We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hummingbird Cabin #2” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins

Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sugar Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins
Save
You added Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins to your Saves list
9654 Buckeye Rd, Sugar Grove, OH 43155   |  
Hotel amenities
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hummingbird Cabin #2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We rented cabin #2 and the cabin was beautiful. We seen a few bugs here and there (occasional ant and spider...) but given the area that is to be expected. The stay was smooth, and the area was nice. Everything worked well. Extra towels were given when requested. The only thing I would change is the odd smell of the sheets/blankets. They smelled musty like no one was in there for months or someone washed the sheets and left them in the washer for a few days. The smell stayed on me when I woke up. The cabin is very large (that is a compliment!) and it gets way cooler downstairs than upstairs so I suggest extra blankets etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The cabins have great potential - out in the middle of the Ohio forest on nice rolling hills. The reality is that our cabin had mice (yes we saw them running through the living room and heard them running through the ceiling) and had a horrible smell. I'm not sure what the smell was but clearly the owners know of the problem as the place is littered with scent spraying devices to try to cover over the smell.

My sense is that these cabins have been rented out a few too many times to local fraternities for weekend get-aways and really just are not maintained for the general population - just for returning fraternities who like to trash the places.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at cabin #6 over the Easter holiday and had wonderful time. The cabin's kitchen was well stocked. The beds were comfortable and they had extra blankets in the closet. We had plenty of towels also. It got a little cool at night so we used the fireplace when watching tv at night which made it nice and cozy. The screened in porch was awesome to sit on and not get bit by bugs. The hot tub was a little dirty but everything else was good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

They pretty much lied about the deposit. They said we broke the railing to the front porch and it cost us the entire deposit. They said we backed into it with a car..that never happened. They also had people checking in on us every other hour. Little privacy, no drinking, roads were almost impossible to get through. I don't recommend bringing a nicer car it will get scratched. I think the business they're in is to get your deposit money. Totally not worth it. There are better cabins literally just a few miles away.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Owner at Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
We hope that anyone who reads this review will realize that these gentlemen caused serious damage to the cabin and hence we charged them for the damage they caused. It is unfortunate that Trip Advisor allows persons such as these gentlemen to submit two reviews in an attempt to drive our ratings down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

They ripped us off on the entire $485 deposit. Claimed we broke things that were never touched. Fireplace didn't work, the jacuzzi didn't work. Beyond dissatisfied with hummingbird hill cabins. Especially givin the fact we paid for their best cabin (#6) and the entire trip was a disaster. Not to mention they had people checking in on us every few hours. No privacy, equipment didn't work, and they scammed us out of our entire deposit. We will never be returning to this establishment again. Thanks for an awful experience and taking all of our deposit money you frauds.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Owner at Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Please see the response to "Rip-off", since it was submitted by the same person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our third stay at Hummingbird Hills. We never had issues before but it's been a few years since our last stay. Our first issue was that our cabin had to have emergency water work done. They put us up in another cabin and had to move in the middle of the week. Once moved they scheduled carpet cleaners to come out during our stay. In this process they cleared the furniture from the room into the hallway blocking access to the bathroom and other bedroom. My daughter had to find a new bed.

Overall there are a few things the owners could do to make the stay of guests much better. 1) A periodic review of bulbs, remotes, appliances and kitchen supplies could make things seem much more organized. We had remotes in both cabins that had dead batteries, lights with burnt out bulbs and the kitchens were eclectic at best (one cabin had no drinking glasses). The key we were given didn't even work for this cabin. 2) Stocking cabins with basic extras like blankets- especially in cold months-
Is an easy fix to make guests stay more comfortable. 3) Periodic deep cleaning would go a long way to making everything seem like it's worth the almost $200 a night. There were lots of dust bunnies stuck in corners and in the log cracks. The whole experience left us thinking that things are not very organized at Hummingbird Hills - definitely not "deluxe" as advertised. Which is not what we experienced on our previous stays.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Owner at Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
We are truly sorry that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are addressing your concerns about the cleanliness of the cabin with our cleaning crew, and we will correct the problems with remote control batteries, light bulbs, and the other issues you raise.

We are also truly sorry about the well problem in the cabin you originally booked -- the problem came up very suddenly and had to be fixed before you could stay in the cabin. We felt it necessary to have the carpet cleaned in the downstairs bedroom while you were there because we were afraid that mold would start if we didn't address the situation right away.

Again, our sincere apologies. We appreciate your input, and we are taking immediate steps to remedy the problems you pointed out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our group stayed at cabin 5 at Hummingbird Hill Cabins. The cabin was amazing and was fully stocked with everything you would need. There was ample supply of kitten cookware if you choose to cook and the stereo even had an AUX input for your iphone or ipod. The cabin was very clean and the check-in and out process was simple. There is plenty of privacy at the cabins and the hot tub water was crystal clear. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins

Address: 9654 Buckeye Rd, Sugar Grove, OH 43155
Location: United States > Ohio > Sugar Grove
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sugar Grove
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six large, beautiful log cabins set on 140 private wooded acres in the Hocking Hills. Conveniently located within a short drive to the six major regions of Hocking Hills State Park, Hummingbird Hill is a comfortable retreat of deluxe cabins away from the everyday. With six cabins from which to choose, guests to the Hocking Hills can bask in the splendor of wilderness while still enjoying the full comforts of home. Each cabin has a hot tub, rec room with ping pong table, full kitchen, screened in porch, central heat and air conditioning, two full baths and DirecTv. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins Sugar Grove, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.