We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, great place for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tiffin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Tiffin to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Tiffin
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Shaffer Park Drive, Tiffin, OH 44883   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tiffin
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Safe, great place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were here two night for a volleyball tournament and the entire team stayed here. Staff was friendly and helpful. My tween granddaughter forgot her toothbrush and razor. The hotel supplied both. Our 7 year old granddaughter loved the freedom of movement which I allowed because it is a small hotel and our room was near the lobby. The pool is great for kids too. Breakfast offered lots of choices - yogurt, dry cereal, oatmeal, fruit, pancakes, all sorts of baked goods, juices, milk, coffee, sausage, eggs - quite a bargain and something for everyone's taste as long as you're not looking for gourmet. Beds were comfortable and linens and towels were clean. Free wi-fi is huge. So many more expensive hotels gouge their customers for wi-fi. It was refreshing to have it for free. Great service all around at this hotel. We would definitely return if we ever have a reason to be in Tiffin again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We know that it was a very hectic week end for all guests that stayed with us and we are so happy that the hard work we put into our service to our guests was appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you stay in Tiffin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
10
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southern Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a quick visit in Tiffin related to the university and did a tripadvisor search and selected the Holiday Inn Express. Good decision. Clean, courteous, spacious and well priced. Easy to find too. A very good stay. I would easily recommend this for others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When you walk into the HIE, in Tiffin, Ohio, it might look like an ordinary hotel. I frequent this hotel three times a year. The staff is always friendly. We use the common area in the evenings and mingle long after the hot breakfast buffet is done serving. The staff always works around our group. The front desk will arrange cab service as well as offer wonderful suggestions for food.

Room Tip: The pool is on the first floor across from the elevators. Smoking is on the second floor at one end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are so happy that you stayed with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Business in Tiffin brought me to the Holiday Inn Express. Very nice hotel with the usual Holiday Inn Express amenities of free wifi and breakfast. Clean and comfortable. Would stay again if in Tiffin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for the time you spent at our hotel. It is always our pleasure to make every guest feel at home during a their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent 6 nights in Tiffin working and the stay was made more comfortable by the staff and accomodations of the Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed and the staff was personable and easy going. Breakfast selection got a bit old and could be healthier, but I made do with oatmeal, fruit, and toast everyday.

Room Tip: Be nice to the front desk people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for visiting us at the Holiday Inn Express-Tiffin. We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable. We strive to meet all our hotel guests comforts and well as meeting all out IHG standards. If you are ever in the area again please stop in for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

At check in I was greatest by a nice young lady who I advised I'd be extending my stay, as I prepaid for my room I expected the same rate - I returned the following night (last of my 2 nights to extend to a 3rd night) I was advised there were no more rooms. After talking to "Helen" I was told only an upgrade to a suite was available for the rate that I paid for my 2 nights! I told "Helen" if I were going to pack and move rooms I'd rather leave. The meraculously my room was available but still at the increased rate then a man (white) came to the desk and says "I called earlier about a room" the other lady "Paula" asks his name then says yes sir that will be .... Only 1/3 the rate I was being asked to pay!
Are you kidding me?!!!!!
Unbelievable - I'm disappointed, hurt, insulted, and quite honestly angry!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at this motel and was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and had all the amenities we look for in a motel. Fridge, microwave, desk, couch, etc. I liked the bedding since the large bulky comforter/bedspread was packed away in the closet and fresh sheets plus a duvet/sheet was all that was necessary for cover. We didn't need the blanket which was folded down at the end of the bed. I liked the easy access air conditioning which had features such as "fan only" and had quiet operation. The room furnishings were tasteful and no stripes anywhere! We had a room on the first floor right across from the pool which was perfect. It was quiet and we got a peaceful rest. The indoor pool was just the right temperature and while not large was bigger than some, and that was fine since there weren't many swimmers. The breakfast was good with warm cinnamon rolls plus the usual fare. We enjoyed our stay and will use this hotel again in the future. It is a good choice for a place to stay in the Tiffin area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albentz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Holiday Inn Express while you were in Tiffin, Ohio. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again for future stays.
Safe Travels
Angelina Bentz-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tiffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tiffin

Address: 78 Shaffer Park Drive, Tiffin, OH 44883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Tiffin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tiffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tiffin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Tiffin Hotel is located just minutes from downtown Tiffin, within close proximity to American Fine Sinter, American Standard, Ameriwood Industries, Fry Foods, Laminent Technologies, Mercy Hospital of Tiffin, National Machinery, Palfinger USA, Taiho Corp., Sonoco Products, Tiffin Metal, Tiffin Loader Crane, and many more local businesses. We are proud to boast the scholastic and athletic accomplishments of Tiffin University and Heidelberg College. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our professional, friendly staff looks forward to the opportunity to make your overnight accommodations satisfying and enjoyable. We go out of our way to meet and exceed each of our guest's expectations. Just one visit with us will leave you with an 'at home' feeling! Hotel features include 100% unconditional satisfaction guarantee, free HSIA, new 'Simply Smart' bedding and signature 'shower head', micro/fridge in every room, Complimentary Otis Spunkmeyer Cookies served daily, free USA Today, free HBO, CNN, ESPN and a special Japanese channel. Enjoy the new 'Express Start' hot breakfast bar served every morning featuring healthy foods and traditional omletes, bacon, our signature cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Tiffin, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tiffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tiffin Hotel Tiffin
Holiday Inn Tiffin
Tiffin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Tiffin Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.