We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   7301 East State Route 37, Sunbury, OH 43074   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunbury
1 review
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, accidentally booked the wrong night. My mistake, paid and stayed the following night regardless. After several phone calls to the hotel, managers are not willing to refund either stay or even listen to our side of the story. Will never receive our business again. Hopefully keeping the charge for one night justifies losing several customers in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I apologize that you were inconvenienced by our hotel policies (not refunding an advance purchase reservation that is non-refundable). We gladly would have moved the date on the reservation, if we had known before the day after the arrival date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
9
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

the floors were less noisy! You could here every step anyone made above us, beside us or in the hall. It wasn't that there were loud people running up and down the hall- unfortunately, I think it is just the way the building is built. You could tell as soon as you stepped into the hall from the elevator, every step sounded hollow. I was trying to be quite when walking in the room but you could just hear, in certain places, no matter how lightly you walked, the hollow sound that you know was echoing to the people below. It was like walking in an old house. I was thankful that hotel was not full of a lot activity or it would have made it difficult to deal with.

It is a shame because everything else was great. The desk staff, the breakfast, the pool and the location. I will have to re-consider the next time we are in the area- and the bad thing is there is nothing that can be done except major redo of the floors to correct the problem.

Request the 3rd floor to minimize your noise level.

Room Tip: Request a 3rd floor room away from the elevator!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I appreciate your kinds words on everything under our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have to travel to Ohio often and this HIE has turned out to be the hotel we look forward to. Weekends might require a reservation, but if you are driving through and can stop in the afternoon, there is almost always some way the staff will accommodate your stay.
Prices are better than anywhere else on the Cleveland-Columbus strip, rooms are always clean and neat, breakfast works for us, pool is relaxing, hotel is quiet.
More than enough shopping, gas, and eating nearby.
And it's only 25 minutes to downtown Columbus.

Room Tip: You can always ask for upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to give us a review! We appreciate your words and you, as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Thank you to front desk person Melanie, who went above and beyond the call of duty to find us lodging at another Holiday Inn, since all the hotels locally were full due to the Arnold Schwartzenegger tournament (who knew?).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! I will make sure I share them with Melanie and all staff at our next meeting! I hope next time you're in area you will get to experience staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins Ferry, OH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were in the area for a swim meet, with our daughters. We enjoyed this location, the staff was wonderful. The pool was excellent and we were happy with the breakfast, as always. We have never been let down by Holiday In Express! Will most definitely come back, when we are in the area next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent experience at our hotel! We always strive to deliver a guest experience like the one you had. Again, thank you for taking the time to let others know how your stay was with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed here while moving our daughter to NY. We were very tired and just hoping to find a descent place to stay. This hotel exceeded our expectations. We liked everything about it. Very nice, friendly, helpful staff. Very clean reasonably priced room. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last week on a business trip. It was s great location, not far from where I needed to be. The room nice and the bed was comfortable. The staff did a great job to make me feel welcome. It was definitely a good choice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area

Address: 7301 East State Route 37, Sunbury, OH 43074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sunbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area features interior corridors, wireless high speed Internet, indoor heated pool, a fitness and business center. Bus & RV parking is available. We are conveniently located in a rapidly growing community 10 miles North of Columbus and I-270, 'Home of the Buckeyes' and minutes away from Polaris Fashion Mall. For all the Little Brown Jug race fans, we are only 8 miles east of Historic Delaware. Attractions in the area: Delaware County Fairground 9 miles, Alum Creek State Park 1 mile, Ohio Wesleyan University 8 mi, Eden Horse Park 4 mi, Sunbury Village Square 3.5 miles, Columbus International Airport 30 miles. Northstar Golf Club, with a 72 par is a top notch course located just 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area
Holiday Inn Sunbury
Sunbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.