We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ventura's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ventura's
7742 W Bancroft St, Toledo, OH 43617-1606
419-841-7523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #288 of 588 Restaurants in Toledo
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Sylvania, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Took the family to this restaurant and it was a big let down. The wait for a seat was greater than an hour on a Tuesday night and the place was so packed with people gathered at the bar that you had no choice but to wait outside. We wouldn't have minded the wait if the food was good but it wasn't. The food was covered with so much melted cheese that you couldn't taste anything else. The items that we chose that weren't smothered with cheese were extremely bland and over cooked. The service was poor as our waitress was more interested in flirting with the bar patrons than taking care of the tables in her serving section. This restaurant is very popular judging by the number of cars seen in the parking lot on a regular basis, but it must be for the bar judging by the poor quality of the food served. There are many places that are much better for Mexican food in Toledo and I suggest avoiding Ventura's unless you are only going for the bar.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Best margaritas in town. The place is always packed which shows its popularity. The food was great and a reasonable price

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“CHEESE CHEESE CHEESE!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I had hoped that when Ohio passed the no smoking in restaurant law, Ventura's would begin to appeal to me as it does to so many locals. However often we go there with friends who like it, we are grossed out by the quantity of cheese stuff poured over everything and the macerated form the chicken arrives in. I'm guessing it's all about the margaritas because the food sure is lousy!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Food and Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Venturas is a great place to grab good Mexican food and Margaritas

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo Ohio
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A drining joint - really not about the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

If you want Mexican food, go elsewhere. This is a drinking water hole. It is for the drinking crowd and that is what it caters to. The food is secondary. And if you order the food, you will find it to be greasy and poorly made and often cold - the service is focused on the drinks. Got the picture?

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ventura's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventura's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.