous sites such as the The Toledo Zoo or the Toledo Museum of Art. Attractions within walking distance include Toledo Mud Hens at Fifth Third Field and performances at the Valentine Theatre. Business-oriented travelers appreciate this Toledo Hotel's location near businesses such as Owens-Corning, HCR ManorCare, S.S.O.E. and Libbey Inc. The Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel offers over 16,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, complete with audio-visual equipment, and free high-speed Internet connectivity. Grand Plaza Hotel is a beautiful facility enhancing your stay with an indoor heated pool, a well-equipped fitness center, a 24-hour business center and complimentary shuttle service within two miles of the hotel and a full-service restaurant, Del Sol and the Aqua Bar. Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel Toledo provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toledo
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Toledo, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.