We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five-minute stay is all you need” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Toledo - University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Toledo - University to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Toledo - University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3530 Executive Pkwy., Toledo, OH 43606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Toledo
Yorkville, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A five-minute stay is all you need”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We chose this hotel because we needed somewhere close to an event and, based on the pictures from this location's website, we thought this would be fine. The pictures are NOT what the rooms look like. The carpet was damp and black, the room smelled awful, and there was mold all over the outside overhang. There was no way I would even sit on the bed let alone sleep there. The front desk did not give me a hard time when I said that I wouldn't be staying here, however. He said that the charges would be reversed on my card. We happily and comfortably stayed at the same chain of hotels we always stay at (Hampton Inn) after this drama.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    23
    15
    14
See reviews for
35
28
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I don't know how Red Roof Inn has any positive ratings whatsoever for this location, unless they are doing some ballot stuffing. We chose to stay there because, according to trip advisor, it had a higher rating than the Comfort Inn and Ramada Inn nearby. Really?! I promise you the only place to stay near the university in Toledo is the Ramada. The Red Roof Inn is run-down, but that would have been ok if it was clean and functional. We checked in and turned on the A/C but it made such a horrible sounding racket we couldn't keep it on. We planned to use the fridge, but even on it's coldest setting would not get cold enough to store food in. The real clincher, though, was the tub. In the bottom of the tub was brownish goo that looked very much like poo. It was disgusting, and we realized that if this was the level of quality Red Roof Inn had for cleanliness, we did NOT want to try climbing into the beds. In disgust and feeling in need of a shower, we packed up and left...this is NOT a place to stay if you value your food, comfort, and cleanliness. Ick, ick, ick!!!

Room Tip: I have no advice other than STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!! Ick!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at this motel for one night returning home after a long trip. This was near the end of 20 nights in motels. This place was disgusting. The carpet was filthy. The chair was so nasty I would not sit in it, I went out and sat in the car to use my computer. The A/C unit was so filthy I would not let my husband turn it on. In the morning I opened a dresser drawer to make sure nothing was in it -- well, there was --- It was full of roach droppings. The bed and the pillows were comfortable and the shower was hot with a good spray. The filth over-ruled the good things. I hope I never have to stay there again. On this trip we stayed in places that were $10 cheaper and immaculately clean. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We are so glad that we are able to travel with our Pastor to conventions. In addition to the great teaching and fellowship that comes when our church travels, we always look forward to our stay at the Red Roof Inn off of Secor Rd. The manager and the entire staff treat everyone like family and try to go out of their way to accommodate all requests. It's like the service you get at a big fancy hotel!

Room Tip: This Red Roof has an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Check in was very friendly. The guy at the desk (I neglected to get his name.) was friendly and helpful. The room was clean but basic. Good place to stay if you need a place to stay for the night while on the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The room was good - clean and fresh. Just wish the staff were a little more friendly - they are sullen, uninterested and avoid eye contact at all times. When we checked in to this dog friendly hotel, we walked into the lobby and got yelled at that on no account were we to bring the dog into the lobby as the member of staff was dog allergic! Not a great start, but the hotel itself is good. No hairdrier in the room and the pillows - as we are finding with most Red Roof Hotels of recent - are rather solid and rubbery.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The motel has what you need for a night's stay, espcially if you have business in the university area. The fridge and microwave are a nice bonus. There is no coffee maker in the room but there is coffee available in the lobby - though its a bit of a walk from the back of the motel to the lobby. There is a nice little table and a couple of comfortable chairs in the room. The sink is outside the toilet/bath room which is convenient when several people are trying to get ready. Though I booked for three people there were only two sets of towels in the room and one little plastic packet of shampoo.

A couple of annoyances. They charge $1.50 safe fee. The safe is very prominent in the room. If its part of the room and I have to pay the fee it should be part of the published cost of the room. (I always wonder how secure these room safes are. Surely there is an overriding code for when people forget their codes so it would all come down to honest employees anyway.)

The other annoyance was that the computer was not working at check out time so I left with no receipt. Sometimes when you cross a border they ask for receipts to prove where you were staying. This happens with some frequency in hotels yet they always seem to be working when I check in.

Overall though the motel was just fine and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: It is a motel with outside doors so ground level rooms get the sound of people parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Toledo - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Toledo - University

Address: 3530 Executive Pkwy., Toledo, OH 43606
Location: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Toledo - University 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Toledo - University is a classic Red Roof Inn property offering clean, comfortable accommodations to the weary traveler at a very competitive price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Toledo - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Toledo - University Hotel Toledo
Toledo Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Toledo - University Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Toledo - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.