We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Thai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rose Thai
5333 Monroe Street, Toledo, OH 43623
(419) 841-8467
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 588 Restaurants in Toledo
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,520 reviews 1,520 reviews
901 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 358 cities Reviews in 358 cities
667 helpful votes 667 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have been to Rose Thai three or four times and have always been reasonably happy with each experience. It is not easy to spot as it is in the elbow of one of the many strip plazas on the south side of Monroe. However, the appropriately decorated interior is very pleasant as it provides a slightly darkened and relaxing atmosphere. It is decked out in regionally appropriate décor that conveys a more authentic feel. Of course, the quality of the food is the bottom line and we have always found it to be quite good. On our last recent visit on a Saturday evening, we were seated very promptly upon walking in. The service was excellent all evening. For appetizers, we had the chicken satay and the fried tofu. The latter came with a very nice dipping sauce while the peanut sauce for the satay was also quite good. The satay was noteworthy as the chicken was much more generously portioned than most. I also had the chicken tom yum soup which was outstanding having a spicy and slightly sweet taste. Among the four of us for mains, we had the seafood hot plate (prepared very spicy as requested), the chicken mat-sa-man curry, the vegetable pad pak and the tofu pad kie mow. All were very good. I especially enjoyed the curry as it had a very nice flavor. The prices at Rose are very reasonable making this a very good value. There are not a lot of great options for Thai in the Northwest OH area but this is one that is worth trying if you have a penchant for Thai cuisine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rose Thai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is generally good and tasty. Service at lunch is always friendly and prompt. I often go there for lunch. Very good value for money. The menu is the usual to be expected at any casual Thai restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Decent value, better Thai elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We are not locals and have our favorite Thai restaurants at home in Vermont. We tried Rose Thai and thought it was a decent value. I had the drunken noodles; they were good but not the best I have had(Try Tiny Thai in Winooski, Vermont). My wife had the sizzling seafood; it was ok but the seafood items(shrimp, scallops, etc) were was a little lacking. Atmosphere nice, service great, value and food average.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Little Jewel amongst strip mall stores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hankering for Thai while visiting town I lived in 40 yrs ago and was pointed to rose Thai by motel desk clerk. He was spot on...a very good find in an unassuming little spot I would have passed had it not been recommended. Had an excellent rendering of pad thai and a fine side. would go back if I again lived in Toledo.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Tom Yum soup in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We go once a year and use our Entertainment coupon. They do have the best Tom Yum we've ever had. Honestly we haven't had anything that we didn't like. The place is really large, but usually pretty empty and quiet, which is fine with us. The restaurant is clean and decked out with Japanese decor!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Thai also viewed

 

Been to Rose Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.