We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay if in North Toledo.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5865 Hagman Road, Toledo, OH 43612   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fun at the Zoo
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Toledo
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good place to stay if in North Toledo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was the first leg in our trip and this place was very nice. The room, staff service, location for Northern Toledo were all great. The breakfast was free and typical of a Hampton which is good. Definitely a place I'd recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    65
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
68
37
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent hotel with a friendly staff. My room was upgraded to a suite and I had plenty of room to stretch out. Nearby to a few chain restaurants, but ask for the restaurant guide and their recommendations it's worth the short drive to the river.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekeren, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nothing stood out in evening - the lobby area was renovated, the pool inviting, the bed comfy, and our room generally clean. But the "hot breakfast" advertised was made of plastic, quite literally. Apples wrapped in plastic, plastic plates, plastic utensils, bagels and muffins out of a box, eggs and sausages looked like they came out of a can - the works! I got a kick out of the fact that their plastic plates & utensils were stamped with "GMO free", but were going straight back in the trash! Why bother buying plates that are GMO free, if everything we eat may as well be full of GMO's? All this left us wondering - couldn't they do a bit more to reduce waste in this day and age?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonToledoNorth, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate both your compliments and your suggestions. I did want to leave a quick note to assure you that Hampton hotels are greatly concerned with our environmental footprint. You mentioned that our plates and utensils, and I want to assure you that we only use Taterware products (they are sustainable, biodegradeable products made from potato starch). This biodegradable natural plant material breaks down quickly in landfills and can be composted. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

-Laura Schmidt
Sales & Public Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here one night while passing through on a trip to Michigan. The hotel was within a few blocks of the freeway and easy to find. The building itself is very nice, and the room we had was clean, quiet and well-kept. We found the entire property to be very pleasant. The staff was very courteous and helpful -- could not ask for more. The only down side was that the immediate neighborhood was semi-commercial and not very scenic. As you went out the hotel driveway, there was a very large gas station. Behind the hotel you could see the telltale grassy mounds of a closed landfill. Across the street was Meijers, and down the road you find Menards. The hotel was set back far enough from the street where none of this was a real problem, but you would stay there for the convenience to the freeway, not the scenery. The rate included a hot continental breakfast, which was a typical hotel breakfast, but very handy if you wanted to get on the road again without making another stop. We were quite happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We thought we couldn't go wrong with a top-ranked hotel in Toledo. We were sure wrong. Check-in went fine, although the lobby was badly dated. Apparently, they are going to remodel in the near future. Our non-smoking room was on a floor with smoking rooms (even though Ohio is an indoor "smoke-free" state). The hallway to the room reeked of cigarettes and the odor permeated into the room a bit. That was nothing compared to the uninvited guests we met after unpacking our bags and getting ready to settle in for the night. Bed bugs were crawling on the comforters! We immediately packed our bags and went to check-out. The front desk staff didn't seem surprised at all by our discovery. I'm sure it's been an issue before.

Although the room was nice, if there are bed bugs in one room, the entire hotel could be infested. We weren't able to get a refund on our room immediately upon check-out due to paying in advance, but a manager did take care of the situation a few days later. What a shame, we usually have good luck with Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonToledoNorth, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I was certainly happy to refund your stay as you were not pleased with the room and decided not to stay. I can tell you once again that we take bed bug claims very seriously and I immediately called in our pest company for an inspection the next day. I offered you a copy of the report from the pest control company stating no bed bugs were found. I am still able to get you a copy of this report if you would like. We appreciate your business and take negative reviews as an opportunity to better our service. We take our standars and cleanliness as a matter of pride. In this case all precautionary measures were taken and again no bed bugs were found.

Sincerely,
Eric Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after a hurried leave from a nearby Red Roof Inn. The front desk staff was more than accomodating in helping me find a room, arrange for payment, and even had my Hilton Honors card number on file. When we arrived, our room was waiting for us with a personal note from the staff. Staying here after a long drive and terrible hotel experience was such a relief. We enjoyed all the amenitites of this hotel- the pool, the breakfast, the business center, and our large, clean bathroom. Throughout out stay, I was very impressed with the staff's personal attention and willingness to help. This hotel is a little out of central Toledo but you are right by some large highways and getting around was easy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent one night in Toledo, took in a Mud Hens game and the Toledo Zoo. This Hampton in was a good choice for us, about 10 minutes outside of downtown and right off of I-75. It was clean, efficient, and the coffee/tea bar in the lobby was well stocked.
The rooms were updated, comfy and clean. The lobby was huge, and will be rennovated soon (but it still looks nice). Our only complaint, and its a small one the pool is located right off of the lobby separated by floor to ceiling windows. It looks really nice, but we skipped swimming since our only chance would have been in the morning meaning everyone taking part in the complimentary breakfast would have shared in our fun. Overall though a great place to stay in the Toledo area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North

Address: 5865 Hagman Road, Toledo, OH 43612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Toledo-North Hotel Toledo
Hampton Inn Toledo
Toledo Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Toledo-North Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.