We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tiffin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Tiffin to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Tiffin
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Shaffer Park Drive, Tiffin, OH 44883   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tiffin
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have spent several nights over the past 3 years here because of university meetings twice a year. They are consistently good in their customer service. It is clean, in room microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea service. We are always greater with professionally and with a smile. Complimentary breakfast has hot and cold selections, and coffee/tea always available during the day. There is an indoor swimming pool tho we have not used it. But we do see children enjoying it. We had a King suite with 1/2 wall between sleeping and sitting areas. The sofa could be a sofa bed but we did not need it. Rooms seem to be well insulated. Conveniently located to food, shops. We plan to continue staying there. 15-20 min. To Ohio turnpike , I-90.

Room Tip: We had room 102, end of hall near exit, stairs and heard no noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review about your stay at the Tiffin Holiday Inn Express! The highest compliment we can receive is a return stay! We enjoy having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
8
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Ohio
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was traveling and had to get off the turnpike due to a "bad-weather pile-up" shutting down the turnpike in both directions. The hotels near the turnpike were booked, but I found this HIE 20 miles south in Tiffin. It took an hour to drive there, but I was very happy with the room and was able to have a nice rest in a bed! Much preferred over sleeping in the car.
I would recommend this HIE to anyone needing to stay in the Tiffin area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review about your recent stay at the Tiffin Holiday Inn Express. We are sorry to hear about the reason for your stay but are very happy that we could provide a great experience during your unexpected stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our son was moving in to TU and we needed to stay 1 night. Had 2 queens with a pull out couch. The room was a good size, with an additional easy chair and desk chair. Wet bar area with micro, fridge and coffeemaker. Did not use the pool, but it was a nice size for an indoor pool, and very very clean! Would have given 5 stars but pull out was broken (son slept on a big angle all night long) and check in person told us our room had been marked as "no show". I had called earlier in the day to say were arriving very late and possible after midnight. They did have a room for us, but she made it feel initially like we did not show so we were out of luck. Good breakfast in the morning. Lots of selections and very well maintained. We are staying here again in February - only 1 mile to campus. Hope to make this our TIffin home for the next 4 years!

Room Tip: Hotel walls are thin and we could hear some noisy, but over all it was very quiet and we slept bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My stay at the holiday inn express was not pleasant at all the pool was closed most of our stay the attendants were disrespectful I really don't think they like people of the black race my family and I will never stay at this holiday inn or any others in the future. Oh and I forgot they gave us a big 40.00 back for pool nt working, that was the whole reason we got the room was so the kids could swim, I'm not happy with this at all

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review about your stay. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered with our pool. We have taken the steps needed to take care of that issue. We would be more than happy to discuss your stay if you would like to give us a call at the hotel and we can personally talk to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This is probably the best hotel in the little town of Tiffin Ohio, I really like the look of the room, the space is adequate,the room is nicely furnished ,comfortable, and the bathroom is huge although it has no bathtub which I thought was strange considering the size, anyway I can live without one and not to forget that there are rooms with whirlpools if you are in the mood for one. Staff is extremely friendly and quite helpful too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express while you visited the Tiffin area. We are so glad you were comfortable in your room and took the time to post a review as well as a few pictures. We hope to see you again during your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maysville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband travels to this area a few times a year. On occasion I accompany him along with our bulldog. We have stayed in the past with no issues with her. This latest visit (12/1/13) we stayed one night and he drove me back to Kentucky and returned the next day. They charged $20 a night pet fee. They said nothing at check in about this fee. She was only there 1 night and did remove the other fees after my husband brought it to their attention. We travel quite a bit with our dog and this policy is absolutely the worst. I realize there must have been some issues in the past with other guests but why punish everyone? We are very careful with our dog. Now we have to find another hotel that is pet friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. We do understand that many travelers bring their pets with them and we are listed as a pet friendly hotel. Due to the fact that we have to take extra steps in the process of cleaning the room after a pet has visited, we unfortunatley have to charge the pet fee. We apologize that you were not notified of this upon check in as the staff was unaware that a pet was visting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We needed a room while visiting my daughter who has recently moved to town. Her space is tiny so we wanted something we could use to sit and visit. Our king corner suite was perfect. There was a nice couch and table in the sitting area as well as a comfortable desk chair. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast was quite nice. We will be staying here again. Clean, comfortable and friendly service -- you can't beat that!

Room Tip: The king corner suite is worth the extra money -- roomy and comfortable. We were on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at the Holiday Inn Express Tiffin. You have given us one of the highest compliments a guest can give and that is by being a return guest. We strive to make everyone feel at home when they visit with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tiffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tiffin

Address: 78 Shaffer Park Drive, Tiffin, OH 44883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Tiffin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tiffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tiffin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Tiffin Hotel is located just minutes from downtown Tiffin, within close proximity to American Fine Sinter, American Standard, Ameriwood Industries, Fry Foods, Laminent Technologies, Mercy Hospital of Tiffin, National Machinery, Palfinger USA, Taiho Corp., Sonoco Products, Tiffin Metal, Tiffin Loader Crane, and many more local businesses. We are proud to boast the scholastic and athletic accomplishments of Tiffin University and Heidelberg College. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our professional, friendly staff looks forward to the opportunity to make your overnight accommodations satisfying and enjoyable. We go out of our way to meet and exceed each of our guest's expectations. Just one visit with us will leave you with an 'at home' feeling! Hotel features include 100% unconditional satisfaction guarantee, free HSIA, new 'Simply Smart' bedding and signature 'shower head', micro/fridge in every room, Complimentary Otis Spunkmeyer Cookies served daily, free USA Today, free HBO, CNN, ESPN and a special Japanese channel. Enjoy the new 'Express Start' hot breakfast bar served every morning featuring healthy foods and traditional omletes, bacon, our signature cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Tiffin, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tiffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tiffin Hotel Tiffin
Holiday Inn Tiffin
Tiffin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Tiffin Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.