We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hoot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tony Packo's Cafe

Tony Packo's Cafe
1902 Front St, Toledo, OH 43605-1226
419-691-1953
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 633 Restaurants in Toledo
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What a hoot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wanted a place in Toledo that was easy to find for a group of wide ranging friends. We wanted simple fare. We wanted a fun atmosphere for lunch. This met all of our goals. Definitely a fun place, with great service, the food was interesting, good bet not great! Would we return? Yes! Go ahead and try it for lunch!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    122
    36
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Remember this is a three star dining experience and you won't be disappointed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I only came here because of it's exposure on MASH I didn't know what to expect and went with the flow. This is one of those establishments that crosses all boundaries from a mere mortal like myself to tje rich and famous. It's one of those things that you must have on your bucket list to see and hopefully experience.
Don't expect any more than a hot dog meal as the food is only a small part of this adventure. Take the kids it's a fun place to be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Time to Pack it in ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This place may have been an institution 'back in the day' but now it's just a kitschy tourist trap serving bad food. The menu is extremely limited, the food is tasteless (and cold) and the service is lackluster. Go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stopped here for lunch between games with sons and dads on a Sunday. The best part about this place and what makes the visit really worthwhile is the environment with M*A*S*H memorabilia. There are Hungarian touches to what is mostly American food eg spicy paprika in the chili which is also on the hot dogs. We didn't try the stuffed cabbage. Fried pickles were excellent. Nachos ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bit of nostalgia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stopped for a quick bite on our way home to the Cleveland area. Unfortunately, I can not eat hot dogs, and I'm sure I'm missing out. I had the dumplings in paprikash sauce and could have had seconds.

I have had the pickles and they are wonderful! We had to buy a few jars to bring home as you just can't buy anything similar in the stores.

I also loved walking around and seeing all of the M.A.S.H. memorabilia in addition to the preserved, autographed hot dog buns. What a trip down memory lane! It's amazing how many famous people have been through Tony Packo's, but the names might not be familiar if you're a bit younger. (Had a bit of explaining to do to my 17yr old.)

Must stop if you're ever in Toledo!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Packo's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tony Packo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony Packo's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.